Cullen Omori: The Diet (Sub Pop) Review | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, January 18th, 2022  

Issue #64 -  Kamasi WashingtonCullen Omori

The Diet

Sub Pop

Sep 05, 2018 Cullen Omori Bookmark and Share


Within the past two years, ex-Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori has released a solo studio album, 2016’s New Miserya self explanatory titleand relocated from Chicago to Los Angeles. Whether or not this move impacted Omori’s life is debatable, but as far as his sound goes, there’s no other explanation. In regards to the production of his latest solo album, The Diet, it explains quite a bitevery detail is cleaner, sharper, and more ebullient than anything in Omori’s retro-rock catalogue.

Yet, sharp production should in no way indicate a progression for Omori. The Diet is stuffy and bloated, oftentimes heading into structural directions that end up sounding superficial, a million ideas attempted to be trimmed down for an entire full-length studio album. And, unlike New Misery, a hopeful and marginally focused record, The Diet‘s overall mood is scattered, littered with contributions from countless session musicians. These details eventually weigh down The Diet, and it wears down into a sluggish affair.

The Diet presents itself as somewhat of a break-up record, if not with a literal person, then with a life, a city, an era. The idea of a break-up starts to add a bit of clarity to The Diet, until Omori delivers lyrics like those on “Borderline Friends,” cooing “You’re in the kitchen, doing dishes/For Him.” What at first may come off as a jolt of self-awareness and loneliness, really ends up sounding fractious and self-centered. These are typical tropes found throughout The Diet, or Omori just sounding like a straight up poor partner: “Sweetheart, believe me/I’ve just been so damn tired/Wiped out completely.”

If it wasn’t for tracks such as “All By Yourself” and “Black Rainbow,” some of the album’s simplest yet most diverse compositions, The Diet would feel like a massive lapse of judgment for Omori. Instead, it just proves that perspectives can often be foggy and misguided after a tough emotional setback or transition, and that doesn’t make Omori the bad guyit simply makes him human. (www.cullenomori.bandcamp.com)

Author rating: 5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 7/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

clicker heroes
September 11th 2018
1:37am

The Diet is stuffy and bloated, oftentimes heading into structural directions that end up sounding superficial, a million ideas attempted to be trimmed down for an entire full-length studio album

satta matka
September 15th 2018
11:07pm

Your blog website provided us with useful information to execute with. Each & every recommendations of your website are awesome. Thanks a lot for talking about.

gift codes
November 5th 2018
8:01am

your blog is best

alvinrrarcade games for sale
December 22nd 2018
8:11am

Thanks for sharing this useful information, do continue to update and will catch up more on your website.

Stream Complet
January 25th 2019
6:26pm

Stream complet est le meilleur site de Série et film streaming hd qui diffuse des films complet et gratuit en vf et finalement sans inscription.

https://filmgratuit.fun/
January 25th 2019
6:31pm

Découvrez notre sélection de films gratuits à voir directement sur Filmgratuit.

www.redlobstersurvey.com
January 31st 2019
6:19am

So how was your recent experience with Red Lobster? Did the restaurant serve you well? Ok, so did you know you can stand a chance of winning a $1000 just by answering some questions like the above ones.

krogerfeedback
February 5th 2019
12:18am

Awesome work you did keep up the good work

pandaexpress.com feedback
February 5th 2019
12:18am

you are doing really good work.

Emma Watson
February 7th 2019
4:19am

Thank you for sharing updated information. Keep up your efforts. Great job
dqfansurvey

Codycross
February 10th 2019
8:15am

Thank you for sharing updated information. Keep up your efforts. Great job

www.whataburger.com
February 19th 2019
4:23am

On a diet, we must take controlled food with limited calories especially in burgers. Whataburger conducting surveys from its customers and participate to win Free Burger.

kelvin nox
February 20th 2019
1:28pm

is this product available on eBay I have got some fantastic ting related to eBay

kayle willson
March 15th 2019
4:23am

fedsfzfcx

cicisvisit homepage
March 31st 2019
12:57am

Thanks for such a lovely diet. Having a delicious pizza at trusted restaurants like cicis is no problem for health in the future.

Uncle julio's
May 4th 2019
1:40am

Amazing Post, Thank you for sharing this post really this is awesome and very useful. Well if you get time you must read more on Mazzios menu

192.168.l.l
May 17th 2019
5:24am

good blog, found al ot of many information!

web
May 23rd 2019
5:14am

I always spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content daily
along with a cup of coffee.

www.njmcdirect.com
May 28th 2019
9:32am

Such people are rare who can resist the temptation of speeding on a highway

LIC Merchant
June 7th 2019
12:12am

Very informative blog, . I really liked it and you
have mentioned almost all the possible ways, will try it

justin001
June 7th 2019
6:54am

Thanks a lot for the kind of perfect topic I have not a lot of information about it but I have got an extra unique info in your unique post.

