Rose Elinor Dougall Announces New Album, Shares New Song “First Sign” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 24th, 2024  

Rose Elinor Dougall Announces New Album, Shares New Song “First Sign”

A New Illusion Due Out April 5 via Vermillion

Jan 24, 2019 Rose Elinor Dougall Bookmark and Share

Rose Elinor Dougall has announced a new album, A New Illusion, and shared its first single, “First Sign.” A New Illusion is due out April 5 via Vermillion. Check out “First Sign” below (via Dork), followed by the album’s tracklist and cover art.

A New Illusion is Dougall’s third album and the follow-up to 2017’s acclaimed Stelluar (which was one of our Top 100 Albums of 2017). Back in November she shared the new song, “Make It With You,” which was our #1 Song of the Week and is surprisingly not featured on the new album.

The album features her brother Tom Dougall of the band TOY, along with his bandmates Maxim Barron and Max Claps, as well as Euan Hinshelwood and Joe Chilton of Younghusband. Dougall had this to say about her collaborators in a statement to Dork: “It does feel like a really nice group effort - I didn’t want to be over-prescriptive, so some of it is quite loose. I wanted to make it about musicianship.”

Dougall had this to say about the album: “I just wanted to sit at the piano and play, I wanted to return to something essential. There’s something comforting and solid about that instinctive relationship with music, with playing and singing.”

“First Sign” was inspired during a trip to a remote part of Andalusia, in Southern Spain. Dougall explains: “I was trying to cut loose from a situation, and this song is about vainly attempting to shake oneself free. I was looking for a loose, hazy feeling to the music to sit with the imagery of the song. I wanted it to sound like the end of summer.”

Dougall is also a former member of The Pipettes and Mark Ronson‘s band, as well as Innerspace Orchestra, a trio with Tom Furse of The Horrors and Cathy Lucas of Fanfarlo.

Read our 2017 interview with Rose Elinor Dougall on Stelluar.

A New Illusion Tracklist:

1. Echoes
2. That’s Where the Trouble Starts
3. Wordlessly
4. A New Illusion
5. Something Real
6. Take What You Can Get
7. First Sign
8. Too Much of Not Enough
9. Christina in Red
10. Simple Thing

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more
of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here, but I assumed this post was once good.
I don’t realize who you might be but certainly you are going to a famous blogger
in the event you are not already. Cheers!