Supergrass Announce Reunion Tour and Box Set, Share Cover of The Police’s “Next to You” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, December 8th, 2023  

Supergrass Announce Reunion Tour and Box Set, Share Cover of The Police’s “Next to You”

The Strange Ones 1994-2008 Due Out January 24, 2020 via BMG

Sep 09, 2019 Gaz Coombes
Bookmark and Share

Supergrass, one of the leading lights of the mid-1990s Britpop movement, have reunited, announced a reunion tour and box set, and shared a previously unreleased cover of The Police’s “Next to You.” The Strange Ones 1994-2008 is a career-spanning best of box set and it’s due out January 24, 2020 via BMG. Their reunion tour dates happen next February to April and are mainly UK dates (save for two American ones). Below find The Police cover, the box set’s tracklist and cover art, and the band’s tour dates.

Supergrass broke-up in 2010 after releasing six albums: I Should Coco (1995), In It For the Money (1997), Supergrass (1999), Life On Other Planets (2002), Road to Rouen (2005), and Diamond Hoo Ha (2008). Last Friday they performed a surprise reunion set at Glastonbury’s Pilton Party and tonight they are playing a sold out gig at London’s Oslo venue in Hackney.

Supergrass are Gaz Coombes, Mick Quinn, Danny Goffey, and Rob Coombes. The box set includes all six of their albums and five previously unreleased tracks, including “Next to You.” 2020 marks the 25 anniversary of the release of the band’s debut album, I Should Coco, hence the timing for the reunion.

The band’s Danny Goffey had this to say about the reunion in a press release: “Everything aligned for us to make this happen for 2020. It was the first time that we collectively felt the buzz to get back in a room together and play the songs. We’re extremely excited to get out there and bring a bit of Supergrass joy to all our fans… and their extended families.”

Since Supergrass broke-up its members have engaged in other projects, most notably Gaz Coombes has released three well-received solo albums, the most recent being 2018’s World’s Strongest Man (which was our Album of the Week).

Read our 2017 Artist Survey interview with Gaz Coombes.

Read our 2018 interview with Gaz Coombes on World’s Strongest Man.

The Strange Ones 1994-2008 Tracklist:

Box Set:

All six studio albums on heavyweight vinyl picture discs:

I Should Coco, In It For the Money, Supergrass, Life On Other Planets, Road to Rouen, and Diamond Hoo Ha.

13 CDs:

1 x 6CD set - All 6 original studio albums in new digipack

1 x 4CD set - Live: Over 5 hours of previously unreleased performances spanning their entire career. Includes radio sessions, full production live shows and acoustic sets

1 x 2CD set - Remixes, B-sides, non-album singles, acoustic versions and other rarities. Includes tracks previously unreleased digitally

1 x 1CD - Demos, out-takes and oddities. All previously unreleased

7” single: “Caught By the Fuzz” / “Richard III” 2020 Remixes

Deluxe book:

52 pages, containing unseen band photos and essays on the original albums by Everett True, Charles Shaar Murray, Sylvia Patterson, Andrew Male, Adam Sweeting, Paul Moody. Band quotes from interviews with Matt Everitt

Full color posters x 4: 3 reproduced original tour posters and one band photo poster

Color button badges x 8: From the ‘Supergrass Is 10’ sleeve artwork - 4 x 2”, 4 x 1.5”

2 LP:

Compiled by Supergrass

Gatefold sleeve with heavyweight vinyl

26 career-spanning tracks: 9 top 20 hits, including 5 top 10s

12 page, 12-inch insert containing sleeve notes, band quotes, rare band photos

Tracklist (same as for the digital album):

Side 1

1 Diamond Hoo Ha Man
2 Bad Blood
3 Outside
4 Rebel In You
5 Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4, 5 & 6)
6 St. Petersburg

Side 2

1 Fin
2 Kiss Of Life
3 Brecon Beacons
4 Rush Hour Soul
5 Seen The Light
6 Grace
7 Moving

Side 3

1 Mary
2 Beautiful People
3 Pumping On Your Stereo
4 In It For The Money
5 Richard III
6 Late In The Day

Side 4

1 Sun Hits The Sky
2 She’s So Loose
3 Mansize Rooster
4 Strange Ones
5 Lenny
6 Alright
7 Caught By The Fuzz


1 Diamond Hoo Ha Man
2 Outside
3 Rebel In You
4 Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4, 5 & 6)
5 St. Petersburg
6 Fin
7 Kiss Of Life
8 Brecon Beacons
9 Seen The Light
10 Grace
11 Moving
12 Mary
13 Beautiful People
14 Pumping On Your Stereo
15 In It For The Money
16 Richard III
17 Late In The Day
18 Sun Hits The Sky
19 Mansize Rooster
20 Lenny
21 Alright
22 Caught By The Fuzz

Supergrass Tour Dates:

September 2019

9th - Oslo, Hackney - SOLD OUT

February 2020

4th - Paris, France - Casino de Paris
5th - Brussels, Belgium - Ancienne Belgique
7th - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Paradiso
14th - Dublin, Republic of Ireland - Olympia Theatre
17th - Belfast, Northern Ireland - Ulster Hall
20th - Glasgow, Scotland - Barrowland Ballroom
24th - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, England - O2 Academy Newcastle
26th - Manchester, England - O2 Victoria Warehouse
29th - Leeds, England - O2 Academy Leeds

March 2020

3rd - Birmingham, England - O2 Academy Birmingham
6th - London, England - Alexandra Palace

April 2020

1st - Los Angeles - Wiltern
9th - New York, NY - Brooklyn Steel

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.