A New Tide | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, June 25th, 2024  

Gomez

A New Tide

ATO

May 19, 2009 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Is the Mercury Music Prize an indication that you should stop doing what people seem to approve of so much? The prestigious award, given to one British artist annually, signifies the biggest contribution to British music for that year. Gomez were the recipients of that honor in 1998 for their debut, Bring It On. Since that time, however, the group has moved further and further away from the mish-mash of experimental Tex-Mex that brought them to the public’s attention in the first place. Or have they gone so far that nothing else that was present on Bring It On has any room to exist anymore?

A New Tide is the (now) sextet’s sixth album. The band’s members are spread across two continents, so it was written both bi-continentally and bi-coastally, and collaborated on through technological means. It was then brought to producer Brian Deck in separate sessions in Chicago and Charlottesville. All of this, as well as the cast of guest musicians, including Amy Milan, Josh Abrams, Oliver Krauss, and Stuart Bogie, is fine. The fact that they were forced to use technology puts that element into their jam band sensibility and gives a modern sheen to the country blues that Gomez are more about that anything else these days. But for all its multi-generated sources, A New Tide is static in its sound.

Ben Ottewell’s gravelly tones aren’t nearly used to their potential. Instead they are restrained and contained with strange instrumentation overriding his voice. On the other hand, Ian Ball’s pleasing warbles save backing tracks that don’t have much holding them up in the first place. Third vocalist Tom Gray—who doesn’t turn up much on A New Tide—is probably doing a good escape as his delivery usually just mimics someone else’s and doesn’t have much of its own to offer. This is a huge shame as all the members of Gomez are enormously talented musicians. Yet they seem to hold each other back when they get together.

None of this matters as halfway through A New Tide the songs run together with very little to distinguish them apart from one another, and then you realize that you’ve stopped listening anyway.

(www.gomeztheband.com)

Author rating: 5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 0/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

PhelpsELSA18
August 9th 2011
12:28am

Do not cash to buy some real estate? Do not worry, just because it’s real to take the loan to solve all the problems. Thence get a short term loan to buy all you require.

FosterCHARITY21
September 6th 2011
2:05am

It’s good that we can receive the loans moreover, it opens up new possibilities.

LEANNAMcdonald
December 7th 2011
4:34am

I had got a dream to make my own organization, nevertheless I didn’t earn enough amount of money to do that. Thank goodness my close friend recommended to take the loans. Thence I received the student loan and made real my dream.

WEBERAdele35
December 28th 2011
9:42pm

One acknowledges that modern life seems to be expensive, however different people need cash for various things and not every man gets enough money. Hence to get fast mortgage loans and short term loan will be a proper solution.

Stacie32MASSEY
January 24th 2012
1:49am

This is good that we can receive the personal loans and it opens new possibilities.

Griffin24Bridgett
May 26th 2012
7:27am

All people deserve very good life and business loans or collateral loan will make it much better. Just because freedom depends on money state.

REVA22Morrow
July 14th 2012
3:01am

Some time ago, I really needed to buy a good car for my business but I didn’t have enough money and couldn’t buy anything. Thank goodness my friend suggested to take the business loans at trustworthy bank. So, I did so and used to be satisfied with my credit loan.

KristaMorse
September 3rd 2012
10:52am

I will recommend not to hold off until you earn enough money to buy different goods! You should just take the loans or consolidation loans and feel yourself free

Hensley34Leila
September 16th 2012
7:30am

The loan seem to be very useful for guys, which would like to start their own organization. By the way, that’s easy to get a auto loan.

StacieGarza
March 19th 2013
5:18pm

Have not found qualified academic writing services yet? View Top WritingService company to receive best writing research papers from the expert online store.

BirdColleen
March 27th 2013
5:51am

It will be false to conclude that the prime goal of custom writing services that suggest buying essay papers is to assist sophomores to handle their assignments. At any time you and your friends buy college term paper,  you make a deal with which wish to earn money.

WilliamsVilma
March 30th 2013
11:45am

It’s wrong that some of students get high academic results and some dismiss their degrees. Hence, what is their secret? Good students are very smart and they generally buy term papers. So, you should think about it and make your decision!

DunnElvia24
May 30th 2013
4:09am

Free time seems to be a good thing but not any student can utilize that. Generally students sit at home and complete their essays having no time for their own affairs. Nonetheless, it can be over now just because you can buy essays and enjoy your life.

purchase custom research paper
June 9th 2013
7:20am

Have not found professional essay custom writing help yet? View Top WritingService company to buy an essay from the professional online store.

LancasterEster
June 10th 2013
11:09pm

Purchase customized essay from certified academic writers. So if you are desparate, you only need to go to the Web page and obtain good term paper writing assistance.

click here
June 13th 2013
11:19pm

Visit this website (essaysservice.com) in order to receive an excellent chance to buy papers and make a change in your academic career due to our best writing service.

Marilyn35Valdez
July 26th 2013
6:24am

Press link if you are seeking for a trusty writing company. Buy essays online uk from real writing pros.

SosaHEATHER
July 26th 2013
8:06am

People need to go ahead with progress. Furthermore, I think, it is no reason to spend hours for writing academic papers. The whole world uses help with essay writing organization. It should be a great way to save time for fun.

MarvaDawson25
July 29th 2013
10:46am

Get Book Review Essay, save your time and do other important things while expert writers take care of your writing assignment.

RamosLeticia22
July 29th 2013
10:55am

It’s not a secret that a lot of sophomores have no clue how to compose Narrative Essay, but they are able to get professional help from superior custom paper writing service.

CHURCHLourdes30
September 20th 2013
3:50am

Numbers of students are satisfied with perfect quality of academic papers completed by essay writing service. You should join these students and be satisfied.