Prince – New Album of His Demos of Songs He Gave to Other Artists Announced | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, February 26th, 2024  

Prince – New Album of His Demos of Songs He Gave to Other Artists Announced

Originals Due Out June 6 via TIDAL and June 21 via Warner Bros.

Apr 25, 2019 Prince
Bookmark and Share

A new posthumous Prince album has been announced, Originals, which collects his demos of songs he eventually gave to other artists. Almost all of the 15 tracks are previously unreleased and it includes Prince’s original versions of such iconic songs as “The Glamorous Life” and “Nothing Compares 2 U.” The album will at first be a TIDAL exclusive, starting on June 6. Then it will get a full digital release on all platforms on June 21, with a deluxe physical edition, on CD and 180-gram purple vinyl, on July 19 via Warner Bros. Check out the tracklist below. Above is the cover art.

When Prince passed away in 2016 he left behind a huge vault filled with unreleased material and so we can probably expect new albums from him for years to come. Last year saw the release of Piano & A Microphone 1983, which was culled from a previously unheard home studio cassette recorded in 1983 at Prince’s Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, MN and just featured Prince singing and playing piano.

Troy Carter selected the tracks for Originals on behalf of the Prince Estate and Jay-Z.

Originals Tracklist:

01 “Sex Shooter” (Apollonia 6)
02 “Jungle Love” (The Time)
03 “Manic Monday” (The Bangles)
04 “Noon Rendezvous” (Sheila E.)
05 “Make-Up” (Vanity 6)
06 “100 MPH” (Mazarati)
07 “You’re My Love” (Kenny Rogers)
08 “Holly Rock” (Sheila E.)
09 “Baby, You’re A Trip” (Jill Jones)
10 “The Glamorous Life” (Sheila E.)
11 “Gigolos Get Lonely Too” (The Time)
12 “Love… Thy Will Be Done” (Martika)
13 “Dear Michaelangelo” (Sheila E.)
14 “Wouldn’t You Love To Love Me?” (Taja Sevelle)
15 “Nothing Compares 2 U” (The Family/Sinéad O’Connor)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.