Suede Announce 25th Anniversary Reissue of Their Self-Titled Debut Featuring Unreleased Material | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, May 20th, 2024  

Suede Announce 25th Anniversary Reissue of Their Self-Titled Debut Featuring Unreleased Material

Suede 25th Anniversary Silver Edition Due Out March 30 via Edsel

Jan 26, 2018 Suede Bookmark and Share

Britpop originators and survivors Suede made an immediate mark when they came on the scene in their native U.K., with them declared “The Best New Band in Britain” by the music publication Melody Maker in 1992 before their debut album was even released. That self-titled debut arrived on March 29, 1993 to critical acclaim and fantastic sales (it hit #1 on the U.K. album charts and at the time was the fastest selling debut album in over a decade). Suede was already reissued in 2011 with various bonus tracks, but now it’s getting a new 25th anniversary reissue featuring additional previously unreleased bonus material. It’s due out March 30, almost exactly 25 years to the day since the first album’s release, via Edsel. Below is the tracklist, followed by videos for all four of the album’s singles.

A press release describes the reissue as such: “The deluxe, 4 CD and DVD set features the band’s original, iconic debut album, B sides, demos and monitor mixes, several of which are unreleased, as well as Suede’s first BBC radio session and a live gig at The Leadmill in Sheffield from February 1993…. The bookset’s DVD features six contemporary TV performances (including Suede’s first ever TV appearance), and an hour-long film of Brett and Bernard Butler discussing the writing and recording of the album, all issued for the first time. Also included is a new note by Brett about his memories of the recording of the album, along with the lyrics, hand-written lyric drafts, tape boxes, and photos from the band’s collections.”

Frontman Brett Anderson is also releasing his first book, the memoir Coal Black Mornings, on March 1 via Little, Brown.

Anderson had this to say about Suede in a press release: “I only have sunny memories of those days. It was a wonderful time for us when we were all still young men; wild-eyed and passionate and heedless, when we were still united and mutually purposeful and when it felt like the world could be ours.”

Anderson also says: “The album is charged with a naivety but it manages to have a feel which I still love; it rages and it screams, it yelps and it whispers and captures some truth of who we were at that moment in our lives: youthful, impertinent, ambitious and flawed.”

Suede reformed in 2010 and released their latest album, Night Thoughts, back in 2016. The band made a fantastic comeback in 2013 with the release of the excellent Bloodsports, which was their first new album in over a decade and was very well-received by critics. Also read our 2013 interview with Suede’s Brett Anderson.

Suede 25th Anniversary Silver Edition Tracklist:

CD 1:


1. So Young
2. Animal Nitrate
3. She’s Not Dead
4. Moving
5. Pantomime Horse
6. The Drowners
7. Sleeping Pills
8. Breakdown
9. Metal Mickey
10. Animal Lover
11. The Next Life

CD 2:

The B-Sides

1. My Insatiable One
2. To The Birds
3. He’s Dead
4. Where The Pigs Don’t Fly
5. Painted People
6. The Big Time
7. High Rising
8. Dolly
9. My Insatiable One [piano version]
10. Brass In Pocket

CD 3:

Demos, Monitor Mixes, BBC Radio 1 Session

Rocking Horse Demos, October 1991

1. The Drowners
2. He’s Dead
3. Moving
4. To The Birds

Island Demos, January 1992

5. Metal Mickey
6. Pantomime Horse
7. High Wire (My Insatiable One) *
8. The Drowners *
9. To The Birds *

East West Demo, March 1992

10. Sleeping Pills

Single Monitor Mixes, March 1992

11. The Drowners *
12. To The Birds *
13. My Insatiable One *

BBC Radio 1, Mark Goodier Show, April 1992

14. Metal Mickey *
15. The Drowners *
16. Sleeping Pills *
17. Moving *

Bonus Tracks

18. Diesel [instrumental] [studio outtake]
19. Stars On 45 [rehearsal room recording]
20. Sleeping Pills [strings]

CD 4:

Live At the Leadmill, February 1993 (first time on CD)

1. Metal Mickey
2. Moving
3. My Insatiable One
4. Animal Nitrate
5. Pantomime Horse
6. The Drowners
7. Painted People
8. So Young
9. Animal Lover
10. Sleeping Pills
11. To The Birds


BBC TV Apperances
The Late Show [7.5.92]

1. The Drowners *

Top of the Pops [24.9.92 & 27.5.93]

2. Metal Mickey *
3. So Young *

Later With Jools Holland [4.6.93]

4. So Young *
5. The Next Life / Brett in conversation with Jools *
6. My Insatiable One *

Bonus DVD Feature

Brett Anderson and Bernard Butler discuss “Suede”, track-by-track, with Pete Paphides *

* Denotes previously unreleased material.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

January 27th 2018