The Dears Announce New Album, Share “Of Fisticuffs” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, May 17th, 2024  

The Dears Announce New Album, Share “Of Fisticuffs”

Times Infinity Volume Two Due Out July 14 via Dangerbird and Paperbag

May 05, 2017 The Dears Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

When Montréal’s The Dears released their last album, 2015’s Times Infinity Volume One, the band promised that there would be a volume two (its title implied as much). Now Times Infinity Volume Two has been announced and its first single, “Of Fisticuffs,” has been shared. Times Infinity Volume Two is due out July 14 via Dangerbird in the U.S. and Paperbag in Canada. Listen to “Of Fisticuffs” below (via Exclaim!), followed by the album’s tracklist.

Times Infinity Volume Two was recorded by founding members Murray Lightburn and Natalia Yanchak in same two-year period they recorded Volume One, at Toronto’s Revolution Recording and Montréal’s Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango. A press release says of the album: “Both Lightburn and Yanchak identify Volume Two - a record driven by an unmistakable sense of unease - as the comparatively darker component of the Times Infinity series.”

Lightburn had this to say in a press release about the final mix sessions for Volume Two: “At the hotel2tango, it had been a 20 hour day. I worked deliriously towards finishing Volume Two. In part it was because I knew precisely how it was all supposed to fit together but mostly because there was another band’s session coming within just hours. It really recalled those overnight mixing sessions for No Cities Left, complete with a fresh-faced Howard [studio co-owner Bilerman] arriving in the morning, coffee in hand, asking, ‘how did it go?’ I still don’t really know. But I did my best.”

Times Infinity Volume Two Tracklist:

1 - Taking It To The Grave (3:58)
2 - All The Hail Marys (4:09)
3 - Of Fisticuffs (3:02)
4 - Nothing In It For Me Nothing In It For You (4:18)
5 - 1998 (3:50)
6 - Until Deathrow (4:17)
7 - Guns or Knives (5:11)
8 - I’m Sorry That I Wished You Dead (3:27)
9 - I Love You Times Infinity (4:29)
10 - End Of Tour (4:32)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.