Mingus Ah Um [Legacy Edition] | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, June 24th, 2024  

Charles Mingus

Mingus Ah Um [Legacy Edition]

Columbia/Legacy

May 29, 2009 Charles Mingus Bookmark and Share


NOTE: Most musicologists agree that 1959 was to jazz what 1967 was to rock ‘n’ roll (and, subsequently, music-milestone marketing). For whatever reason, cosmic or otherwise, its heaviest hitters were all swinging in peak form. Here’s a brief list: Thelonious Monk: The Thelonious Monk Orchestra at Town Hall; Ornette Coleman: The Shape of Jazz to Come; John Coltrane: Giant Steps; Miles Davis: Kind of Blue; Duke Ellington: Jazz Party; Charles Mingus: Mingus Ah Um; The Dave Brubeck Quartet: Time Out; and Ray Charles: The Genius of Ray Charles. Columbia Records was lucky enough to have waxed a few of those watersheds and is now presenting them in 50th anniversary editions as part of its “1959 - Jazz’s Greatest Year” reissue campaign. Under the Radar examines three of those titles.

Mingus was one prolific motherfucker in jazz’s greatest year. That February he was bunkered in New York’s Atlantic Studios whipping up Blues & Roots for the Ertegun brothers. Three months later he tromped off to 30th Street to drop Mingus Ah Um in time to be lugged by college swellheads to off-campus soirees. That November he was back in the studio yet again, prepping Mingus Dynasty for the new decade.

This Columbia reissue, combining Mingus Ah Um with its 1960 follow-up and assorted related leftovers, essentially accounts for the bassist’s creative whereabouts in 1959 (although if you’re interested in his extracurricular pursuits, I highly recommend his colorful 1971 memoir, Beneath the Underdog). The conundrum, of course, is that the presentation is too overwhelming for the casual fan and the diehard already owns this stuff, down to the last vault morsel. Unless they’re PDF freaks, masochistic completists, or genuinely interested in reissue producer Michael Cuscuna’s perspective on the albums, jazz heads are advised to let sleeping wallets lie. Neophytes would be better off buying Mingus Ah Um as a stand-alone and holding off on Dynasty. It’s a meatier disc sonically, but lacks its predecessor’s freewheeling joie de vivre.

Of course, that’s not Dynasty‘s fault. Ah Um casts quite a, um, shadow. It’s damn near perfect, opening with “Better Git It in Your Soul,” one of the slammingest statements of intent to ever spin at 33 1/3. The assembled cook at an exuberant temperature, driven by Mingus’ on-off-mike shouts of coarse, exuberant joy. “Oh, yeah!” he barks at strategic intervals. (The exclamation/trademark would later grace a ‘62 LP.) While Mingus encourages, drummer Dannie Richmond commands, insistent behind the kit. Tributes abound in the Lester Young eulogy “Goodbye Pork Pie Hat,” featuring John Handy’s tenor sax aching through a spectral mist, the Morton nod “Jelly Roll,” and an “Open Letter to Duke” scrawled to Mr. Ellington, whose “Mood Indigo” and “Things Ain’t What They Used to Be” were Mingus-stamped on Dynasty.

The famous “Fables of Faubus” has outpaced the legacy of its name-checked target, Arkansas governor Orval Faubus, who in 1957 used National Guardsmen to prevent a group of black students from entering Little Rock High School then shut down the entire city’s school system for the 1958-59 academic year (great time for jazz, not so much for America). The horn section sounds simultaneously scornful and amused, with Mingus’ defiant thumps mocking its gasbag subject. “Pussy Cat Dues” enters a Basin Street bordello on Jimmy Knepper’s trombone prowl; Horace Parlan wiggles his ivory eyebrows, digging through his pockets for cash.

Dynasty just can’t compete with all that color, despite its curious sleeve depiction of Mingus in Oriental garb: Ming Dynasty, geddit? The bassist audaciously augments his sound with vibes, cellos, and flutes, but they seem out of place—too grand, too serious. (Richard Williams’ muted trumpet, however, is a nice touch.) “Slop” takes a stab at Ah Um‘s “Git It” and slips on its own sweat. Its counterpoint “Diane” is a quite lovely dance between Mingus and pianist Roland Hanna. The most notable nugget about “Gunslinging Bird” is its original title: “If Charlie Parker Were a Gunslinger, There’d be a Whole Lot of Dead Copycats.”

As on most “special” editions, the bonus material is seldom illuminating, largely a passel of alternate takes you might endure once then retire forever. “Better Git It in Your Soul” is interesting in part because you get to hear the horn section finesse through a serious biff; otherwise, the released version is far superior. “Pedal Point Blues,” “GG Train,” and “Girl of My Dreams” were waxed at the Ah Um sessions but add nothing. The best extra is perhaps the Mingus crew backing vocalist Honey “Honi” Gordon on “Strollin’ (Nostalgia in Times Square)” during the recording of Dynasty. The track wasn’t used and in fact went unheard for two-plus decades, but Gordon and Mingus occasionally unpacked it live. In any case, one can only hope that when Mingus finally flipped the calendar past the greatest year in jazz, dude hit the mattress for a well-deserved nap. (www.mingusmingusmingus.com)

Author rating: 9/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

wallets
October 6th 2009
12:19pm

The track wasn’t used and in fact went unheard for two-plus decades, but Gordon and Mingus occasionally unpacked it live. In any case, one can only hope that when Mingus finally flipped the calendar past the greatest year in jazz, dude hit the mattress for a well-deserved nap.

