Mercury Rev: The Light in You (Bella Union) Review | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, June 13th, 2021  

Issue #54 - August/September 2015 - CHVRCHES

The Light in You

Bella Union

Sep 18, 2015 Mercury Rev Bookmark and Share


We’ve been here before, countless times. A band whose heyday was a generation ago returns, sounding just as they did 15-20 years ago and dropping an evocation of just how wonderful that music we always loved was. This though, proves a double-edged sword as we realize that their music proved too influential and that every B-list indie band today has caught them up and made a career out of sounding like them. And we lament.

Or at least if we did, then Radiohead would be the only band critics liked (despite what you may believe, this is not the case). The Light in You is Mercury Rev’s first LP in seven years and few returns are more welcome.

After all, 1998’s Deserter’s Songs is one of the best, most underrated albums of its decade: that this isn’t much of a departure is probably a good thing, as the worst case scenario is that we get the opportunity to reacquaint ourselves with the band’s brilliance, which is more than welcome. But whisper it quietly: this might turn out to be even better.

Okay, the lyrics can be a touch trite at times, but that’s beside the point. Jonathan Donahue’s vocals are merely an ingredient in the sounds of the songs. The raucous funk of “Sunflower,” the light kaleidoscope of percussion on “Central Park East,” and the reverb-heavy vocals and strings on “Emotional Freefall” create pieces that go beyond songs and become soundscapes. Without losing their hooks and melodies, they are the sound of a summer breeze rippling over a cornfield, or dappled sunlight on a picturesque harbour.

These 11 tracks have been carefully honed over the last two years and it shows. Nothingthe moogs, the timpanis, the mandolins, chimes, bells, guitars, keys, and the rest—gets wasted here. The album is clearly painstakingly and expertly crafted, yet still sounds effortless. (www.mercuryrev.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Grand Rapids Deck Builder
June 28th 2018
2:38pm

This is a great article thank you for sharing!

South Bend Deck Repair
July 2nd 2018
8:53am

I love this album. Although the lyrics may be tough, I still think this album us great!

marketing
September 27th 2018
9:00am

Great album - great story.

Sierra
November 23rd 2018
8:03pm

Great article. Very informative.
pro pianters birmingham

Steel Roof
December 27th 2018
10:01am

Huge fan of this album. What Mercury did was nothing short of stellar! I seriously love it so much.

Taylor
February 15th 2019
3:07pm

You took the words right out of my mouth ‘expertly crafted, yet still sounds effortless.’ Thanks for the read.

tree service
February 19th 2019
11:35am

I was a huge fan of Mercury Rev back in the day. I was super excited when this album came out to hear them back at their top form.

arborist Aurora IL
February 22nd 2019
12:55pm

Love this album. Always dug their reverb-heavy vocals and use of strings.

Tree Services O'Fallon MO
February 26th 2019
12:18pm

Still one of the greatest albums of all time!

Wesley
March 12th 2019
2:57pm

Love this album, so beautiful! carpet cleaning Medicine Hat, Alberta

Photo Booth Rental DFW
March 23rd 2019
6:12pm

Good album, thanks for sharing

Rhey Plumb
April 5th 2019
12:14pm

Nice review! Thanks for sharing.
Plumbing Chantilly

concrete knoxville tn
April 17th 2019
12:30pm

I love this review! Very honest. Hope you continue doing the same to the rest!

Augusta
April 30th 2019
6:51pm

Great comeback album

Augusta
Owner - Augusta Tree Service

Bug Bros Tulsa
May 5th 2019
3:18pm

Great album thanks for sharing!
Michael
https://bugbros.com/locations/tulsa-oklahoma/pest-control/

Visit my website
May 6th 2019
3:28pm

Great, insightful post! Thanks

Jimmy
May 13th 2019
1:40pm

Thank you!
Vallejo Towing

Mountain View Tree Service
May 13th 2019
1:41pm

Wonderful content :)

Tree Service San Diego
May 13th 2019
1:43pm

Great stuff here!

Brandon
May 13th 2019
2:01pm

This is a great album. Thanks for sharing!

Allen J
May 15th 2019
8:31pm

This is actually a great album/musician, I’d highly recommend you guys check them out!
Allen -
https://www.qldmobiledogwash.com

Jon Burke
May 20th 2019
12:15pm

Great review!

Jon | http://aspbillings.com/

esports management
May 21st 2019
8:53am

Have listened to your songs and they are awesome! :)

Michael Coleman
May 21st 2019
9:48pm

<a >Michael Coleman</a> Check out our Vancouver acting classes
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Check out our Featured Actor
<a >Michael Coleman</a>michael-coleman-talks-career-acting-education This is a great article
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Check out our studio
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a> Another great read
<a >Michael Coleman</a> Also A great article
<a >Dog Walker Toronto</a> The best dog walking company with locations in Vancouver and Toronto.
<a >Best Water Softener</a> Find the best quality water softeners in Winnipeg!
<a >mobile mechanic Victoria BC</a> Get your auto repairs here
<a >professional carpet cleaners Erie PA</a>
<a >Contractors Erie PA</a>
<a >concrete contractors</a>
<a >Movers Erie PA</a>
<a >Moving company Youngstown PA</a>
<a >Professional dog trainer</a>
<a >Tree Removal</a>
<a >tow truck richmond</a>
<a >junk hauling</a>
<a >Tree service Vancouver</a>
<a >Tow Truck Youngstown</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Dog Training</a>
<a >Digital marketing</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>

<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>
<a >Michael Coleman Actor</a>

cincinnati concrete
May 30th 2019
12:15pm

Still one of my favorite bands out there. Thanks for this amazing review!

