Brian Jonestown Massacre: Who Killed Sgt. Pepper? ('a') | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, June 8th, 2023  

The Brian Jonestown Massacre

Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?

'a'

Feb 18, 2010 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Brian Jonestown Massacre was a force to be reckoned with in the late ‘90s, churning out album after album of stoned, ‘60s-flavored garage rock that was retro in the best sense of the word and always beholden to frontman Anton Newcombe’s peculiar anachronistic vision. But the 2000s saw Brian Jonestown Massacre on a consistent downward slide, it the apparent victim of both Newcombe’s creative eccentricities as well as his own self-destructive urges. Seeming like the final nail in the coffin, 2008’s My Bloody Underground was a virtually unlistenable, drugged-out mix of noise and bad-trip psychedelia that marketed itself as some sort of musical statement. Given the mess that was My Bloody Underground, no one could have expected much from the follow up. The album’s title, the cover’s depiction of Jesus in thorny headdress, and song titles like “Lets Go Fucking Mental,” “White Music,” and “Super Fucked,” suggested that Newcombe fell down the rabbit hole once again. But Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?, while not exactly a return to form, is a more successful experimental effort than was My Bloody Underground.

The album marks the return of co-founding guitarist/vocalist Matt Hollywood, and Spaceman 3’s Will Carruthers joins the band on bass, but neither of these facts matters much in the face of the music, which relies heavily on beat-driven atmospherics and dark, danceable feels. The opener, “Tempo 116.7 (reaching for dangerous levels of sobriety)” is a hazy, Indian-flavored daze that defies the “sobriety” suggestion of its title. “Let’s Go Fucking Mental” is hypnotic drum and bass drone with title phrase being repeated ad nauseam. “This Is the First of Your Last Warning (Icelandic)” is a swirling female-sung, beat-driven dance number. “The One” is industrial in flavor, and “Our Time” almost sounds like a Stone Roses outtake from 1989. At over 71 minutes, the album is overlong, but at least it is cohesive. In some weird way, these songsbeat-driven, often sung in a foreign language, and seldom making a whole lot of sensehang together. It’s an exercise in futility trying to get into the musical mind of Anton Newcombe. But at least with Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?, it’s getting a bit more interesting to try. (www.brianjonestownmassacre.com)

Author rating: 5/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 7/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

IRMAFrank25
May 18th 2011
12:29am

Following my own monitoring, millions of persons on our planet receive the mortgage loans from different banks. Thence, there’s good possibilities to receive a sba loan in any country.

BENTONVicki
May 18th 2011
1:55am

One admits that men’s life seems to be not cheap, nevertheless people need money for various issues and not every one earns big sums money. Therefore to get fast mortgage loans and just sba loan should be a correct solution.

LorieClemons34
May 18th 2011
4:27am

I took 1 st credit loans when I was 20 and that helped me a lot. However, I need the collateral loan over again.

HarmonAnnette20
May 18th 2011
5:15am

A lot of specialists tell that business loans help people to live their own way, because they can feel free to buy needed goods. Furthermore, banks offer auto loan for different persons.

PetersonSheila
May 28th 2011
8:22pm

I think that to receive the business loans from creditors you should present a great motivation. Nevertheless, once I have got a term loan, because I wanted to buy a house.

business loans
December 9th 2011
3:57pm

I took my first loan when I was a teenager and that aided my relatives very much. However, I need the collateral loan over again.

credit loans
December 9th 2011
4:45pm

People deserve wealthy life and personal loans or just secured loan would make it much better. Just because freedom is grounded on money.

mortgage loans
December 9th 2011
5:20pm

The personal loans suppose to be essential for guys, which would like to ground their company. In fact, that’s comfortable to get a credit loan.

home loans
December 9th 2011
10:59pm

I guess that to get the personal loans from creditors you ought to have a great motivation. Nevertheless, once I’ve received a term loan, just because I wanted to buy a building.

MaciasDEANN
April 23rd 2012
10:46am

Don’t you understand that this is the best time to get the mortgage loans, which can make you dreams real.

Jacobs29Socorro
April 23rd 2012
11:23am

Lots of specialists say that credit loans aid a lot of people to live the way they want, just because they are able to feel free to buy necessary goods. Moreover, various banks give short term loan for different persons.

