Rose City | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, October 6th, 2022  

Issue #26 Spring 2009 - Bat For LashesViva Voce

Rose City

Barsuk

Jun 26, 2009 Issue #26 Spring 2009 - Bat For Lashes Bookmark and Share


Although their previous effort, Get Yr Blood Sucked Out, was an admirable showcase of Anita Robinson’s guitar-shredding psychedelic rock assault, the album itself worked like most Viva Voce releases: an unfocused mishmash of styles simultaneously shot out of a cannon onto a canvas Jackson Pollock- style. Husband and wife duo Kevin and Anita Robinson’s habit of throwing in everything and the kitchen sink (with varied results) is something Viva Voce has been slowly shedding with each successive release. Rose City is not only the most unified album of Viva Voce’s career, but it also contains the Robinsons’ strongest collection of tracks.

Perhaps the largest change in the Viva Voce repertoire is the addition of Corrina Repp and Evan Railton. Since the Robinsons have always released albums that sounded like a full band, it only makes sense they actually became one. Thankfully the overwhelming psychedelic histrionics have been reined in here, lending Rose City a more streamlined darkly sinister atmosphere, filled with nefarious jangly hooks and resonating atmospherics, consistently supporting the intertwined harmonies. A throbbing bass line combined with Anita’s howling guitar hooks and Kevin’s cool-as-ice vocal delivery make “Catch and Release” the most addictively thrilling rock track the band has ever recorded. Unfortunately, there isn’t another rocker on Rose City that can truly live up to it, which is probably why Viva Voce decided to delve further into darker blue-motel-laced slow burners such as the gorgeous reverberating twang of “Red Letter Day” or the heavenly harmonies of the sparse “Midnight Sun.” Spartan is perhaps the best word to describe Rose City. All the unnecessary bells, whistles, and kitchen sinks have been stripped away, leaving the tracks room to breathe freely. Instead of bombarding the listener, Viva Voce has finally learned the invaluable lesson of how to engage them. (www.vivavoce.com)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 2/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

KG
June 26th 2009
10:00pm

I saw them play in Austin a few weeks ago. The new stuff is awesome, and they played beautifully.  My favorite track is “Slow Fade,” a single tear streamed down my face when they played it. So good.

Robert
February 2nd 2010
8:09am

I have been having problems with my kitchen sink being clogged.stainless kitchen sink I have used Draino,plunged it and all. Nothing seems to be working. The whole sink fills up to the top with water within a few minutes.How can I unclog a kitchen sink?

payday loans
March 15th 2010
12:16am

Whats a good topic to do a viva voce for the music 1 hsc course? I thought about talking about hop

Home food storage
December 6th 2010
4:26am

Nowadays kitchen sinks are made from materials such as of porcelain, stainless steel or copper. The copper sink that most people desire for their kitchens, dates back to ancient times and this art form has passed down through several generations along with various varieties of artistic copper work and contemporary designs.Home food storage

WaltersSABRINA
June 8th 2011
6:33am

The loan are very useful for people, which want to start their own company. As a fact, it is not very hard to receive a financial loan.

Pharme343
April 6th 2012
9:41am

Hello! dbfdgfg interesting dbfdgfg site! I’m really like it! Very, very dbfdgfg good!

Pharmc520
April 8th 2012
1:44am

Hello! fcdbefe interesting fcdbefe site! I’m really like it! Very, very fcdbefe good!

Lindsey22Robert
April 29th 2012
1:18pm

Do you recognize that it is correct time to get the personal loans, which can realize your dreams.

Pharmg80
June 12th 2012
3:02pm

Hello! abefbdb interesting abefbdb site! I’m really like it! Very, very abefbdb good!

Kimberley19MURRAY
March 23rd 2013
5:02pm

Different men need to resolve different problems such as terrorism. Everything those troubles seem to be hard to manage with. However, if you have got academic papers writing problems, you will have nothing to worry about. You should just buy an essay and cope with all your troubles.

WEBSTERJanell
May 17th 2013
6:40pm

People in every country receive the mortgage loans from different banks, just because it’s simple and comfortable.

POWELLKimberly
August 8th 2013
8:07pm

Check this link for detailed information about how to buy an essay online and trust us you will get the most superb results when you check on our custom essay writing service.