CSUF Career
June 9th 2019
3:12pm

The article is helpful and worth reading. Thanks for the tips. Your blog always made a
positive difference in my life

Google Play Card Generator
June 25th 2019
2:12pm

I read this whole post and genuinely I like this that’s why I have rated it 5 stars but I also have some information related to google play codes. You can get it for free.

Rosa O. Barnard
June 29th 2019
12:38pm

hey great movie loved all the character

satta king
July 4th 2019
12:49pm

I enjoyed reading your blog its quite interesting! Seeking for dispensaries worry no more!
Wonderful Blog! satta king
Thank for sharing but may also work in your like commercially.
Ask your dealer for a aggressive offer for a provided service that includes web site style, growth and hosting.

Tim rolex
July 4th 2019
1:38pm

I really appreciate your article. the post has excellent tips which are useful. this post is good in regards of both knowledge as well as information “https://itunesmoviesoncomputer.hatenablog.com/entry/2019/06/13/032041

megadede
July 4th 2019
5:50pm

thank you for giving us the opportunity to express ourselves freely in order to find solution for the problems we face on the internet.

192.168.l.254 admin
July 12th 2019
7:08am

192.168.1.254 is assigned to routers by manufacturers as private IP

Charlie Ford
July 15th 2019
2:49pm

Hey guys I just want to say that I got an official notification that iTunes is providing us free gift cards codes iTunes gift card codes

Ziyan Paul
July 17th 2019
8:52am

I really like this post, I am so excited to read this whole article, This is very nice and so interested, I appreciate your good effort, I get a lot of information to read this brilliant article.

Alex Jones
July 20th 2019
2:56pm

The whole story was so terrifying but at the end it give happiness

Robert Swanson
July 22nd 2019
6:04am

This is amazing post.. and really goood

Alex Costa
July 26th 2019
11:41pm

oh… really good information i love this topic.

William russ
July 31st 2019
12:02am

this is nice post tnx for shering

Karl Urban
August 2nd 2019
5:23am

Good Dit post .. thanks

Robert Sandberg
August 7th 2019
12:52am

nice one sir i love this post

Daniel Wellington
August 14th 2019
2:17am

oh.. really nice one.

Martin Jacob
August 19th 2019
5:07am

I love this post really nice post

CodyCross Antwoorden
August 29th 2019
5:32am

Great article and i was really helpfull not only for me but also for my family. Thanks a lot

CodyCross Lösungen
August 29th 2019
8:40am

Such informative site. Glad i found this one

Thanks for sharing this news with us.

dpboss matka
September 30th 2019
2:53am

your post provides very useful information that is helpful for other. Thank you for this information.

www belkin setup,
October 18th 2019
4:34am

belkin

Myloweslife
October 22nd 2019
9:13am

Myloweslife is known as the myloweslife. There are a number of things that the employees can do on this portal.

mumbai escorts agency
October 24th 2019
1:06am

Nice content.. thanks for sharing this kinds of information.. I will come back soon.. Thanks

koko sharma
November 4th 2019
11:50pm

I have read your Excellent Post.This is Great Job. i have enjoyed your reading your post first time.
i wnat to say thanks for this post..Thank You Satta king
satta King

Jobin0093
December 2nd 2019
3:30am

I havent played it, but you cant make the cop cars crash?, i remember one NFS when you could bump them to incoming cars or the side of the road, are they invincible?

Robert422
December 21st 2019
1:53am

Captain 200 DI 4WD Tractor Specification: If you are ready to buy the Captain 200 DI 4WD Tractor

dazzy12 kafe
December 23rd 2019
12:27am

Costco is the perfect store for people who love to shop and love to save money. List of Costco store locations, business hours, driving maps, phone numbers and ...
https://holiday-hour.com/costco-wholesale-hours/

Ponmoolers
December 24th 2019
12:53am

List of All Yojanas, Schemes launched by Pradhan Mantri Yojana 2019-20 (Narendra Modi Government, BJP Schemes) | Central Government Schemes.

Today here in this article of mine I am going to share with you Burlington Coat Factory store information like Burlington Coat Factory Holiday Hours

harry12
December 25th 2019
12:27am

If you apply online, you must still go to an NBI office and present your printed online registration code to the NBI Clearance Centre for ...

Ash Martin
December 28th 2019
12:35pm

I clicked the submit order button, and BOOM there was the code. Went over to my xbox, entered the code, and BOOM I got the money added to my account. Nice, Quick, Easy, does its job.

