Tears For Fears Announce First Album in 17 Years, Share Video for Lead Single “The Tipping Point” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, May 24th, 2024  

Tears For Fears Announce First Album in 17 Years, Share Video for Lead Single “The Tipping Point”

The Tipping Point Due Out February 25, 2022 via Concord

Oct 07, 2021 Photography by Frank Ockenfels Bookmark and Share

Tears For Fears (seminal new wave duo of Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith) have announced the release of their first album in 17 years. The new album, titled The Tipping Point, will be out on February 25, 2022 via Concord. The duo has also shared a Matt Mahurin-directed video for its lead single and title track. Check it out below, along with the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Orzabal speaks on the album’s creation in a press release, stating: “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong. It took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing—and it works really well.”

Smith adds: “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears—is the stuff we can both agree on. When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship. And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again.”

The Tipping Point features musical contributions from frequent Tears For Fears collaborator Charlton Pettus, as well as producer/songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter

The Tipping Point Tracklist:

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay

Deluxe Edition Tracklist:

11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.