UV-TV: Always Something (PaperCup Music) - review | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, July 7th, 2022  

UV-TV

Always Something

PaperCup Music

May 28, 2021 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


If, as some critics claim, guitar music is dead then it appears New York power trio UV-TV didn’t get the memo. On their third full-length studio album Always Something, founding members Rose Vastola (guitars/vox) and Ian Bernacett (guitars), plus latest recruit Ian Rose (drums), have finessed their sound, finding beauty in chaos and crafting soaring melodies whilst still staying true their restless DIY punk spirit.

The band wrote Always Something during 2020’s first lockdown, their creativity propelled by not just the world’s chaotic response to the global pandemic, but also the boredom of having life so restricted. With all the old certainties gone, who knew such a potential cataclysmic global event could also feel so banal? According to the band’s press notes the album was also inspired by the “inevitability of inconveniences and false hopes,” as they attempted to “recreate the throbbing rhythms, pulsating vibrations and grinding monotony of the day-to-day hustle that existed before COVID.”

Always Something really does inject excitement back into guitar music and Bernacett’s incendiary intricate guitar riffs are a thing of beauty and are genuinely thrilling, with an intensity and kinetic energy that is quite irresistible. Couple that with Vastola’s sweet but snarling vocals, Always Something plays to the trio’s strengths and whilst UV-TV wear their influences proudly on their collective sleeves, they also stamp their personality onto each and every track. The epic “Wildflower” distils everything that’s great about UV-TV, former single “Distant Lullaby” sounds like Shop Assistants colliding with Dinosaur Jr. Elsewhere tracks such as “Plume” and the wistful “Holland Sunday” slow things down a tad and positively drip with lachrymose beauty. “I Don’t Mind” sounds like The Sundays on amphetamines, whilst the driving title track feels like a lost ’90s classic residing somewhere between The Breeders and Lush.

Guitar music isn’t dead, although some of the dreadful derivative “lad bands” currently being inflicted on the UK music scene have been doing their best to lay it to rest with their passionless “focus -group” rock, which is essentially an anaemic facsimile of the past. UV-TV, however, show just how you can take your influences and meld them into something shiny and new and imbue it with excitement, swagger, and melody. Once again it’s New York-based artists who appear to be leading the way and infusing new life into indie guitar music. (uvtvmusic.com)

Author rating: 8.5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 0/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Handyman Rockingham
May 29th 2021
9:00am

The music was really great.

fmwhatsapp
May 31st 2021
10:48pm

always something is really something !!!

Harry Grid
June 2nd 2021
7:33am

your post is awesome

918kiss
June 10th 2021
3:50am

Nice blog right here! Additionally your web site a
lot up fast! What host are you the usage of?
Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink in your host? I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

w88
June 11th 2021
2:08pm

I go to see eɑch ɗay s᧐me blogs and іnformation sites tо read cօntent, hοwever tһіs webpage
ɡives feature based writing.

fun88
June 11th 2021
7:28pm

you’re aсtually ɑ good webmaster. Tһe site loading speed іs
incredible. Ιt sort of feels tһat you are doing any distinctive trick.
Ӏn addition, The contents are masterpiece. ʏou’ve performed ɑ greаt task іn this matter!

agen plywood
June 13th 2021
6:08am

fantastic issues altogether, you just received a new reader.

What could you suggest in regards to your post that you simply made a few days ago?
Any positive?

w88
June 17th 2021
12:23am

I wɑs wondering if yօu ever thought of changing tһe structure of your
site? Ιts very wеll written; I love ԝhat youve ɡot tо say.
But mаybe ʏou could a little more in the waу of content so people coᥙld connect with it ƅetter.
Youve got an awful ⅼot of text fоr only һaving 1 ᧐r tѡο images.
Μaybe you сould space it out better?

Christel
June 17th 2021
3:27pm

Yay google is my woprld beater assisted me too find this great website!

바카라게임
June 19th 2021
6:28am

Ask me about the rewards of blog commenting!

Объекты любой сложности. Внесение
в ЕГРН. Допуски, СРО. 12 лет на рынке.

Звоните! · Гарантия на все работы.
Скорость и точность. 100% результат Подробнее
на omsk55proekt

profissaoimigrante.com
June 23rd 2021
7:22am

G᧐od blog you’ve got here.. It�s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.
I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take сare!!

« wróć na poprzednią stronę
June 23rd 2021
2:16pm

Every weekend i used to pay a visit this wweb page, for the reason that i wish
for enjoyment, for the reason that thuis this site conations genuinely pleasant funny data too.

Dentist
June 24th 2021
12:49am

I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of
your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got
to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.
Maybe you could space it out better?

Suvichar
June 24th 2021
9:58pm

The music was really great. I like it.

Good Morning Quotes
June 24th 2021
10:00pm

You’ve got an awful ⅼot of text fоr only һaving 1 ᧐r tѡο images.
Μaybe you сould space it out better?

his response
June 25th 2021
9:13am

What i do not understood is in truth how you are no
longer really a lot more well-preferred than you might be
right now. You are very intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably when it comes to this matter, produced
me in my opinion consider it from so many numerous angles.
Its like women and men aren’t interested until it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga!
Your own stuffs great. At all times take care of it up!

sbobet
June 28th 2021
3:57pm

Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve take note your
stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic.
I really like what you have got here, really like what you’re saying and the
way in which in which you say it. You’re making
it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.
I can not wait to learn much more from you. That is really a great
website.

get more info
June 29th 2021
3:32pm

of course like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on several of
your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to tell the
truth then again I will certainly come back again.

