Yo La Tengo Announce "Painful" Reissue, 30th Anniversary Tour | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, December 7th, 2023  

Yo La Tengo Announce “Painful” Reissue, 30th Anniversary Tour

Out Dec. 2

Oct 21, 2014 Yo La Tengo
Bookmark and Share

Celebrating 30 years as a band Yo La Tengo have announced a forthcoming reissue of their 1993 album Painful. Due out Dec. 2, the release—dubbed Extra Painful—will be packaged as a double LP with a 7’’ and a coupon for downloadable bonus tracks, a double CD with the coupon bonus downloads, or digital release featuring bonus tracks not included on the coupon.

In addition to the reissue the band has announced plans for a celebratory tour, including an appearance at Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest. Scroll down below for the full details of the reissue and performance itinerary.

Extra Painful:


Disc 1: The original “Painful” album (not remastered)
Disc 2: “Extra Painful” - the bonus tracks
7”: “Shaker” / “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” - exact reproduction of original single
Download coupon: all the album tracks + 15 extra bonus tracks
Packaging: Double LP + 7” (in picture sleeve) with ephemera, photos, reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, the first ‘YLT Gazette’ in 14 years, liner notes by Gerard Cosloy and the band


Disc 1: As on vinyl
Disc 2: As on vinyl
Download coupon: includes the 2 tracks from the “Shaker” 7” as well as the 15 extra bonus tracks
Packaging includes a booklet with all the artwork in the vinyl package


1. Big Day Coming
2. From a Motel 6
3. Double Dare
4. Superstar-Watcher
5. Nowhere Near
6. Sudden Organ
7. A Worrying Thing
8. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long
9. The Whole Of The Law
10. Big Day Coming
11. I Heard You Looking

Extra Painful:

1. Nowhere Near (demo)
2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)
3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)
4. Sudden Organ (demo)
5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)
6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)
7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)
8. Double Dare (demo)
9. A Worrying Thing (demo)
10. I Heard You Looking (live)

Shaker 7”:

A: Shaker
B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version - the CD single contained a different version which is on the download coupon]



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.