Robert Pollard Returns with Solo Album | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, June 13th, 2024  

Robert Pollard Returns with Solo Album

'Lord Of The Birdcage' Drops June 7

May 02, 2011 Robert Pollard Bookmark and Share

Robert Pollard never ceases to surprise us. Not only is he gearing up for a Guided By Voices reunion tour, which will stop at some of the most noteworthy fests this summer, but also for the release of his latest solo album.

The Guided By Voices frontman unleashed today the details on Lord Of The Birdcage, due out June 7 on his label, Guided By Voices, Inc. According to the press release, Lord Of The Birdcage was crafted from a rather peculiar songwriting process, with Pollard transforming about a dozen of his own poems into musical tracks. It’s the first time he’s ever created an album this way, and we can only imagine the whimsy that might be depicted in a Pollard poem. Check out the album’s tracklist below.

Lord Of The Birdcage Tracklist

1. Smashed Middle Finger
2. Aspersion
3. Dunce Codex
4. Garden Smarm
5. You Can’t Challenge Forward Progress
6. In A Circle
7. You Sold Me Quickly
8. The Focus (Burning)
9. Ribbon Of Fat
10. Silence Before Violence
11. Holy Fire
12. Ash Ript Telecopter

The Guided By Voices reunion tour, which includes its classic lineup, is already well underway. The band will be hitting the stages at the Pitchfork, Hopscotch, and Maha music fests this summer—all the more reason to buy a plane ticket and take that vacation to Chicago, Raleigh, or Hawaii that you’ve always wanted.



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.