Thao & the Get Down Stay Down: We the Common (Ribbon Music) | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, April 22nd, 2024  

Issue #44 - Best of 2012 - GrimesThao & The Get Down Stay Down

We the Common

Ribbon Music

Feb 06, 2013 Thao & The Get Down Stay Down Bookmark and Share


Thao Nguyen and her backing band return with something bigger and better here, after Nguyen spent a year settling down and building a non-transient life in San Francisco. The album title speaks directly to her experience of becoming part of a community and doing her part. Also implied is an artistic leap beyond that geographic or cultural adjustment, from more stylistic pursuits to introspective, life-revealing stuff.

Nguyen’s rich, harmonic voice is up to the task, carrying with it the weight of more years than she’s lived, and effortlessly mumbling and swinging around these compositions. She’s got a great mellow delivery, paired nicely with some singular guitar/banjo playingoften a rather percussive approach, other times revealing more classic blues-based chops.

Stylistically, Nguyen wavers, her off-kilter pop bringing to mind Tom Waits (and his longtime guitarist buddy Marc Ribot), collaborators like Laura Viers, contemporary iconoclasts like Fiona Apple (Nguyen has a similar timbre and command over her vocal dynamics), or even the Stones at their more ramshackle moments.

Indie producer du jour John Congleton focuses that loose and understated approach with snappy live production and a great bag of tricksroom mics galore, earbud-friendly panning, and dynamic vocal effects. The horn production should get a specific call-out for being perfectly tight and mellow. Congleton’s at the top of his game these days-nice timing that Nguyen is as well.

“We the Common (for Valerie Bolden)” opens up with all kinds of swagger. Its namesake is an inmate at a women’s prison whom Nguyen met through nonprofit advocacy work, and with the song, she channels some tragedy and frustration into a wicked wordless chorus hook. “City” follows up with some of Nguyen’s great guitar work, all plucky and cyclical percussive fingerpicks, paired with a mechanically funky beat, xylophone accents, and hooks aplenty for some killer party pop.

“Holy Roller” was the first tune Nguyen wrote for this outing, and in a way, it sums up most of the tunes presented here: personal lyrics, swinging rhythms, easy and eminently catchy melodies, modest but textured arrangements, and an all-around good-times, life’s-all-right vibe. Big ol’ choruses that go down easy. (www.thaoandthegetdownstaydown.com)

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 2/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

alex
May 17th 2015
11:09pm

thank for your sharing, good article

Bruce
July 28th 2016
2:44pm

This is such a nice post, thanks for sharing with us !

Nick
August 21st 2016
9:02pm

Great article, thanks for the great write up!

Gerald
August 25th 2016
10:14am

Their music is a hidden gem. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Nick
September 13th 2016
5:05am

Really cool article, thanks so much

Tom
September 18th 2016
11:40am

Great article. Your writing style is unique

Alberto Hurst
September 25th 2016
1:00pm

This is some great news for their audience, Thanks for sharing this article with us. Appreciated!!

Gaming earbuds
September 27th 2016
4:41am

Good post, J. Pace. Thanks for sharing.

Christopher Lloyd
October 13th 2016
1:19pm

The band also composed and performed the soundtrack for the 2011 film, American Teacher.

Masha
October 13th 2016
8:56pm

Thanks for email me this article,interesting to read.

All the best
Masha

John Snow
February 20th 2017
11:11am

Well this is Interesting, We the Common, thanks for sharing !

Tony
March 2nd 2017
2:30pm

Thanks for sharing this great information with us.

Ryan
March 30th 2017
1:20am

Pretty awesome band. I usually take a listen to them on my way to work.

Noticery
April 13th 2017
9:33am

“Holy Roller” — the BEST, in my opinion!!

Steve Miller
June 12th 2017
3:43am

Great Article Thanks for sharing this with us

Frank
April 5th 2018
2:37am

Nice sharing post. Keep sharing more post.

Thanks,

Crossfit
May 20th 2018
3:07am

I’m not sure the place you are getting your information, but good topic. I must spend some time learning much more or working out more. Thanks for wonderful information I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

Clenbuterol
August 6th 2018
12:50pm

This band is really a rocking band.

Richard Frost
September 4th 2018
2:06pm

Thanks for providing such a informative article to us. Keep up the good work.

Steve Smith
September 4th 2018
2:07pm

Really Cool piece of content. Thanks.

Dead Trigger Hack
November 5th 2018
10:16am

Much appreciated with the nice effort you have placed in such an efficient manner.

talha
January 16th 2019
12:09pm

I see the greatest contents on your blog and I extremely love reading them.

hungry shark world hacked apk
January 30th 2019
9:20am

Much appreciated keep it up, with nice an steady speed.

Most Powerful Lithium Jump Starter
January 30th 2019
9:21am

With these things in mind, we can grow a lot

nice one keep going

ALEXDER
July 25th 2019
3:50am

Great article with an excellent idea! Thank you for such a valuable article. I really appreciate for this great information.

ExpressVPN Crack
August 23rd 2019
8:05am

Thanks for sharing nice information. I like it so much. Keep it up.

ExpressVPN Crack

Hamza Bhatti
August 30th 2019
11:47pm

I am Sharing

Asif
September 15th 2019
7:34am

Thanks for sharing.

Davinci Resolve 15 Crack

Best Outdoor Dog Kennels
October 25th 2019
4:55am

Best Outdoor Dog Kennels


It is your sole concern to think of a better way to confine your pet dog inside a kennel but of course, you must ensure that the dog kennel must be able to fully serve its purpose. Outdoor kennels must not allow your pet dogs to wander away during the night and become a nuisance to the neighborhood. It is important that you take full responsibility in keeping your dog away from troubles and employing dog kennels is an ultimate solution.

Kim60
November 22nd 2019
7:36pm

Thank you so much!

The Modern Christmas Tree
December 6th 2019
5:50am

One of the elements in decorating for this holiday is modern Christmas trees and decorations. These are rather large and quite heavy so they resist the harshest weather conditions outdoors. Don’t forget that decorating for this season doesn’t have to stop indoors. You can easily accentuate your outdoors as well. For example, you can add that extra touch to your yard, driveway, patio and your entrance door.

EIFS Stucco Repair
March 12th 2020
11:22pm

So much information, thank you for bringing it to the public.

Good Morning Captions
March 24th 2020
2:38am

Nice Post Thanks for sharing keep writing up

Best Whatsapp Status 2020
March 24th 2020
2:41am

Thank you for suggesting good information and very good.

Best Pc Games
April 17th 2020
11:58pm

Thank you for suggesting good information and very good

Hussain Azher
July 30th 2020
3:30pm

Thanks for sharing beautiful information with us. I hope you will share some more infomation about Nguyen. Please keep sharing


<a herf=“https://apkcracked.net/youtube-apk-for-android/ ‎”>Nguyen</a>

Drywalls
August 5th 2020
4:56pm

Thanks for your review! Really nice to hear someone break down her voice and have a comparisons to others.<a ></a>

nordvpn crack
August 16th 2020
3:14pm

thanks for sharingd

Harold
August 26th 2020
1:16pm

Classic. brining it back.

Hussain Azher
August 28th 2020
1:14pm

Thanks for sharing such beautiful information with us. i hope you will share some more ifo about
Nguyen. please keep sharing
<a herf=“https://apkcracked.net/microsoft-office-2007-crack/”>
Nguyen</a>