The Knife Prep Opera Soundtrack | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, April 20th, 2024  

The Knife Prep Opera Soundtrack

Release 11-minute Opus, "Colouring of Pigeons"

Jan 06, 2010 The Knife Bookmark and Share

Back in 2009, The Knife put to tape a soundtrack for an opera based on the life and works of Charles Darwin, specifically the seminal book, On the Origin of Species. The project was entitled Tomorrow, In a Year and The Knife siblings collaborated with the Berlin electro-rock trio Mt. Sims and avant-garde artist Planningtorock. The stage production premiered in September of last year, and based on a seven-minute trailer, it looked and sounded like an opera that only The Knife could create. Now comes word of a mastered version of the soundtrack coming out in digital (February 2nd) and physical (March 9th) formats, courtesy of Mute. (International buyers can snag the physical on March 1st.)

The 11-minute opus “Colouring of Pigeons” is currently streaming at The Knife’s site or in our Media section. It will definitely make your hump day a whole lot stranger. (You can also download it for the cheap price of an e-mail address.)

Talking about the new piece in a press release, The Knife’s Olof Dreijer had this to add about the process of staging such a gargantuan piece: “At first it was very difficult as we really didn’t know anything about opera. We’d never been to one. I didn’t even know what the word libretto meant. But after some studying, and just getting used to opera’s essence of pretentious and dramatic gestures, I found that there is a lot to learn and play with. In fact, our ignorance gave us a positive respectless approach to making opera. It took me about a year to become emotionally moved by an opera singer and now I really do. I really like the basic theatrical values of opera and the easy way it brings forward a narrative. We’ve approached this before in the Knife but never in such a clear way.”

Tomorrow, In a Year concerts are still ongoing, with 2010 dates set for Greece, Sweden, and Budapest. Click here for more information.

Tomorrow, In a Year:

CD 1:

01 Intro
02 Epochs
03 Geology
04 Upheaved
05 Minerals
06 Ebb Tide Explorer
07 Variation of Birds
08 Letter to Henslow
09 Schoal Swarm Orchestra

CD 2:

01 Annie’s Box
02 Tumult
03 Colouring of Pigeons
04 Seeds
05 Tomorrow in a Year
06 The Height of Summer
07 Annie’s Box (alternate vocal) (bonus track)



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.