La Haine DVD/Blu-ray (Criterion) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, October 22nd, 2021  

La Haine DVD/Blu-ray

Studio: Criterion

Jul 10, 2012 Issue #41 - Yeasayer Bookmark and Share


Mathieu Kassovitz’s gritty, documentary-like second film is a powerful comment on class and racial disparity set in and around a Parisian banlieue-high-rise housing projects-during the aftermath of a riot. Three friends-one Arab, one African, and one Jew-waste away their day as a friend lies dying in the hospital, wounded by police gunfire the night before. One has found a gun that was dropped in the chaos, and vows to take revenge for his friend’s death by shooting a cop.

Like Spike Lee’s Do the Right Thing, there’s a constant sense that hostilities will boil over at any moment. (La Haine even has its own “Fight the Power” in KRS-One’s “Sound of da Police.”) The film’s plot is about as directionless as its core trio, less a narrative than a series of fascinating and disturbing vignettes looking into 24 hours in the lives of these impoverished, angry, frustrated youths. La haine-”the hate”-referred to in the title isn’t just one character’s emotion, but is felt by everyone in the film, in one direction or another. A fictionalized story inspired by true events, it’s a scary look at issues so deep-rooted that they’re still a big problem nearly 20 years later. (www.criterion.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this DVD
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

vipin
December 5th 2013
12:06am

Its amazing, looking at the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you provide. I’ll bookmark your blog and visit it weekly for your new posts.

www.irepliquemontresluxe.com
November 18th 2014
10:07pm

Thanks for a very interesting blog. What else may I get that kind of info written in such a perfect approach? I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now operating on, and I have been at the look out for such info. http://www.replicaorologi4it.com

www.irepliquemontresluxe.com
November 18th 2014
10:07pm

Greetings I discovered your site by oversight when i was hunting hurray down this acne issue, I must say your site is truly useful I additionally love the outline, its astonishing!. http://www.replicaorologi4it.com

replique montre de luxe
June 17th 2015
2:25am

La Haine DVD / Blu-ray

beverly diamonds reviews
July 2nd 2015
6:56am

Well, in my opinion, these are the films that have to be promoted and to be released worldwide rather than promoting all those fantasy and comical films which doesn’t have any social messages to convey.

careerssurgery.com
October 14th 2015
5:14am

If your heart’s desire is to explore the land of the Hobbits or you’ve ever wondered where Mark Twain got his inspiration, you can find answers and more on a literary vacation. Discover the places where writers like Louisa May Alcott

fashionflatirons.com
October 14th 2015
5:15am

People nowadays want to plan their wedding best among all and they want it to be perfect. It is the occasion that comes once in a lifetime, so they want to make it special at any cost.

earthinternettechnology.com
October 14th 2015
5:15am

Technology with regard to kids isn’t an choice but an important part of the education. 

Replica watches
October 18th 2015
2:52am

one for yourself or purchasing one as a allowance for a acquaintance or relative, the afterward adviser will advice you as you activate your seek for a artist watch.

www.rpwatchjust.co.uk
October 18th 2015
2:55am

here are abounding options attainable in the bazaar and you can accept what you need.

www.skyteamtrade.com
October 18th 2015
2:56am

good post ! thanks !

www.eyecandyentertainment.net
November 6th 2015
9:18pm

If people reckon that escorts are those who’re involved around providing love-making services alone with regard to their customers, they can be actually working with a wrong assumption about escorts.

www.constructionist.net
November 6th 2015
9:18pm

All of workers that are employed at height should discover training in completing this task safely. There are actually inherent risks involving working during height, in support of through training as well as provision of your appropriate wellbeing equipment do you ensure this injury and also accident will likely not occur.

aanrechtblad
February 16th 2016
9:31pm

I was looking for something like this…I found it quiet interesting, hopefully you will keep posting such blogs….Keep sharing.

aanrechtblad
September 26th 2016
12:54pm

Thanks for give me information on this topic. you have sharing very nice post.

Free Online Pet Store
June 3rd 2017
4:46am

For some, creatures are generally a basic bit of your loved ones, and it is truly difficult to select which will take care of these types of whenever getting a vacation. A number of owners choose to provide their unique creatures together with, along with the holiday marketplace…

As my view you have done a great job and anyone can easily reach on that site where lots this kind of information is present in each one. The last day my friend shared with me a great information about life experience degree accredited by the us department of education facility and much guys desire to get higher education at an affordable price due to this finding out that plate form where they can start higher study in their desire field without any problem.

Floor Refinishing Jacksonville
August 10th 2017
1:44pm

Numerous hardwood floors can’t be mopped despite a moist mop without having damaging the actual wood. Water can seep to the wood, leading to mold or even rot. Along with walnut hard wood flooring, it’s low upkeep so mopping is definitely an option also it tends in order to resist mildew, water harm, and irritate infestations.

visit korea
December 15th 2017
9:23am

Chaque année, environ 10 000 000 étrangers visitent la zone sud de la Corée. La théorie est que, tous les étrangers souhaitant visiter un territoire avec la Corée du Sud doivent avoir un passeport correct, y compris un visa délivré par des experts coréens (une ambassade de Corée et le consulat typique). Cela dit, il est tout à fait possible de visiter et de rester en Corée sans visa pour toute période dite, selon votre accord de dispense de visa, selon votre principe de réciprocité et aussi désir national. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter les sites d’un Consulat Typique ou d’une Ambassade Coréenne à l’étranger situés à votre place ...

ps plus codes
January 17th 2018
8:14am

this is awesome.

dissertation writing
July 26th 2018
4:49am

I have added to my favorites. Thank You.