Six Albums Out Today Worth Hearing: Real Estate, Spoon, Conor Oberst, Depeche Mode, and More | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, May 25th, 2024  

Six Albums Out Today Worth Hearing: Real Estate, Spoon, Conor Oberst, Depeche Mode, and More

Plus ANOHNI and Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzalez

Mar 17, 2017 Conor Oberst Bookmark and Share

Here we highlight six albums due out today that we feel are most worth hearing. We have also included Amazon links for each album. If you click through those links and buy the album (or anything else on Amazon once you’ve clicked through) then Amazon rewards us with a sales percentage. So buy that album you were likely going to purchase anyway, but also help support one of America’s last truly independent print music magazines.

Six Albums Out Today:

ANOHNI: Paradise EP (Secretly Canadian)

ANOHNI released a new album, HOPELESSNESS, last May via Secretly Canadian and today she is releasing a new EP, Paradise, via Secretly Canadian and Rough Trade. The EP officially has six songs, but ANOHNI says she’s held back a seventh song, “I Never Stopped Loving You,” that she will send directly to any fan who sends her a personal email about their hopes and what they most care about. Read more about that here. Below is the video for “Paradise.” Buy the album here.

Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzalez: Room 29 (Deutsche Grammophon)

Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker has teamed up with Chilly Gonzales for a new collaborative concept album, Room 29, which is out today via Deutsche Grammophon. The album is inspired by room 29 in the iconic Hollywood hotel Château Marmont, which has had many famous guests (the hotel opened in 1929). Below are two related tracks from the album, “Tearjerker” and “The Tearjerker Returns.” Buy the album here.

Depeche Mode: Spirit (Columbia)

1980s veterans Depeche Mode are releasing a new album, Spirit, today via Columbia. The album was announced back in October. Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford produced Spirit, which is the follow-up to 2013’s Delta Machine and tackles some political themes. Below is the video for “Where’s the Revolution.” Buy the album here.

Conor Oberst: Salutations (Nonesuch)

Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes released a new solo acoustic album, Ruminations, last fall via Nonesuch and on today he’s released a new companion album, Salutations, also via Nonesuch. It includes full-band versions of all of Ruminations’ 10 tracks, as well as seven new songs. Below are the videos for “A Little Uncanny” and “Till St. Dymphna Kicks Us Out.” Read our review of Salutations here. Buy the album here.

Real Estate: In Mind (Domino)

Real Estate are releasing a new album, In Mind, today via Domino. In Mind is the band’s first album since guitarist Matt Mondanile left the lineup to focus on his Ducktails project. Julian Lynch (also from the band’s home state of New Jersey and a well-regarded solo artist in his own right) replaced him on tour and this is Real Estate’s first album with Lynch as a fulltime member. The album is the follow-up to 2014’s widely acclaimed Atlas and was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Cole M.G.N. (Beck, Julia Holter). Below are the videos for “Darling” and “Stained Glass.” Read our review of In Mind here. Buy the album here.

Spoon: Hot Thoughts (Matador)

Spoon released a new album, Hot Thoughts, today via Matador. Matador released their debut album, 1996’s Telephono (although most of their albums came out via Merge and their last one, 2014’s They Want Your Soul, was released by major label subsidiary Loma Vista). Hot Thoughts was co-produced by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, MGMT) and Spoon. Below is the audio for “Hot Thoughts” and the video for “Can I Sit Next to You.” Read our review of Hot Thoughts here. Buy the album here.

Other Recent Notable Releases:

Here are other albums released in the last few months also worth buying, along with a video or song for each. The titles are the Amazon links.

Ryan Adams: Prisoner (Pax-Am/Blue Note)

Dirty Projectors: Dirty Projectors (Domino)

Dutch Uncles: Big Balloon (Memphis Industries)

Elbow: Little Fictions (Conchord)

Rose Elinor Dougall: Stellular (Vermilion)

The Flaming Lips: Oczy Mlody (Warner Bros.)

Foxygen: Hang (Jagjaguwar)

Grandaddy: Last Place (30th Century)

Jay Som: Everybody Works (Polyvinyl)

Laura Marling: Semper Femina (More Alarming)

Jens Lekman: Life Will See You Now (Secretly Canadian)

The Shins: Heartworms (Aural Apothecary/Columbia)

Strand of Oaks: Hard Love (Dead Oceans)

Temples: Volcano (Fat Possum)

The xx: I See You (Young Turks)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.