Cinema Review: The Miseducation of Cameron Post | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 15th, 2024  

The Miseducation of Cameron Post

Studio: FilmRise
Directed by Desiree Akhavan

Aug 31, 2018 Issue #64 -  Kamasi Washington
Bookmark and Share


After being caught in flagrante delicto with a high school girlfriend, teenage Cameron (Chloë Grace Moretz) is sent to live at a gay conversion camp by her overzealously religious guardians with hopes that they’ll be able to, as they say, “pray the gay away.” Cameron’s fellow inmates have varying attitudes about their internment: some earnestly wish to be “cured,” while others—like her—view it as a grotesque punishment and long for their lives off the campgrounds. In spite of their unusual circumstances, Chloe forms a tight circle of new friends—and together they find ways to resist their Christian captors.

A conversion camp is one of the most unusual settings for a coming-of-age film we’ve seen in some time, but The Miseducation of Cameron Post can almost be viewed as much as an unintentional horror movie. The sense of confinement is very real, frightening, and hopeless-feeling, in a vein similar to One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest or The Shawshank Redemption. (The camp’s overseer, played by Jennifer Ehle, is like a youth pastor Nurse Ratched.) There are a few clichés which can be seen coming for miles, but Miseducation is otherwise chilling.

(filmrise.com/film/the-miseducation-of-cameron-post)

Author rating: 6.5/10

Rate this movie
Average reader rating: 3/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Truth In Media
September 2nd 2018
1:46am

British depopulation scheme propaganda movie and book aimed at depopulating and disarming America, its old enemy, being deceptively marketed as an American movie and book made in America by Americans. It was never published or released in America. This movie is British BULLCRAP!! DO NOT WATCH EVER!!

Assignment Help
February 18th 2019
1:52am

this is great information I love to see more post from you.

Lisa Woods
May 31st 2019
10:00am

Great movie about the difficult life of students. I’m in College so I was especially interested to see the film. By the way, if you have difficulties with writing academic papers, then you can visit the website of superior essays service right now and make a trial order. I have been using this service for a long time to make my life a little easier.

Lesley Newton
June 26th 2019
1:56pm

I think those kids love living their lives and don’t carry about their education. ​I had that problem recently. Good friends advised me to find help at https://edureviewer.com/services/studymoose-com-review/​ and finally with their services we managed to improve my academic performance.

Margaret Berck-Brown
July 31st 2019
11:46am

I was interested in the conception of miseducation. Nowadays most of the students are miseducated in the authentic meaning, so they’re not disciplined enough. It’s not a problem, because nowadays there are a lot of opportunities and narrow specialties, so formal education is not so important as it was in the last century. But still, there are a lot of people who want to get a degree, but there are a lot of classes that require assignments (read: time-wasters). That’s why so many students buy essay papers to free some time to obtain really useful skills for their further careers. Thanks for the information about this movie, BTW.

ziyyara language
April 5th 2021
11:47pm

Join Live 1-on-1 Online Language Class with Ziyyara

Jann Bordia
August 27th 2021
1:13am

Nice article https://www.toppr.com/guides/english/writing/essay/

Jann Bordia
August 27th 2021
1:14am

Nice article