software college
November 26th 2009
9:40am

For what reason a group of black students from entering Little Rock High School then shut down the entire city’s school system..

electronic income tax filing
January 9th 2010
9:41am

On face book, when you decide to deactivate your account, does it delete all your info and friends and pictures, electronic income tax filingor does it just hold it the way it is until you activate it.

online car insurance
April 14th 2010
7:02pm

Charles Mingus was a 20th century jazz musician whose reputation as a great bassist is matched by his influence as a great composer of what has been called “orchestral jazz

Insurance Quotes
June 13th 2010
7:39am

I’m rates this story 10 from 10. Best history

Insurance Quotes
June 13th 2010
7:41am

I’m rates this story 10 from 10. Best history about Charles Mingus, this man has done much for history of music. I’m kazz man

used car for woman
June 29th 2010
7:06am

Is Columbia University considered a prestigious school internationally?

Insurance reviews
August 25th 2010
6:14pm

How much is car insurance? im 15 and im planning on getting a car when i can drive. or my parents are going to buy me a car, and i want a scion tc. it has 2 doors and my parents said the insurance would be expensiver. So how much is a 2 door insurance? because i want the scion TC but if its expensive then my parents won’t buy me it :[
Insurance reviews

Insurance reviews
August 30th 2010
4:56pm

I am planning to buy a used 1992 Honda Prelude for $2,700.00. How does the insurance work? Does the price of the car that I paid or the retail price, plays as a factor of how much I would have to pay monthly for insurance. What insurance company would be the best for a new driver with her G2 only? Does anybody have an idea of how much it will cost me (approximately monthly) for the insurance? What other fees or cost will I have to pay for?

best antiperspirant for women
September 7th 2010
12:57am

Thanks to the post must read.

Insurance reviews
September 23rd 2010
5:54pm

With car insurance, you can forego the expenses incurred in repairing the vehicle. This is especially beneficial because the costs of repairs can sometimes be overwhelming, especially if the expenditure is unforeseenInsurance reviews

car insurance quotes
February 4th 2011
7:17am

Charles Mingus is such a legend, unfortunatly no as many people know about him as I would like. Good read.

Quick quid
March 29th 2011
12:41pm

As a double bass player, Charles Mingus commanded an awesome technique and was thoroughly conversant with all styles of jazz extant during his lifetime.

Best Divorce Lawyers
July 13th 2011
10:24am

Nice story.

sample personal statements
July 27th 2011
6:44am

Through the years the orchestral jazz still being preserved as part of historical culture of musical phenomenon. And all these was made possible with our famous musical artists.

Nina32MCCLURE
September 23rd 2011
3:52pm

Do you acknowledge that it is correct time to receive the personal loans, which will help you.

LawsonKristen19
October 9th 2011
12:16am

If you are willing to buy a house, you will have to receive the credit loans. Furthermore, my mother usually utilizes a car loan, which is really useful.

LaraJeanie35
December 30th 2011
4:10am

When you are in the corner and have no money to go out from that, you would have to take the business loans. Because it will aid you emphatically. I get bank loan every year and feel OK because of this.

Corina34Mathis
February 28th 2012
9:37am

Don’t have money to buy some real estate? You should not worry, because it is available to get the loans to solve such kind of problems. Hence get a consolidation loan to buy everything you need.

Andrew Yan
February 29th 2012
9:30am

Hey! Thanks for sharing once again. I love checking out your blog for the rationale that you always write informative posts. Well written article…I plan to bookmark your web site. I believe I shall subscribe to this feed as well.

Andrew Kor
February 29th 2012
9:31am

Hey! Thanks for sharing once again. I love checking out your blog for the rationale that you always write informative posts.
Charles Mingus is the best music artist

McgeeLourdes19
August 15th 2012
5:52pm

I took my first loan when I was 25 and this supported my family very much. But, I need the student loan once again.

Finley31Pansy
June 22nd 2013
5:20am

Expert academic writing service is possible, if you go up here and buy a research paper from the recommended team of writers.

HOFFMANHerminia
June 29th 2013
3:20pm

Buy custom essays from top-notch company and acquire help with research paper. Follow this link and all your difficulties will disappear.

EnidMENDEZ20
July 2nd 2013
10:02pm

But if you wish to save your time and take care of your own business, you are able to receive research essays help from custom writing service, so don’t hesitate and come to their Internet site.

PhyllisHoffman
July 3rd 2013
12:49am

Do not get the ways to format your term paper? Do not worry and simply buy online papers. These professional writers can do all following your instructions.

Susana21Mcclure
July 7th 2013
6:55pm

If you want to buy a car, you would have to receive the mortgage loans. Moreover, my sister always uses a short term loan, which occurs to be the most firm.

LethaFrye23
July 10th 2013
11:34pm

Check here if you are hunting for a bona fide writing centre. Get custom writing uk from highly skilled writers.

Stafford34Jodie
July 11th 2013
7:23am

There’re a lot of ways to solve your academic research essays composing troubles. However, the most reasonable is to buy examples of research papers.

Justice Essay
July 14th 2013
11:29am

Buy Ethics Essay according to your instructions written by expert writers and derive pleasure from writing process.

KelleyDickerson
July 14th 2013
11:46am

Order Definition Essay>, save your time and take care of your own business while competent writers take care of your writing work.