Tracey Thorn: Record (Merge) Review | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, August 11th, 2022  

Tracey Thorn

Record

Merge

Mar 01, 2018 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Produced by Ewan Pearson, Tracey Thorn’s first album of new original material in seven years is largely mid-tempo synth-pop. Opening track “Queen” is very good, though while the nature of the song is one of an anthem, the production and delivery are restrained. Not that this doesn’t work, but there’s the sense it could be so much more. “Air” features lovely backing vocals from Shura, and the epic eight minutes plus breathy minor key “Sister” sees Warpaint’s rhythm section and Corinne Bailey Rae guesting. “Guitar” is a perfect little pop song about teenage love and pop dreams, conveying in its two-minutes-thirty-four-seconds all the magic one can conjure using only those two ingredients.

Things slow down a little for the lovely church organ and flanged percussion of “Go,” which deals with the inevitability of a child leaving home, but could just as easily be sung from lover to parting lover. Speaking of children, the most blippy uptempo number on the album is the ode to choosing when you want to reproduce, “Babies.” “Face” treads similar territory to “Go,” a love story in the digital age which contains the most emotive vocals and music on the album. Record is solid, without a bad song on it, though with that said, aside from “Queen,” “Guitar,” and “Go,” not much really stands out. (www.traceythorn.com)

Author rating: 5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

essay writing services
March 2nd 2018
5:43am

Guitar” is an ideal minimal pop tune about adolescent love and pop dreams, passing on in its two-minutes-thirty-four-seconds all the enchantment one can invoke utilizing just those two fixings. Things back off a little for the exquisite church organ. Essay Bird is the best essay writing and assignment service company in the UK.

Law assignment help
March 19th 2018
5:28am

Why this association reinforces or debilitates the hypermetrical progress.

bodyboss method review
July 20th 2018
3:17am

i was gladly amazed by how you had built this website especially your articles written.

pay someone for writing help
August 13th 2018
6:21am

As I gave the case previously, if I somehow happened to transpose myself into that time, recognizing what I knew today and portraying things, I couldn’t depict the things which were depicted. I see no proof for the reality to disprove the idea that this individual, Muhammad, must build up this data from some place.

best water heater reviews
January 7th 2019
6:23am

There comes a time in our life in which one of our daily use appliance has to be replaced, whether it is a microwave, oven, kitchen stove and even our beloved water heater.

redlobster survey
February 13th 2019
10:49pm

Red Lobster welcomes its customers to participate in the survey where they are free to share their genuine opinions.

write my term paper
October 15th 2019
2:20pm

Writing any type of academic essays requires great mastery of subject under investigation. Before you start writing an essay, prepare thoroughly. By clicking on the title you can read reliable tips to get you started on how to write a term paper.

do you need a box spring
October 26th 2019
2:22am

After 8 years as a sleep expert in a couple of mattress stores and seeing thousands of people experiences with many brands, he decided to write and put all of these years of experience into help guides so others can make the right decision when buying sleep products without having to suffer sleepless nights as a result of choosing the wrong mattress.

write my entrepreneurship assignment
March 24th 2020
3:36am

Compose my brand new paper, informative article on line, receive premium excellent write my entrepreneurship assignment, appraisal assistance and assignment writing services.

mykfcexperience survey code
June 28th 2020
12:30am

one of my favourite record

cipd tips
August 8th 2021
1:51pm

It’s hard to find educated people about this subject, however,
you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks