Watch Mitski Be Interviewed by Trevor Noah and Perform "Geyser" on "The Daily Show" | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, October 24th, 2021  

Watch Mitski Be Interviewed by Trevor Noah and Perform “Geyser” on “The Daily Show”

Be the Cowboy Out Now via Dead Oceans

Sep 12, 2018 Mitski
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Mitski (full name Mitski Miyawaki) released a new album, Be the Cowboy, last month via Dead Oceans. Yesterday she stopped by The Daily Show to be interviewed by host Trevor Noah and perform the album’s “Geyser.” In the interview she discusses the album’s title and the themes on the album. The performance of “Geyser” is short and sweet. Watch the interview and performance below.

Previously Mitski shared a Zia Anger-directed video for its first single, “Geyser,” which was our #2 Song of the Week, announced some tour dates, shared a strange video for “Nobody,” and shared the audio for Be the Cowboy‘s closing track “Two Slow Dancers” (which was also one of our Songs of the Week).

Be the Cowboy is the follow-up to 2016’s acclaimed Puberty 2 and was produced with longtime collaborator Patrick Hyland. In a previous press release, Mitski said she and Hyland were drawn to “the image of someone alone on a stage, singing solo with a single spotlight trained on them in an otherwise dark room. For most of the tracks, we didn’t layer the vocals with doubles or harmonies to achieve that campy ‘person singing alone on stage’ atmosphere.”

Mitski also said she “experimented in narrative and fiction” and had in mind “a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel. Because women have so little power and showing emotion is seen as weakness, this ‘character’ clings to any amount of control she can get. Still, there is something very primordial in her that is trying to find a way to get out.”

“I had been on the road for a long time,” she added, “which is so isolating, and had to run my own business at the same time. A lot of this record was me not having any feelings, being completely spent but then trying to rally myself and wake up and get back to Mitski.”

Read our review of Be the Cowboy.

Read our review of Puberty 2.

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah

Mitski Tour Dates:

Wed. Sep. 19 - Manchester, UK @ Manchester Gorilla * - SOLD OUT
Thu. Sep. 20 - Glasgow, UK @ Saint Luke’s * - SOLD OUT
Sat. Sep. 22 - Dublin, IE @ Tivoli Theatre *
Mon. Sep. 24 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club * - SOLD OUT
Thu. Sep. 25 - Bristol, UK @ Trinity Arts Centre *
Wed. Sep. 26 - London, UK @ O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire *
Fri. Sep. 28 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie *
Sat. Sep. 29 - Antwerp, BE @ TRIX *
Mon. Oct. 1 - Cologne, DE @ Gebäude 9 *
Tue. Oct. 2 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord (Tolhuistuin) *
Thu. Oct. 4 - Berlin, DE @ Musik & Frieden *
Fri. Oct. 5 - Vesterbro, DK @ Vega *
Sat. Oct. 6 - Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich *
Fri. Oct. 19 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer & - SOLD OUT
Sat. Oct. 20 - Boston, MA @ House of Blues & - SOLD OUT
Sun. Oct. 21 - Montreal, QC @ L’Astral &
Mon. Oct. 22 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall & - SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 23 - Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick & - SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 25 - Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre & - SOLD OUT
Fri. Oct. 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue &
Tue. Oct. 30 - Vancouver, BC @ Imperial & - SOLD OUT
Wed. Oct. 31 - Seattle, WA @ The Showbox &
Thu. Nov. 1 - Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom &
Sat. Nov. 3 - San Francisco, CA @ Warfield Theatre & - SOLD OUT
Wed. Nov. 7 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern &
Thu. Nov. 8 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom & - SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 10 - Austin, TX @ Emo’s Austin &
Sun. Nov. 11 - Dallas, TX @ Trees & - SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 13 - Nashville, TN @ The Basement East &
Wed. Nov. 14 - Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade & - SOLD OUT
Fri. Nov. 16 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club & - SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 17 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club & - SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 18 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer &
Fri. Nov. 30 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ - SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 1 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^ - SOLD OUT
Sun. Dec. 2 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^

* = w/ EERA
& = w/ Overcoats
^ = w/ Downtown Boys and SASAMI

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.