The Twilight Sad – Stream the New Album (Plus New U.S. Tour Dates Announced) | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, December 4th, 2023  

The Twilight Sad – Stream the New Album (Plus New U.S. Tour Dates Announced)

It Won/t Be Like This All the Time Out Now via Rock Action

Jan 18, 2019 The Twilight Sad
Bookmark and Share

Scotland’s The Twilight Sad have released a new album, It Won/t Be Like This All the Time, today via Mogwai’s label, Rock Action. Now that the album is out, you can stream the whole thing below. The band have also announced some new U.S. tour dates, which are below too.

Previously the band shared three songs from the album, starting with “I/m Not Here [missing face],” a new song they shared back in July 2018 (it was one of our Songs of the Week), and album closer “Videograms,” which they shared in September 2018 when the album was announced (it was also one of our Songs of the Week). Then they shared “VTr” (it was also one of our Songs of the Week), as well as a video for “VTr.”

Work on It Won/t Be Like This All the Time began during the band’s recent tours with The Cure. Guitarist Andy MacFarlane worked on demos in his London home. Six months later the band got together in November 2017 in a remote rehearsal space on Loch Fyne and then recorded the album in January of this year at Devon’s Middle Farm Studios with live engineer Andy Bush. This the first album that sees long-time touring members Brendan Smith (The Blue Nile, The Unwinding Hours) and Johnny Docherty (Take a Worm For a Walk Week, RUNGS) officially join the band.

In a previous press release frontman James Graham had this to say about recording the album: “I’ve always seen Brendan and Johnny as part of the band and it’s time to say that aloud. From the actual coming together of the demos to recording the final versions of these songs has probably been one of my favorite experiences of being in the band. All four of us were throwing ideas in, whereas before Andy had mapped it all out. Once he got past the point of making the demos his point of view was ‘we need to make these even better. These need to take a step up from where they are.’ He opened the floor to everybody.

“The results speak for themselves: an exhilarating listen, by turns cinematic and claustrophobic in its scope, the band dug deep to produce It Won/t Be Like This All the Time, and it’s perhaps their most raw and dynamic record to date.

“It’s a dark record but I think there are some uplifting moments to be had too. There are so many extremes here - there are moments that are harsh, then others that are quite melodic and others that are stripped right down. This album definitely comes with the extremes of every side of the band, I think. There’s a certain direct openness and candor now but at the same time I want to keep some mystery. We don’t like to throw things in people’s faces and spell it out for them.”

The Twilight Sad U.S. Tour Dates:


10 - Philadelphia, PA - The Foundry
11 - Brooklyn, NY - Elsewhere
12 - Washington, DC - U Street Music Hall
14 - Boston, MA - Sonia
16 - Toronto, ON - Velvet Underground
17 - Detroit, MI - El Club
18 - Chicago, IL - Sleeping Village
21 - Denver, CO - Larimer Lounge
22 - Salt Lake City, UT - Urban Lounge
24 - Vancouver, BC - Wise Hall
26 - Seattle, WA - Crocodile
27 - Portland, OR - Doug Fir
29 - San Francisco, CA - Independent
30 - Los Angeles, CA - Teragram Ballroom

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.