The New Pornographers Get 'Together' For Fifth LP | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, December 3rd, 2023  

The New Pornographers Get ‘Together’ For Fifth LP

Zach Condon, Annie Clark, Will Sheff, The Dap-Kings Contribute

Jan 21, 2010 The New Pornographers Bookmark and Share

Canada’s much-loved (“don’t call us a supergroup”) octet The New Pornographers, are back with their fifth LP on May 4th. The Matablog broke the big news today about the power-pop band’s new release, appropriately titled Together.

The usual suspects of A.C. Newman, Dan Bejar, Neko Case, John Collins, Kurt Dahle, Todd Fancey, Kathryn Calder, and Blaine Thurier show up, but the full-length also features guest spots from Beirut’s Zach Condon, St. Vincent’s Annie Clark, Okkervil River’s Will Sheff, and the horn section from The Dap-Kings. The band also posted some in-the-studio photos on their recently revamped site. The tracklist is still to come, but we do know that Newman penned nine of the new tracks and three songs were written by his excellent foil and Destroyer frontman Dan Bejar.

In related news, Newman will join Charles Bissell of The Wrens, The Old 97’s Rhett Miller, and Nicole Atkins in a Seekers cover band for a one-off Haiti benefit on January 27th at Brooklyn’s Bell House. Proceeds will go to Partners in Health and Save the Children. (Via Pitchfork.)



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.