Sam Jhonson
December 28th 2019
12:37pm

I’m going to try and make this brief, because I think most people know the basics of a videogame console, but a lot of people will be interested in the differences between systems, and what makes this one new/unique. I purchased the PS4 slim and the XBox One S on Black Friday when they were hugely discounted. I’m not going to be one of those guys that says that one

dessy6767
December 30th 2019
9:37pm

There is excellent news for the customers of Shoe Carnival, you can win a $200 Shoe Carnival Gift Cards. Share survey.

Hoomlest
December 31st 2019
10:34pm

List of Pradhan Mantri Yojana and Schemes (Sarkari) by Government of India 2019-20, BJP Government Schemes, Modi Ji Schemes. Clean My Coach.

https://myhr-cvs.website/
January 1st 2020
2:07am

MyHR CVS Login for all the Former and Current Employees. CVS Health is a prominent wellbeing specialist organization in the United States.

https://greatpeople-me.website/
January 4th 2020
12:18am

GreatPeopleMe Login is also called GreatPeople Meet Kroger Login (GreatPeople.Me Login) and is the official gateway where Kroger Employees can get to information and data identified with their business.

korala78
January 4th 2020
12:53am

https://50yearssavingbabies.org/

KFC wants your feedback! Customers are currently invited to participate in a customer satisfaction survey. An invitation to the survey is currently being printed on select receipts.

Here I have provided a proper and complete guide about NBI Clearance for Foreigner inside the Philippines. Follow the step by step process as mentioned.

Colpesnter
January 16th 2020
3:01am

Furming Up Leaks. This innovator solves leakage problems for a broad range of industries, from nuclear power to food processing, reports Eric C. Peterson.

thekrogerfeedback
January 20th 2020
4:40am

It is very simple to win gifts by taking Krogerfeedback Survey. It has provided flexibility of age for customers to enter in the survey. All the individuals of 18 and above can enter into the survey.

peter12
January 23rd 2020
9:36am

This information is for the user’s who are waiting for Moegottaknow Survey. If you have food cravings then you can take part in Moe’s Survey and get a chance to win $2 off coupon that can be Redeemed on the next visit.

homerstre
January 27th 2020
8:31am

Grab Driver has become a huge hit on smartphones, irrespective of the operating system. Of course, Android plays a significant role in the game, as most of the devices are Android based.

Aethelred
January 27th 2020
11:03am

If you want to access 4Over Trade Login Portal then you must have 4Over Trade Login details and you need to know correct web-address to access it. Below are listed 4Over Trade Login login link including creating new account, New user sign up and Many more.

Jacklis9336
January 27th 2020
9:55pm

The Jack In The Box Survey holds the questionnaire about the products and services you met at the restaurants. Was the food and services offered were satisfactory? Staff behavior? Cleanliness? etc.

www.njmcdirect.com
January 31st 2020
7:56pm

NJMCDirect Traffic Tickets Online Payment at official website ere To know and Pay Traffic Ticket In Easily & Also Get More Benefits and Features.

Jo Emily
February 1st 2020
2:05am

The work is very stressful, gives you a lot of pressure and I have found an interesting, entertaining thing that you can feel. Try these amazing shell shockers that will have lots of fun and great feelings waiting for you!

momerflorist
February 2nd 2020
10:04pm

Have you ever listen about the Bass Pro Shops survey? what do you know about it? why the Bass Pro Shops customer survey organized by the Bass Pro Shops.

9 Round Fitness
February 4th 2020
4:05am

9 Round Fitness guarantees an “extreme” and demonstrated an exercise program dependent on kickboxing that delivers results. It is a body change program that obliges peoples who are of various fitness levels.

Skyline Cjilli Survey
February 10th 2020
12:23am

Skyline Chili Survey is the best way to collect the customer’s feedback regarding the restaurant’s service whether its positive or negative sides.

tanusha11
February 11th 2020
2:34am

https://upleaks.cn/jack-in-the-box-survey/
Have you ever think to have tacos in Jack In The Box restaurant? Cause it a famous and all people’s favorite items also it is a costly item from other Jack In The Box product.

MetroPCS Login
February 15th 2020
4:43am

Do you want to MetroPCS Login? YES, then check out the following Metro PCS Login Guide. From here, you can Login MetroPCS My Account using your registered T-Mobile Phone Number and Account PIN.

MetroPCS Coverage Maps
February 15th 2020
7:56am

You must check this post on MetroPCS Coverage Maps/Metro by T-Mobile Coverage Maps. We have also provided MetroPCS’s roaming network, MetroPCS Coverage Map by States and MetroPCS Coverage Map by percentage chart.

