The Pretenders Announce New Album Produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, Share “Holy Commotion! | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, May 29th, 2024  

The Pretenders Announce New Album Produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, Share “Holy Commotion!

Alone Due Out October 21 via BMG

Sep 08, 2016 The Pretenders Bookmark and Share

The Pretenders have announced a new album that’s produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys and The Arcs. Alone is due out October 21 via BMG. Below is the album’s first single, “Holy Commotion!” The song doesn’t overtly bare Auerbach’s blues rock imprint, but has hints of The Black Keys’ more pop sensibilities. Also below is the album’s tracklist and cover art. The Pretenders are also going out on tour with Stevie Nicks and those dates are below too.

Alone was recorded at Auerbach’s Easy Eye Studio in Nashville and mixed by Tchad Blake. It was at first going to be the follow-up to frontwoman Chrissie Hynde’s 2014 solo debut, Stockholm, but as work began Hynde decided it would better suit being a new Pretenders album, their first since 2008’s Break Up the Concrete. The sessions included “charter members” of Auerbach’s other band, The Arcs: keyboardist Leon Michels and drummer Richard Swift. Also involved were Nashville session musicians, including bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Sturgill Simpson), pedal steel player Russ Pahl (Blake Shelton, Don Williams, Luke Bryan), and guitarist Kenny Vaughan (Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives, Lana Del Rey, Ray LaMontagne), as well as guitar legend Duane Eddy.

One song, album opener “Alone Song,” celebrates being on your own. Hynde commented on it in a press release: “We were in the studio hanging out, and the guys were talking about their families and their wives and I said, ‘Well, I do everything alone. I go to the cinema alone. I go to restaurants alone. I live alone. I pretty much do everything on my own. I don’t mind.’ Dan says, ‘Write a song about it.’ The more I thought about it, I thought, ‘I’ve heard 1,000 songs in my life, they’re all about, I am so tired of being alone. I can’t live without you. Since you’ve left my world has fallen apart. When am I going to see you again? Marry me and be with me for the rest of my life. I have never heard anyone celebrate being alone in a song.’ I couldn’t think of one.”

Alone Tracklist:

1. Alone Song
2. Roadie Man
3. Gotta Wait
4. Never Be Together
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Chord Lord
7. Blue Eyed Sky
8. Be The Man That You Are
9. One More Day
10. I Hate Myself
11. Death Is Not Enough
12. Holy Commotion

The Pretenders North American Tour Dates With Steve Nicks:


25 - Phoenix AZ - Talking Stick Arena
27 - Denver, CO - Pepsi Center
29 - Houston, TX - Toyota Center
30 - Dallas, TX - American Airlines Center


2 - Tampa, FL - Amalie Arena
4 - Fort Lauderdale, FL - BB&T Center
6 - Atlanta, GA - Phillips Arena
7 - Nashville, TN - Bridgestone Arena
10 - Charlotte, NC - Time Warner Cable Arena
12 - Columbia, SC - Colonial Life Arena
14 - Washington, DC - Verizon Center
15 - Boston, MA - TD Garden
19 - Bethlehem, PA - Sands Bethlehem Event Center
20 - Philadelphia, PA - Wells Fargo Center
23 - Grand Rapids, MI - Van Andel Arena
25 - Uncasville, CT - Mohegan Sun Arena
27 - Detroit, MI - The Palace of Auburn Hills
29 - Toronto, ONT - Air Canada Centre


1 - New York, NY - Madison Square Garden
3 - Chicago, IL - United Center
5 - Lincoln, NE - Pinnacle Bank Arena
6 - St. Paul, MN - Xcel Energy Center
9 - Vancouver, BC - Pepsi Live at Rogers Center
11 - Seattle, WA - Key Arena
13 - Sacramento, CA - Golden 1 Center
14 - San Jose, CA - SAP Center
18 - Inglewood, CA - The Forum


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.