Tree Service Vancouver
June 2nd 2019
9:13pm

This was a great read. Thank you again for continuing to post articles like this

Epoxy Floor Coating
June 3rd 2019
7:34am

The mercury needs added focus in regard to ability to support life, and so will other planets.

Rhey
June 4th 2019
12:48pm

Great album review!
demolition contractor in alexandria va

motorcycle dealers tampa
June 5th 2019
7:46am

All the hardwork for making this music for 2 years is so worth it! Congratulations to all those people behind this success. :)

Christy
June 7th 2019
9:33am

Nice article! we have the same rate. Keep it up!

Daniel Perez
June 7th 2019
9:36am

Nice article! we have the same rate. Keep it up!
discoverziehler.com

Joe Pest
June 14th 2019
11:22am

Nice album review!
Joe - pest control ashburn va | pest control manassas va

Michael
June 14th 2019
3:16pm

Love this album! Bug Bros Hutchinson

Horea
June 19th 2019
10:28am

Thank you for this wonderful post! :)

Dumpster For Rent Dayton
June 24th 2019
3:56pm

Love their sound. Older music was always so much better.

Zuraida Oen
June 24th 2019
3:59pm

Love their sound. Older music was always so much better.

Zuraida owner of

<a >Dumpster for rent</a> Dayton

Michael Coleman
June 24th 2019
5:40pm

moving company  if you need a great moving company in Erie Pa or check out Movers Youngstown  if youre in Youngstown Ohio.

renovations canberra
June 28th 2019
9:11am

Great album, I am pretty sure everybody will love this music too.

surrey appliance repair
June 28th 2019
3:54pm

The power of hard work combined with the power of great art speaks volumes here! Mega thankful!

surrey
June 28th 2019
3:55pm

The power of hard work combined with the power of great art speaks volumes here! Mega thankful! Mercury Rev deserves a lot of support.

Cooper
June 30th 2019
4:13am

The Light in You-The line is really touching.Thanks for sharing.

Driving School Fresno
June 30th 2019
12:58pm

Thanks for the post!

sign company near me
July 9th 2019
10:17am

You’ve shared us with your great information! Thanks

Daniel Perez
July 9th 2019
10:19am

You’ve shared us with your great information! Thanks
sign company near me

voyante sérieuse par téléphone
July 11th 2019
5:56am

Waow this is quite pleasant article, my sister love to read such type of post, I am going to tell her and bookmarking this webpage. Thanks

Piano Tuning Fort Worth
July 16th 2019
4:15pm

Fantastic album! Thanks for the review.
Piano Tuning

Kurt Louis
July 17th 2019
1:39pm

Great review! I love this album!
Kurt- https://woodbridgemoldremoval.com | https://treeservicewoodbridgeva.com/

tow truck Decatur IL
July 18th 2019
10:27am

I absolutely loved this album. I can not wait for their new work to be released. It is going to be epic!

Rob Barker
July 18th 2019
8:35pm

I watch their album in youtube yesterday and it was really cool.  am not a great fan of them but songs are really impressive. Thank for sharing this.  click here

Glendale lawn service
July 31st 2019
10:37pm

Great album thanks lawn mowing service

Good
August 1st 2019
9:36am

You have a nice information. Thanks!

social security card application
August 6th 2019
2:08am

Mercury Rev’s album introduces its symphonic melodies which is the most affecting so far.

Darrell
August 6th 2019
2:14am

Mercury Rev’s music after 7 years is like a piece of symphonic music which is most affecting to the listeners. social security card application

click
August 7th 2019
8:18am

My dad super loved their alvum

laserremovalhair
August 11th 2019
4:40am

Helpful article and really nicely explained so thanks a lot.

Top 10 Reasons to get laser hair removal

https://laserremovalhair.com/top-10-reasons-to-get-laser-hair-removal/
Awesome post thanks for sharing!

Jordan CEO,

laserremovalhair
August 11th 2019
4:41am

Helpful article and really nicely explained so thanks a lot.

Top 10 Reasons to get laser hair removal
https://laserremovalhair.com/top-10-reasons-to-get-laser-hair-removal/
Awesome post thanks for sharing!

Jordan CEO,

Gutter Guys
August 12th 2019
1:18pm

Great article, great read and most of all what an inspiring story.  Ice Dams

Cady
August 12th 2019
10:32pm

Still one of the greats!
Cady @ window tint baton rouge

register llc
August 13th 2019
8:01pm

The music is like a product of experimentation with a beautiful music as an end result.

Michael Coleman Vancouver
August 14th 2019
8:03pm

Hey thanks!!