Bromerhemlost
February 16th 2020
3:25am

On completing the survey successfully, each and every participant satisfies the Primark Survey Rules, Terms & Conditions as given below gets a free entry in the Primark Survey Prize Draw.

Puzzle
February 16th 2020
2:43pm

i find some things at this diet really unique

veresvashupol
February 21st 2020
12:53am

if you have positive or negative feelings about First Choice visit, then use this chance and win amazing prizes.

Krystal survey
February 24th 2020
4:48am

Krystal Guest Survey is a platform for the customers to share their candid feedback, opinions, and views regarding Krystal hamburgers.

Gym Price List
February 27th 2020
9:21am

The EOS Fitness proclamation says everything! While a few people may see the EOS Gym Centers as…

Activation Card
March 11th 2020
4:13am

Capital One Activate – Activate Capital One Credit Card Capital One, one of the leading financial corporations across the globe offers a selection of cards including Capital One credit card, debit cards, reward cards, etc.

Ritashalivala
March 18th 2020
4:36am

surveysfeedback.info/hot-topic-survey/

Hillbear Font Free Download
April 14th 2020
6:15am

Hillbear font is gorgeous and elegant designed by starinkbrush with classy to bring stylish elegance which is attractive and smooth in clean, feminine, sensual, glamorous and perfect for signature, headline, lettering quotes, wedding invitation, fashion and more.

soap
April 22nd 2020
2:58pm

watch movies online free full movie

HomeGoods Customer Experience Survey
April 25th 2020
12:19pm

HomeGoods has organized a Customer Survey at http://www.talktobootsopticians.com to win a $500 HomeGoods Gift Card So if you want to Win $500 HomeGoods Gift Card from the HomeGoods Customer Satisfaction Survey.

How To Check Your Moe’s Southwest Gift Card Balance? or Do you want to check your Moe’s Southwest Gift Card balance online or by phone then here are right place.

Joysana21
May 8th 2020
1:03am

Mahindra Tractor related information like Review,specification and Mahindra Tractors Prices are given in this post.

Joysana21
May 8th 2020
1:06am

Mahindra Tractor related information like Review,specification and Mahindra Tractors Prices are given in this post.
https://tractorhub.wordpress.com/2020/03/17/mahindra-tractor/

If you are looking for QDOBA Headquarter Address or QDOBA Corporate office address or QDOBA Corporate email then check here all the contact information given here.

loganethan1990
June 3rd 2020
11:17pm

tractors cover a fairly wide spectrum of machines, but you’ll generally find these tractors on small to mid-size farms and large commercial properties.

wyattmerry67
June 11th 2020
11:26pm

Today going to present the great signature font called Roboto which is better for signature, marking, wedding, design, photography, banner, web-based social networking, promotion flag and all the more, for example, it.

charlesada11
June 17th 2020
1:28am

Keep on Truckin’ FW Font is accessible as a business use which is in uppercase and lowercase looks better in the title of any logos, apparel, quotes, product bundling, and all the more such as it.

suhansmith11
June 25th 2020
1:05am

Today I am introducing the Caviar Dreams Font which passes on incredible clearness to contact the advancement and its permitted to download for singular utilize like headings, signature, logos, wedding welcoming, shirt, letterhead, signage, mark, etc.

lionahelen30
July 1st 2020
5:18am

Here is the font called Lemon/Milk Font which is 100% allowed to download in your window, Mac or Android in a TTF formate. So if you are searching for a distinctive font for your wedding postcard, branding, invitation, quotes, prints, or more. You can pick this textual style cause it can make it elegent to your handwriting.

luisjose06
July 6th 2020
4:04am

McDonald’s is serving food since 1940 and as yet developing its business with different heavenly food in around 120 nations and 36,000 areas. Demonstrated to be the biggest hamburger fast-food chain on the planet, Mcdonalds Menu Price 2020 are serious with the remainder of the cheap food industry.

lumerjonsopl
July 7th 2020
10:14am

The Arhaus company then uses the data it gets to improve products and services to meet consumer expectations.

williamhop
July 9th 2020
2:44am

In the event that you are approved to utilise the Citi Remote Office Web Portal, at that point you should utilise it for business purposes as it were.

daisymartin13
July 13th 2020
3:49am

Your positive, just as negative supposition, is significant for it. Simply complete Weis Markets Feedback so you can enter Weis Markets Sweepstakes Process to win 100 Weis Markets Rewards Points from http://www.weisfeedback.com.

porterjonny20
July 20th 2020
3:15am

ULTA is a chain of a beauty store in the United States. It was established in 1989 by Richard E George. Its headquarters are located at Bolingbrook, Illinois.