Tame Impala Share New Song “It Might Be Time” and Confirm More Album Details | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, May 30th, 2024  

Tame Impala Share New Song “It Might Be Time” and Confirm More Album Details

The Slow Rush Due Out February 14, 2020 via Interscope

Oct 28, 2019 Tame Impala Photography by Neil Krug Bookmark and Share

Last week Tame Impala (aka Kevin Parker and band) tentatively announced a new album, The Slow Rush. Now Parker has shared a new song from it, “It Might Be Time,” and confirmed more album details, such as the release date and the cover art. The Slow Rush is due out February 14, 2020 (Valentine’s Day!) via Interscope. The cover art for the album and the single have both been shared as well. Parker recorded, produced, and mixed The Slow Rush himself and the album features 12 songs. Check out “It Might Be Time” below, followed by both the album and single cover.

A press release describes the new single this way: “‘It Might Be Time’ is your paranoid shadow snapping at your Achilles heel. It’s the horrifying idea that your mojo’s gone out for a walk and it may not be coming back. It’s second guessing yourself, wondering ‘have I still got it? Did I ever??’ Your paranoid inner observer taunting you in your own denial, telling you to wake up and accept your salad days are over. A dynamic, bombastic burst of pungent prog-pop, ‘It Might Be Time’ pulses on an insistent keyboard groove, punctuated by collisions of overblown drums flaying at the edges, the outward expression of a restless internal funk. A heady psych bomb threatening to implode, ‘It Might Be Time’ is potent Tame Impala 2020.”

The press release describes the album like this: “The Slow Rush is Parker’s deep dive into the oceans of time, conjuring the feeling of a lifetime in a lightning bolt, of major milestones whizzing by while you’re looking at your phone, it’s a paean to creation and destruction and the unending cycle of life.”

The Slow Rush will be available in four different heavyweight double disc vinyl formats: standard black, forest green (limited edition at all retailers), red/blue (indie retail exclusive), and splatter (Tame Impala webstore exclusive).

Tame Impala released two new songs this past spring: “Patience” (which was one of our Songs of the Week) and the house music-infused “Borderline” (which was also one of our Songs of the Week). Tame Impala also performed both songs on Saturday Night Live. It’s presumed they will be on the album, although not confirmed.

It’s been four years since his last album, his excellent third album, Currents (which was #2 on Under the Radar‘s Top 100 Albums of 2015 list).

Read our 2015 cover story article on Tame Impala’s Currents and our bonus digital interview with Parker.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.