Mountain View Tree Service
August 18th 2019
7:41pm

Love this album!

Seo Cincinnati
August 19th 2019
8:51am

While I like their symphonic attack in most songs, I also can find a psychedelic rock in their songs.

Michael Coleman Vancouver
August 24th 2019
8:37pm

Hi Thanks!!!

Basement Remodeling
August 25th 2019
9:41pm

I cannot believe this site is this amazing. Thanks for the great content!

go to this site
August 30th 2019
12:48am

Hi! This website is so amazing!Very good webpage.thanks alot god blessed…

Thomas Harding
August 30th 2019
7:24pm

Mercury Rev was one of the best pieces of entetainment I had the pleasure of enjoying these past two weeks. Thansk for sharing and an extra thank you from the whole tree service company who I enjoyed this with. Love you guys!

Thomas
August 30th 2019
7:29pm

Thanks for posting this I love you.

visit website
September 2nd 2019
10:58pm

This website has a good article and alot of content.thanks alot god blessed.

System for Award Management
September 3rd 2019
12:31pm

Great post! Looking forward to your next album.
| System for Award Management

Roofer in Nanaimo
September 4th 2019
9:21pm

This is great thanks!!!

Houston Stamped
September 5th 2019
12:02am

Music is the greatest communication in the world. Even if people don’t understand the language that you’re singing in, they still know good music when they hear it.

Music is the greatest communication in the world. Even if people don’t understand the language that you’re singing in, they still know good music when they hear it. Visit Houston Stamped Concrete.

Perfect Interiors and Gifts
September 11th 2019
3:42am

Thanks for this information. Nice work. Perfect Interiors and Gifts.

Spokane Fence
September 11th 2019
2:03pm

Yes, Merucry Rev super good!! Good article.

Event Masters
September 14th 2019
7:23pm

Mercury Rev is one of my all time favorite bands! I will say Radiohead is the gold standard, though. This is a great article reviewing The Light In You, and I’ll make sure to play some of these great songs in my next Lubbock DJ set!

Event Masters DJs
September 19th 2019
11:23am

This was definitely the band’s best album. I’m currently working on my own remix for ‘Sunflower’ to play at my next show. Check out <a >http://www.eventmastersdjservice.com</a>

Removal Services
September 25th 2019
7:46am

Loved Mercury Rev, glad they’re back

see website
September 26th 2019
8:50am

This is perfect thanks

Claire Smith
October 8th 2019
8:05am

I love this article, so informative and useful. I will visit this site very often. Thank you. jobs in new zealand

Cleopatra Pamesa
October 9th 2019
6:21am

I love this asticle very useful and informative, so simple and easy home remedy. Thank you for shairng your ideas. buy and sell online in new zealand

Cristen
October 15th 2019
3:53pm

Just found Mercury Rev on Spotify after reading this article. Can’t wait to check them out on the drive home!
Cristen | Painting West Bloomfield

Carmelo Leonardo
October 16th 2019
9:39pm

Very informative and useful site. Thank you!
More power to your blog. sell property NZ

Taco Catering
October 20th 2019
4:44pm

This sounds like an amazing LP.  Can’t wait to check it out!

Nick
November 6th 2019
4:52am

Thanks for your sincere post

Steven
November 6th 2019
4:55am

thanks for your great info.
<a >Dog Grooming Reno</a>

Berkeley Painters
November 8th 2019
12:34pm

Great article, and great album. Thanks for reminding me of this!

Chicago Home Cleaner
November 18th 2019
10:30pm

This was an amazing album and what an amazing story.

Tree Care
November 20th 2019
10:49am

Thanks! Elk Grove Tree Service 

Roofer
November 20th 2019
10:52am

Excellent album!  Roofing company Citrus Heights 

Solar
November 20th 2019
10:53am

Beautiful music! Great melodies and tunes.
Sacramento Solar panels 

pool service
November 21st 2019
11:03pm

Great album - this is great. Keep rocking.

Morris Blakey
November 29th 2019
5:59pm

Music always keep us alive, whatever you do, your music will continue to inspire us. Keep this blog as inspiring as it is, for the future generations.www.newcastletreeservicepros.com.au/

Chris
December 1st 2019
5:53am

Ah this album is just brilliant, huge mercury rev fan here.
stucco repair fresno

sheera
December 2nd 2019
8:57pm

Such a nice article. I am a music lover, and i enjoy reading this blog.

www.concrete.com/

Towing Company
December 3rd 2019
4:49pm

This was a great album. Let alone when you know the story behind it.

Owner @ Carlisle Towing

patricio
December 6th 2019
9:52am

What a great effort, good article.

Josh
December 8th 2019
10:08pm

Thanks for sharing, this was a great article.
Josh- handyman in San Antonio

Jacksonville NC
December 11th 2019
10:36am

A big fan of Mercury!
Tree service 

Driveway Repair Lakewood CO
December 11th 2019
8:25pm

I agree with the evaluation! Good album

Black Hills Snowmobile Rentals
December 17th 2019
9:10am

This article is amazing

Black Hills Snowmobile Rentals
December 17th 2019
9:11am

Thank you for sharing. Don Black Hills ATV rentals