Tim Burgess Announces New Album, Shares Video for Title Track “Typical Music” | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, April 19th, 2024  

Tim Burgess Announces New Album, Shares Video for Title Track “Typical Music”

Typical Music Due Out September 23 via Bella Union

Jun 06, 2022 Photography by Cat Stevens
Bookmark and Share

Tim Burgess of The Charlatans has announced the release of his sixth solo album, Typical Music, which will be out on September 23 via Bella Union. Burgess has also shared a video for the album’s title track. View the Kevin Godley-directed video below, along with the album’s tracklist and cover art.

Burgess discusses his new album in a press release: “OK, we all know about double albums, right? Historically, they’ve been thought of as indulgent. But I came to the conclusion that what I was doing was the opposite of that. I wanted to give people everything that I’d done. Every idea was treated as if it was the best thing and had to be treated with extreme care. I wanted to give everything of myself. That was it.”

He adds: “I fell in love with the world again. During Covid, I read a pile of books, got better on guitar. I had new perspective. I wanted to learn how to be Tim Burgess who makes solo records. People have a vision of me as the singer in The Charlatans. That’s not going to change. Then there’s me as the Twitter guy. But I just fell in love with the world again and wanted the world to take me with them.”

Typical Music was recorded at Rockfield Studios in Monmouthshire, Wales, and features musical contributions from Daniel O’Sullivan and Thighpaulsandra.

In April, Burgess shared the album track “Here Comes the Weekend,” which was one of our Songs of the Week.

Last September, Burgess released the book The Listening Party, written about his Twitter listening parties.

Check out our interview with Burgess about his Twitter listening parties, along with our COVID-19 Quarantine Artist Check-In interview with him from 2020.

Typical Music Tracklist:

1. Here Comes The Weekend
2. Curiosity
3. Time That We Call Time
4. Flamingo
5. Revenge Through Art
6. Kinetic Connection
7. Typical Music
8. Take Me With You
9. After This
10. The Centre Of Me (Is a Symphony Of You)
11. When I See You
12. Magic Rising
13. Tender Hooks
13. Don’t Stay Lost
14. L.O.S.T Lost / Will You Take a Look At My Hand Please
15. A Bloody Nose
16. In May
17. Slacker (Than I’ve Ever Been)
18. View From Above
19. A Quarter To Eight
20. Sooner Than Yesterday
21. Sure Enough
22. What’s Meant For You Won’t Pass By You

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.