Tindersticks Share Video for New Song “Willow” Featuring Robert Pattinson | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, May 27th, 2024  

Tindersticks Share Video for New Song “Willow” Featuring Robert Pattinson

Music for Claire Denis' High Life Soundtrack Due Out April 5 via Milan/City Slang

Feb 28, 2019 Robert Pattinson Bookmark and Share

Tindersticks have shared a new song, “Willow,” via a video for the track. The song features actor Robert Pattinson on vocals and is taken from the soundtrack to the upcoming film High Life, which Pattinson stars in. Tindersticks’ frontman Stuart A. Staples has done the score for High Life, which was directed by Claire Denis (Staples has scored various other Denis films in the past). High Life is due out in New York and Los Angeles on April 5 and the soundtrack is due out the same day via Milan and City Slang. The video features images from the film, including Pattinson. Watch it below, followed by the soundtrack’s tracklist and cover art.

A press release describes the movie as such: “In High Life, Monte (Robert Pattinson) and his baby daughter are the last survivors of a damned and dangerous mission to deep space. The crew-death-row inmates led by a doctor (Juliette Binoche) with sinister motives-has vanished. As the mystery of what happened onboard the ship unravels, father and daughter must rely on each other to survive as they hurtle toward the oblivion of a black hole. A staggering and primal film about love and intimacy, suffused with anguished memories of a lost Earth, High Life is a haunting, thrilling achievement from visionary director Claire Denis.”

Staples issued this lengthy statement about his score for the film:

“Most of the music for High Life was made before the filming. The conversation with Claire started maybe as far back as 2012. There were many ideas I wanted to explore and I appreciated the foresight of Claire and the producers in offering me support and encouragement to do this. As well as work with usual collaborators Dan McKinna, Neil Fraser and Earl Harvin, this afforded me purely experimental recording sessions with David Coulter, Thomas Bloch, David Okumu, Julian Siegel, Seb Rochford and the BBC singers. Several long sketches / pieces were created from these sessions that the eventual score was formed from or informed by.

“I approached High Life with the simple idea of creating a sort of random music, existing in a void - like the constellations themselves - a framework that was always hidden from the musician and that they had only minimal or no information to play or react to as we recorded. The first piece completed was ‘The Yellow Light’ for the early Claire Denis / Olafur Eliasson collaborative short film Contact (2014). For this, each instrument / part was played into silence with arbitrary start points creating random movements and relationships when brought together. This theme / way of working runs through the entire making of the score for High life. Musicians generally worked ‘in the darkness’.

For ‘the void’ itself a series of hums and drones were created in the studio - various instruments played, or feeding back, or with their notes Sello taped down, to make the studio space resonate in different keys. These stereo recordings were alive, working and changing within themselves - this approach was informed by my experiences creating the sound installation ‘Ypres’ at the In Flanders Fields WW1 museum in Belgium and the adventure of making this 12th century hall vibrate and resonate with its evolving orchestral score.

“And then there was ‘Willow,’ a seed of a song shared by myself and Dan Mckinna that eventually grew to be the conclusion of the High Life with Robert Pattinson, the lead actor, singing the song in character to his daughter Willow, a theme that runs through the film.

“For the flashback sequences on earth I spent many consecutive nights recording in the rain waiting for the right intensity of heavy drops falling from the guttering of my studio onto the carefully positioned paella pans below.

“I felt the score should be intimate and hypnotic. Music made of hands and breath-acoustic instruments, electric guitars, fingertips.”

Staples released a solo album, Arrhythmia, last year via City Slang. Tindersticks’ last album, The Waiting Room, was released in 2016 via City Slang.

Music for Claire Denis’ High Life Tracklist:

1. The Garden
2. Willow Lullaby
3. System Report
4. High Life Main Title
5. River Flashback
6. Fluids
7. The Fuck Box
8. Bad Genes Revolution
9. Radiation
10. Rape of Boyse
11. Insemination
12. Grow Baby, Grow
13. Boyse’s Death
14. The Dog Ship
15. Monte and Willow
16. The Yellow Light
17. The Black Hole (excerpt)
18. Willow (performed by Tindersticks feat. Robert Pattinson)

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

February 28th 2019

vizer tv is an Android streaming app for Portuguese and English Movies, TV Shows and Live TV content. The app is best used with Android mobiles to get a HD viewing experience. Join millions of users around the world using
vizio smart tv.

scr888 win tips
June 18th 2019

For those who think of Kip Winger as the bass-twirling crooner on “Seventeen” or the guy whose band got shredded on ‘Beavis often without people knowing
the full line-up and sometimes the headliners. It takes place in Somerset during
the very center of summer and may last for five days;
for lack it is an extremely important event of the season.

I believe that one was one for this first lyrics, “I had hope” understanding
that is usually when all of us writing songs, whatever the first lyric is, or a way
to describe the song, is usually what historical past of the is.
Even just a single was “I Had Hope”.

Their newly added fall 2011 headlining tour dates only associated with six shows in North
america with supporting acts Chuck Ragan, and Suedehead.
Social Distortion’s recent album, Hard times and Nursery Rhymes
was introduced January 18, 2011 via Epitaph Records. It debuted at No 4 on the Billboard 200 chart,
as well as the bands highest debut to big day. http://www.lowerbroad.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=scr888slot.ampedpages.com

January 8th 2020

Excellent Blog! I would like to thank for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well.
I wanted to thank you for this websites! Thanks for sharing. Great websites!