Brüno | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, July 19th, 2024  

Brüno

Studio: Universal Pictures
Directed by Larry Charles; Starring: Sacha Baron Cohen

Jul 09, 2009 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Sacha Baron Cohen is really a comedic genius. He possesses all of those qualities required to transcend observational humor or mere imitation. Egoless and irreverent while clever and steadfast, Baron Cohen’s willingness to disregard personal identity in favor of whatever role he might be entering is staggering given the fact that his co-actors are the unsuspecting and unprepared. From production to red carpet, he is at the mercy of the character.

In Brüno, Baron Cohen transforms into a clumsy and alienated member of the chic European fashion community. Having once hosted the most popular style-focused television show in all German-speaking countries sans Germany, Brüno comes to America in search of a new audience after being blacklisted in Europe. In true parodic fashion, Brüno is almost all exaggeration. Not only is the character flamboyantly gay but superficial and dim. This allows for far more vulgarity and crudity in the antics that ensue. The fake working title, in fact, was Brüno: Delicious Journeys Through America for the Purpose of Making Heterosexual Males Visibly Uncomfortable in the Presence of a Gay Foreigner in a Mesh T-Shirt, according to IMDb.com.

Brüno, in many ways, is a great suit for Baron Cohen. While Borat was fairly consistent in his beliefs and cultural ideals, Brüno is more of a blank slate, ready to change if it will bring him attention. Though Brüno and Baron Cohen’s motivations are far different in the end, both observe a willingness to shrug off their selves in order to achieve their goals. Brüno attempts everything from adopting an African baby boy to negotiating peace between Palestinians and Israelis to conversion therapy—all in the hopes of reclaiming the fame he once enjoyed in Europe. And since Baron Cohen is in character and interacting mainly with those that are not, the boundaries between Baron Cohen and Brüno become even blurrier. But that’s an entirely different discussion.

It’s a front, of course, that allows Baron Cohen to extract the vapidity abound in large swaths of the entertainment industry—though no one is really out of his path. With the exception of Brüno’s venture to the Middle East, which momentarily delves in to sheer awkwardness, Brüno’s ability to be too-ridiculous-to-be-believable puts everyone in the hot seat.

In the process, Baron Cohen manages to touch on issues of religion, homophobia and parenting. The issues are pertinent and the reactions he manages to elicit from movie stars and hunters alike are shocking, but not nearly as far-reaching as in Borat.

Comparisons to Borat aside, Brüno is courageous, bold and unequivocally funny. Though it walks a fine line between shock value and statement, and is sure to be seen as immoderately offensive, it always appears purposeful. With Brüno, Baron Cohen once again exposes himself as the consummate provocateur.

www.meinspace.com/bruno

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this movie
Average reader rating: 7/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

LorainePerkins
July 21st 2011
12:57pm

Do not enough cash to buy some real estate? Worry not, because it’s available to take the loan to solve such kind of problems. Therefore take a short term loan to buy all you need.

MABLE18Cantu
December 16th 2011
3:33am

A lot of specialists say that mortgage loans help a lot of people to live the way they want, just because they are able to feel free to buy necessary things. Moreover, banks offer credit loan for different classes of people.

BARRETTMadge31
February 8th 2012
7:36am

The mortgage loans seem to be useful for guys, which would like to ground their company. By the way, that’s not very hard to receive a secured loan.

Angelique31SULLIVAN
August 24th 2012
3:53pm

I had got a desire to start my organization, however I didn’t have enough amount of money to do this. Thank God my dude said to use the loans. So I received the auto loan and made real my old dream.

Shannon29GILLIAM
August 27th 2012
6:35am

If you are willing to buy a house, you would have to receive the credit loans. Furthermore, my brother commonly utilizes a student loan, which occurs to be the most fast.

COBBCleo28
October 13th 2012
2:16pm

According to my own analysis, thousands of persons on our planet receive the loan at good banks. Therefore, there is a good chance to receive a auto loan in every country.

StevensCourtney
January 17th 2013
7:15am

Consider this site for more information on how to purchase best custom essays cheap and we assure you that you will achieve the best upshots when you check on our professional term paper help.

Harding28Shanna
March 12th 2013
6:14pm

It is obvious that academic papers creating problems bother various students a lot. But, the problem is not as big as it looks like! Thence, do not bother about it and buy essays online.

Lula26Bowers
March 14th 2013
7:36am

They were also able to produce a written piesce of any evaluation essays types.

FordJan27
March 16th 2013
8:53pm

But if students want to draw up essay paper by themselves they are able to find application essays sample on their site, and contact their 24/7 customer support team if they have any problems.

HutchinsonMIA29
April 10th 2013
7:58am

I know that guys utilize lots of services during their life time and the most popular seem to be academic papers completing services. Moreover, lots of such kind of companies will offer great advantages when buy research paper. Thence, why not to utilize it?

GreenLois29
April 17th 2013
9:18pm

Yearn to buy essays uk of first-class quality? Look here!

StaffordBeatriz24
April 17th 2013
11:37pm

Left you some smile on my blog, hoping this can help people. Who can aid students in finishing? I could advice to order the essay writing.

EmiliaGraham
April 23rd 2013
4:18am

If you are desperate, you always have an opportunity to purchase excellent quality Education Essay and all your difficulties will disappear.

GallegosBernice24
April 23rd 2013
4:47am

Buy History Essay, don’t waste your time and do other important things while well-versed writers will cope with your writing work.

AmeliaPetty
July 7th 2013
11:01pm

Desire to buy essay uk of first-class quality? Visit home page!

CRANE25Iva
July 8th 2013
7:33am

Complicated term papers completing seems to be not a trouble for up-to-date people. Just because reaction paper writing company can be able to soleve all academic papers writing complications.

StricklandDebra33
July 11th 2013
10:35am

Our company employs only those writers who are experts in composing Business Essay.

Vilma23Alexander
July 11th 2013
11:18am

Get Justice Essay> according to your instructions written by competent writers and enjoy writing process.