Lab Partners: Moonlight Music (Pravda) | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, April 17th, 2024  

Lab Partners

Moonlight Music

Pravda

May 02, 2010 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


For those who pine for the heyday of shoegaze glory, the dosed spring still flows freely in Dayton, Ohio. Lab Partners have been at it since 1998, long enough to have actually started back when the vapor trails of their antecedents were ruptured but still visible, and their third album, Moonlight Music, plays like a connection to the original bloodline.

Singer/guitarist Mike Smith and guitarist Mike Volk dig deep for a healthy range of sounds, from acoustic strums to fuzzy chords to precision leads and even some sitar, enabling them to take some songs into spacey territory while echoing trippy ‘60s pop on others. Drummer Kevin Vaughn keeps things nicely fluid, while Amy Smith plays keyboards that sub for bass by exploring the low end of their sound while otherwise adding extra dimension to the guitar layers.

It’s easy to play connect-the-dots here, as flashes of such bands as My Bloody Valentine and Spiritualized surface and fade. None of that would matter, however, if Moonlight Music didn’t contain a group of memorable songs that enabled its makers to establish an interstellar outpost all their own. (www.labpartners.net)

Author rating: 6/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

leslie
May 3rd 2010
4:26pm

not as good as their ealier albums, tends to drag towards the end.

seattlesun
May 5th 2010
6:53pm

I agree, this isn’t like the old lab partners. tends to sound more metal than shoegaze. becomes redundant and boring. oh well, another 15 bucks wasted

dave
May 6th 2010
11:17pm

reminds me more of daystar. i’d agree it rocks more like the verve or swervedriver instead of mbv.

Ashen32
May 7th 2010
1:14am

Brilliant!!!

K28linden
May 7th 2010
2:27pm

Cool stuff!

drougan
May 7th 2010
4:33pm

Great review of a great band!

s.jman23
June 28th 2011
2:14pm

Why am I just learning about these guys? Love it!

kevin
October 4th 2011
4:08pm

sucks

Stan
October 31st 2011
2:24pm

Uh, Kevin is not happy! LOL

I dig the Lab Partners.

Valdez33Carissa
January 4th 2012
1:28pm

Following my analysis, millions of persons in the world get the loans at good creditors. Thus, there’s a good chance to find a student loan in all countries.

RosarioRoberta35
February 18th 2012
10:24pm

I strictly recommend not to wait until you get enough amount of cash to order all you need! You should take the mortgage loans or just college loan and feel comfortable

Online Dissertation Writers
April 16th 2012
12:15am

Very nice posting. Good concepts embraced. Enjoy your website. cheap dissertation Have a great time.

william
July 12th 2012
12:31pm

boring live show.

toddc
July 20th 2012
3:39pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VU4Bp6Ll0LU

toddc
July 20th 2012
4:50pm

youtube.com/watch?v=VU4Bp6Ll0LU

FlemingJenifer26
September 23rd 2012
5:37am

It is known that money makes people independent. But what to do when someone does not have money? The one way only is to receive the mortgage loans and commercial loan.

CELESTEMcdaniel
May 21st 2013
6:48am

Houses and cars are expensive and not everybody can buy it. However, mortgage loans was created to support different people in such kind of hard situations.