Ashfak
July 2nd 2021
5:57am

Thanks Wallpaper k

homepage
July 3rd 2021
7:50am

Very nice article, totaslly what I wanted to find.
homepage

more info
July 7th 2021
3:24am

Tyus Jones’ PRA prop total for the game is set at 21.five, 7.eight higher than his season average of 13.7.

выдача кредитов
July 9th 2021
3:40pm

A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.

I think that you need to publish more on this subject matter, it
might not be a taboo matter but usually folks don’t talk about such subjects.
To the next! Many thanks!!

bandar togel online terpercaya
July 11th 2021
5:41am

My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type
on a variety of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

instagram z gallerie
July 12th 2021
11:18pm

You ought to take part in a contest for one of the finest websites on the web.
I am going to recommend this web site!

https://www.yert200.com
July 14th 2021
12:47am

“But as long as pilots are paying to get a job, it’s better to wait for the economic situation to improve. One day traveling will be the same as it was before in 2019, before everything [the pandemic] started.”
https://www.yert200.com “]카지노사이트[/url]

maxpoker88
July 14th 2021
4:12am

I am truly pleased to read this weblog posts which consists of
lots of valuable data, thanks for providing such data.

k
July 14th 2021
2:01pm

Hi there to every one, it’s in fact a good for me to pay a quick
visit this web page, it includes priceless Information.

informasi bola
July 14th 2021
10:13pm

I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your blog.
It appears as though some of the written text in your content are running off the
screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know
if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my browser because
I’ve had this happen previously. Cheers

moving-orlando-la
July 15th 2021
3:38pm

Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work.
If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

John Marcos
July 16th 2021
8:30am

This looks cool. I have given it 5 stars rating. Would love to see more of this.

Fiore CBD}
July 19th 2021
6:00pm

Great info over again. I am looking forwsard for your next post!

nouvelles canada
July 22nd 2021
7:28am

Hi, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing
data, that’s really fine, keep up writing.

Sad DP
July 23rd 2021
8:12pm

Thanks for Sharing Very Useful Information

Anup
July 25th 2021
12:47pm

Guitar is the one of the best instrument for music in the world.

sbobet88 daftar
July 27th 2021
11:00pm

What’s up, its good paragraph regarding media print, we all
be aware of media is a great source of data.

MuskaanHindi
July 28th 2021
10:31pm

Thanks for sharing the content. Keep sharing

Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe all is presented on net?

i-btcdown binance
August 1st 2021
9:44pm

Hurrah! After all I got a webpage from where I be
capable of in fact obtain valuable facts regarding my study and knowledge.

100 free uncensored webcams
August 6th 2021
2:09am

Hi there, I wish for to subscribe for this website
to obtain newest updates, therefore where can i do it
please assist.

кредит картой
August 7th 2021
7:15am

I got this site from my buddy who told me about this site and now this time I am browsing
this site and reading very informative articles or reviews at this
place.

Shiro
August 11th 2021
7:35pm

Really cool article out here.

Vape Kits
August 12th 2021
7:09am

What’s up, I would like to subscribe for this website to
obtain latest updates, therefore where can i do iit please assist.

Bada Business
August 13th 2021
8:37am

This is the perfect webpage for everyone who hopes to understand this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic that’s been written about for ages. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

visit website
August 14th 2021
7:56am

May I just say what a comfort to uncover somebody who actually understands what they are discussing over
the internet. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to light
and make it important. More people ought to look at this and
understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you are not more popular given that you most certainly
possess the gift.

clashmod
August 18th 2021
8:37pm

Thanks for sharing this, I enjoyed reading this. Keep sharing stuff like this in future.

shafqat Ali
August 23rd 2021
12:25pm

Nice Quality Content.

Phoneix
August 23rd 2021
12:27pm

Thanks For Sharing Amazing Content.

Isaiah House
August 23rd 2021
12:29pm

Nice Content Thanks For Sharing

Welvismarketing
August 23rd 2021
12:30pm

Amazing Content Keep Sharing

isshiki
August 25th 2021
12:24pm

another amazing album by UV TV…i liked it a lot…i am still listening to it.

lovequotesking
August 28th 2021
4:01am

Thanks for sharing such wonderful stuff. Keep sharing and keep up the good work.

casinosite777.info
September 8th 2021
5:43am

Such an amazing and helpful post. I really really love it.

baccaratsite.top
September 8th 2021
5:50am

I finally found great post here. Thanks for the information. Please keep sharing more articles.

sportstoto.zone
September 8th 2021
5:56am

Thank you for providing a good quality article.

Shantell
September 10th 2021
4:49am

Great write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s site, maintain up the nice operate,
and It is going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

Vikas Yadav
September 11th 2021
7:14am

This is a very tremendous article. You keep making progress in this way.
Free All Images Download Click Now - https://www.mixingimages.com/

Prohindistatus
September 12th 2021
1:40am

This paragraph gives clear idea for the new viewers of blogging.

love shayari
September 13th 2021
4:20am

the best love shayri in hindi

HINDI Poems and stories
September 13th 2021
11:53pm

Loved it. Please visit my blog too