Sadie Dupuis of Speedy Ortiz Announces Solo Album as Sad13, Shares “Get a Yes” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, May 30th, 2024  

Sadie Dupuis of Speedy Ortiz Announces Solo Album as Sad13, Shares “Get a Yes”

Slugger Due Out November 11 via Carpark

Aug 23, 2016 Sad13 Photography by Shervin Lainez Bookmark and Share

Speedy Ortiz frontwoman Sadie Dupuis has announced her debut solo album, but she’s going under the moniker Sad13. The album, Slugger, is due out November 11 via Carpark. She’s shared its first single, “Get a Yes,” which you can listen to below via NPR. Also below is the tracklist and cover art.

The album was recorded after Dupuis relocated to Philadelphia. “I wrote and played and recorded almost all of it in the two weeks I was subletting a friend’s tiny bedroom,” says Dupuis, who self-produced Slugger. The album was mixed by Gabe Wax (Beirut, Wye Oak, Boots), mastered by Emily Lazar (Sia, HAIM, Sky Ferreira), and on its final track, “Coming Into Powers,” features a guest appearance from rapper, producer, and PhD student Sammus.

Dupuis had this to say about the album in a press release: “I wanted to make songs that were the opposite of ‘Genie in a Bottle’ or ‘The Boy Is Mine.’ Songs that put affirmative consent at the heart of the subject matter and emphasize friendship among women and try to deescalate the toxic jealousy and ownership that are often centered in romantic pop songs.”

Slugger Tracklist:

1. Less Than 2
2. The Sting
3. Fixina
4. Get a Yes
5. Devil In U
6. Line Up
7. Just A Friend
8. Tell U What
9. Krampus (In Love)
10. Hype
11. Coming Into Powers (feat.Sammus)


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.