Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Mosquito (Interscope) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 26th, 2021  

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Mosquito

(Interscope)

Apr 23, 2013 Yeah Yeah Yeahs Bookmark and Share


Say what you will about Yeah Yeah Yeahs, but you can’t deny they’re consistent. For 13 years, the New York trio has been propelling their double-jointed brand of hyperventilating punk throbs and tender balladry without feeling the need to change tack. Even when they polish up a mainstream sheen, as they did with 2008’s It’s Blitz!, they’re unable to stray from their career-defining blueprint.

Despite this whiff of predictability, it’s impossible to tire of Karen O and Co. They retain the capacity to thrill, either through a barrage of stabbing guitars or the tear-stained laments that launch O into full seductive purr. While their mid-2000s contemporaries quickly lost the knack of kicking out a tune, Yeah Yeah Yeahs have continued to produce the goods.

It’s no surprise then to find album number four, Mosquito, venturing down the same path as its predecessors. Throughout this 11-track affair, the band’s grotty and occasionally indulgent motifs are in full swing, with discordant throttles like “Area 51” crashing against the cushioned canticle of “Wedding Song” and slumbering disco groove “These Paths.”

For once, it’s these nocturnal slow-burners that hog much of the limelight. These days O’s aging intone appears more comfortable winding through the dark rumbling of “Slave” than buzzing (quite literally) across the title track’s crotch-charged cranks. Her snug-fit delivery over “Buried Alive” serves greater purpose, ensuring Dr. Octagon’s scattershot rhyming isn’t misplaced in such unfamiliar territory.

As ever, moments of filler rear their head and the lithe beach acoustics of “Always” are a particularly rough ride. But the occasional lemon is made more palatable by Nick Zinner’s wiry guitar and the swaying gospel harmonies that transform “Sacrilage” into an enthralling album high. For all their consistency, it’s good to know Yeah Yeah Yeahs remain capable of pulling off the unexpected. (www.yeahyeahyeahs.com)

Author rating: 7.5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 6/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

essays agency
May 6th 2019
2:56am

It’s an opportunity with a sketchy future. I think the vast majority come here for network, and not to partake either purposely or unwittingly in some gigantic information accumulation procedure to fuel the up and coming web of things transformation. Beyond any doubt there are potential benefits however without legitimate oversight and guidelines there are definitely going to be those eager to misuse the information for individual increase.

Thinking of it as is a stage to uncover people groups lives, their accounts, there pictures, their feelings, their day by day lives. With others, one would think protection isn’t the clients’ objective.

Andrew
July 2nd 2019
1:03am

I love them a lot !!

Frank (Grill Ace)
September 18th 2019
12:13pm

It’s fun to look back at this. Wonder what and how they’re doing now…

walmart hours
October 19th 2019
1:20am

I am definitely enjoying your website. You definitely have some great insight and great stories.

walmart pharmacy hours today
October 21st 2019
1:54am

Thanks for updating with this sort of information. I am adopting your blog for further information in the future.

Hannah Blake
November 21st 2019
12:56am

When you seek academic scholarship or want to apply for a grant, you have to write a research proposal. You will have to show that your ideas are fresh and new and also it would be better if you followed the recommendations in the next guideline https://primeessay.org/assistance-in-research-proposal-writing.html

teatv
January 12th 2020
4:49am

what a post i am amazed to gather this information

COVID19IND ORG
March 29th 2020
4:21am

What a fantastic post!This is so chock full of useful information.
I can’t wait to dig deep and start utilizing the resources you have given me.
Thanks again for sharing

William A. Becraft
August 7th 2020
5:46am

The post is good. It looks at the Yeah Yeah Yeahs Mosquito. People are tired of Mosquitoes. It spreads some serious health issues to people, and they wish to remove mosquitoes at any cost. The content mentions that the New York trio has been pushing their double-jointed brand of hyperventilating punk throbs and tender balladry without feeling the need to alter tack.

EssaysWriters.com
December 9th 2020
9:17am

Welcome to the premier essays online source of custom written papers, professional proofreading and editing services. We have been in the business for many years, and have built a reputation for quality, integrity, and honesty in providing academic writing to students at all levels in their academic studies.

EssaysWriters.com provides premier essays, term and research papers, book reviews, theses and dissertations, and virtually any other type of written assignment a student may need. We have built our business through customer loyalty and consistent referral from our customers to others. No task is too small, too simple, too complex, too unique, or too unusual for our perfect essay writers. Students choose us over and over again because we do not let them down and offer guarantees that no other service can provide.