Will Butler (of Arcade Fire) Announces Live Album Featuring New Songs | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, February 27th, 2024  

Will Butler (of Arcade Fire) Announces Live Album Featuring New Songs

Friday Night Due Out June 17 via Merge

May 10, 2016 Will Butler Photography by Keith Klenowski Bookmark and Share

Will Butler from Arcade Fire released his debut solo album, Policy, last March via Merge. Now he’s announced a new live album, Friday Night. It’s due out June 17 via Merge and contains five songs from Policy, two songs he wrote for The Guardian newspaper last year, and five new songs. Most of it was recorded at Lincoln Hall in Chicago on June 4, 2015. Below is a live video of “Take My Side.”

Butler had this to say about the album in a press release: “Think of this as a comedy record. In some ways literally-Brooklyn comedian Jo Firestone does the introduction and the ‘solo’ in Friday Night-but also, it’s an album based on working out ideas in a room full of people, playing off their energy and expectations. It’s about taking complicated emotions and wringing communal joy from them, and then translating that joy onto record. So here you go!”

Also read our 2015 interview with Butler about Policy.

Friday Night Tracklist:

1. Encore - Tell Me We’re All Right
2. Introduction
3. You Must Be Kidding
4. Son of God
5. Sun Comes Up
6. Madonna Can’t Save Me Now
7. Something’s Coming
8. Anna
9. II
10. Sing to Me
11. Public Defender
12. Take My Side
13. Encore - Friday Night


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.