The Verve - 11 Previously Unreleased "Urban Hymns" Era Tracks Have Surfaced Online | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Saturday, November 26th, 2022  

The Verve - 11 Previously Unreleased “Urban Hymns” Era Tracks Have Surfaced Online

Urban Hymns Reissue Out Now, But These Tracks Aren't on There

Sep 22, 2017 The Verve Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

The Verve recently put out a deluxe 20th anniversary reissue of the British band’s classic 1997 album Urban Hymns (the one with “Bittersweet Symphony,” “The Drugs Don’t Work,” and “Lucky Man” on it). It includes various unreleased tracks and demos, but now, as Stereogum reports, even more unreleased tracks not included in the reissue have mysteriously surfaced on YouTube. They include the previously unreleased songs “All Ways Are Maybes,” “Wednesday Madness,” “Jalfrezi,” “Original Insanity,” “King Riff 2,” “Tina Turner,” and “Sweet & Sour.” And then there are alternate mixes and early demos of “Oh Sister” (eventually a B-side to “Bittersweet Symphony”) and Urban Hymns tracks “This Time,” “Neon Wilderness,” and “Sonnet.” Stereogum’s report speculates that perhaps one of the band’s members didn’t want the tracks included in the reissue and that the uploader got them from a friend at UMC, the label that put out the reissue. Listen to them all below now, before the label or band forces them to be taken down.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.