that dog. Announce First New Album in 22 Years, Share New Song “If You Just Didn’t Do It” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 22nd, 2024  

that dog. Announce First New Album in 22 Years, Share New Song “If You Just Didn’t Do It”

Old LP Due Out October 4 via UMe

Aug 21, 2019 that dog. Photography by Cara Robbins Bookmark and Share

Alt-rock legends from the 1990s, that dog. have announced their first new album in 22 years, Old LP, and shared its first single, “If You Just Didn’t Do It.” Old LP is due out October 4 via UMe. Listen to “If You Just Didn’t Do It” below, followed by the album’s cover art and tracklist.

Anna Waronker, Rachel Haden, Petra Haden, and Tony Maxwell formed that dog. in 1991 and released their self-titled debut album in the U.S. in March 1994 via DGC (it actually came out in England in December 1993 via 4AD). The band went on to release two more albums, 1995’s Totally Crushed Out! and 1997’s Retreat from the Sun, before calling it quits later in 1997. That dog. reformed in 2011 for some shows and now they are back as a trio; Petra Haden has opted not to take part in.

“By the end of 2012 we had four songs done,” says Waronker in a press release. “In 2013, we had a few more. We needed time to let it grow into what it would become. Sometimes it’s hard to get there. Which is kind of the theme of the album.”

The album also features the following guests: Maya Rudolph, Randy Newman, Graham Coxon (Blur), Josh Klinghoffer (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Charlotte Caffey (The Go-Go’s), Tanya Haden (The Haden Sisters), violinist Kaitlin Wolfberg, Andrew Dost (fun.), and Steve McDonald (Redd Kross).

A press release describes the album as such: “Across its eleven songs, Old LP is full of all the sounds that made that dog. one of the most amazing bands of their time, including interlocking vocal melodies, hooks-on-hooks, sweet orchestration, and Anna Waronker’s signature guitar tuning. There’s the unshakeable tension between sweetness and dissonance, between dark and light, between life-or-death seriousness and tongue-in-cheek wordplay. But with two decades of life experience behind them, the dynamics of that dog. are now notably more stark and sophisticated, layered and multi-dimensional.”

The band’s self-titled debut album got a deluxe 25th anniversary digital reissue in July. It included four rarities originally released on 7-inch and prior to its release they shared one of those, “Buy Me Flowers.”

Old LP Tracklist:

1. Your Machine
2. Just The Way
3. Bird On a Wire
4. Drip Drops
5. If You Just Didn’t Do It
6. When We Were Young
7. Alone Again
8. Down Without A Fight
9. Never Want To See Your Face Again
10. Least I Could Do
11. Old LP

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.