She & Him (M. Ward + Zooey Deschanel) Announce a New Christmas Album Featuring Jenny Lewis | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, February 27th, 2024  

She & Him (M. Ward + Zooey Deschanel) Announce a New Christmas Album Featuring Jenny Lewis

Christmas Party Due Out October 28 via Columbia

Sep 15, 2016 Zooey Deschanel Bookmark and Share

She & Him (Zooey Deschanel + M. Ward) released a Christmas album back in 2013 entitled A Very She & Him Christmas. I guess that went well for Matt and Zooey, because they are back with another album of Christmas covers. And since most new Christmas music past the first Bush administration doesn’t tend to be that good, another collection of pleasant holiday tunes that can be enjoyed by the whole family, but isn’t a chore to get through, isn’t entirely unwelcome. But it was 90 degrees yesterday where we’re based, with very few hints of fall, let alone winter, so it feels a bit early to be writing about Christmas music. Regardless, come October 28 you’ll be able to get into the spirit with She & Him’s Christmas Party, via Columbia Records. The album features guest appearances by Jenny Lewis, The Chapin Sisters, and Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley, and includes takes on Christmas classics by Mariah Carey (“All I Want For Christmas Is You”), Chuck Berry (“Run Run Rudolph”), Frank Sinatra (“Christmas Memories”), and Alvin and the Chipmunks (“Christmas Don’t Be Late”). No music from the album has been shared yet, but the full tracklist is below.

Deschanel and Lewis both sing together on “Winter Wonderland” (which the press release describes as an “Everly Brothers-influenced rendition”) and “Must Be Santa.” In the press release Deschanel simply says of Lewis: “She’s a great singer and I’m a big fan.”

Mariah Carey’s 1994 classic “All I Want For Christmas Is You” is transformed into a more vintage Phil Spector-esque number. “I’ve always loved this song, and I was like, ‘I’d love to hear it without the digital keyboards. I’d love to hear it recorded in a little more of an old school way,” explains Deschanel.

Christmas Party Tracklist:

1. All I Want for Christmas Is You
2. Let It Snow
3. Must Be Santa
4. Happy Holiday
5. Mele Kalikimaka
6. Christmas Memories
7. Run Run Rudolph
8. Winter Wonderland
9. The Coldest Night of the Year
10. A Marshmallow World
11. The Man with the Bag
12. Christmas Don’t Be Late


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.