Shopping: The Official Body (FatCat) Review | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, December 4th, 2022  

Shopping

The Official Body

FatCat

Jan 18, 2018 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


With their near-trademark sparse rhythmic urgency, Shopping are the beating heart of London’s DIY scene in more ways than one. Marred by the closing of Power Lunchesthe DIY hub wherein all their previous work had been writtenand the relocation of drummer Andrew Milk, The Official Body was no doubt an album that forced Shopping to reconsider the dynamics of the band.

And yet, it’s a record that acts as a concise encapsulation of the band’s sound: the rhythmic urgency, the sparse production (courtesy of Orange Juice’s Edwyn Collins), the narrow guitar interplay; “The Official Body” plays a perfect post-punk blueprint at breakneck speed, to great effect. It’s a record that finds Shopping transcending a difficult set of circumstances to create a standout album. (www.fat-cat.co.uk/artist/shopping)

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 5/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

gogoanime
January 26th 2018
12:18am

How nice! Thank you

ankit941
February 23rd 2018
10:52pm

Great product I am a big fan of this type of the ever green website which always include option related to the current type of the http://changeringtoneinwindows10mobile.com update like the change in the setting of the windows mobile.

rush essay
June 11th 2018
8:38am

Nice reviews I have received for shopping the official body magazines. Then we will get many more values to introduce better resources and essay online topics.

roblox hack
September 10th 2018
5:12am

Really great post dear.

cgtechworld
May 13th 2019
6:45am

“The Official Body” plays a perfect post-punk blueprint at breakneck speed, to great effect.

swala
August 10th 2019
2:53am

Marred by the closing of Power Lunches—the DIY hub wherein all their previous work had been written—and the relocation of drummer Andrew Milk,

jex skat
October 15th 2019
3:10am

London’s DIY scene in more ways than one. Marred by the closing of Power Lunches—the DIY hub wherein all their previous work had been written

nicholascretors
January 28th 2020
6:52am

Thanks for sharing which contains some beautiful songs. Melodious music helps us to keep our body and mind fresh and mentally satisfied.This is very useful for the graduate and post graduate students for their PhD. and master degree. I take my research in computer science you could visit this site https://www.aresearchguide.com/write-my-research-paper.html for writing research paper about different types of topics.Many students around the world are getting opportunities from this platform so they can get connected with latest album around the world

Daina
January 28th 2020
9:18am

Really great idea!

fundacja-helios.pl
July 3rd 2020
1:13pm

Greetings! Very helpful advice within this
post! It is the little changes that produce the greatest changes.

Many thanks for sharing!