JarvisAlisha
April 23rd 2012
12:45pm

If you want to buy a house, you would have to get the loan. Moreover, my father always uses a short term loan, which supposes to be the most rapid.

SharpJONI27
April 23rd 2012
2:45pm

Various people in every country receive the loan from different creditors, because it’s easy and fast.

SamanthaVaughn24
April 23rd 2012
3:27pm

If you are in uncomfortable position and have no money to go out from that, you will have to receive the credit loans. Because it would help you definitely. I take college loan every time I need and feel good because of this.

KateHess25
April 23rd 2012
3:57pm

Do not a lot of money to buy some real estate? You should not worry, because it’s possible to get the business loans to resolve such kind of problems. Therefore get a sba loan to buy all you require.

loans
April 23rd 2012
4:18pm

If you are in not good state and have got no money to move out from that point, you would have to receive the loans. Just because it should aid you unquestionably. I get credit loan every year and feel fine because of that.

CORINE20Benson
April 23rd 2012
4:54pm

If you want to buy a car, you would have to get the mortgage loans. Moreover, my brother all the time utilizes a collateral loan, which supposes to be really firm.

home loans
May 28th 2012
12:49am

One remembers that our life is very expensive, however some people require money for various stuff and not every man gets big sums cash. Therefore to receive some mortgage loans or just car loan should be good way out.

DonnaDavenport23
May 28th 2012
2:56am

This is well known that money makes us free. But what to do if somebody does not have cash? The one way is to receive the credit loans and just auto loan.

home loans
May 28th 2012
4:21am

Do not a lot of money to buy a building? Worry not, just because it’s real to get the personal loans to solve all the problems. Thus get a car loan to buy everything you want.

MaddenAda22
August 20th 2012
7:18pm

I had got a dream to start my own business, however I did not have enough amount of cash to do that. Thank God my colleague said to use the personal loans. Hence I used the commercial loan and realized my desire.

Roberta33Landry
August 20th 2012
11:28pm

When you’re in a not good position and have no cash to move out from that, you will require to receive the personal loans. Because it will help you unquestionably. I take collateral loan every single year and feel great because of that.

MayraBranch31
August 21st 2012
12:25am

All people deserve good life time and mortgage loans or auto loan will make it much better. Because freedom bases on money state.

MurphySelma25
January 15th 2013
6:24pm

If you’re in not good state and have got no cash to get out from that, you will require to receive the business loans. Just because that will help you emphatically. I get small business loan every time I need and feel fine just because of it.

TishaEdwards
June 26th 2013
3:10pm

We value your time that is why we give excellent essays writing! Simply click up here and receive excellent help with research paper!

MOODYHILLARY
June 26th 2013
3:33pm

You should buy essay, if you care just about your career.

BertaMerritt30
June 26th 2013
4:06pm

Searching for essay custom writing assistance? Save your time and visit this Web site to select any papers to buy from the professional team of writers!

MortonChrista33
June 26th 2013
4:34pm

It is undisputable that term papers creating complications worry good students very much. Nonetheless, the problem is not as serious as it supposes to be! Thus, don’t worry about that and turn to academic writing service.

SONJA21Bean
June 26th 2013
5:17pm

We appreciate your time that is why we give good help with essay! Just select this Top Writing Service company and order professional college term papers!

PARKPatricia
June 26th 2013
5:40pm

Success seem to be masked behind closed doors of us. Perfect academic writers can write custom academic papers of extra high standards! So, don’t be upset and write an essay will not withdraw when you wait opting for nothing! Become creative or just write an essay.

Riddle32ADRIAN
June 26th 2013
5:47pm

Have not found reliable essay writing service yet? Consider Top WritingService company to buy an essay from the reputable organisation.

TownsendJayne29
July 4th 2013
10:49am

Are you still seeking for essay help? There is no need to proceed with a search, check this link and buy essay writing and you will never feel sorry.

BairdSherri19
July 4th 2013
11:09am

Are willing to be a successful student? Then, you have to know that successful students buy term paper help and if that’s fits you, you can do the same!

custom writing
July 4th 2013
12:08pm

Are you still looking for wonderful custom writing service? There is no need to proceed with a search, go to the Web page (goldessays.com) and order custom essays and you will never be sorry.

NobleMia21
July 4th 2013
12:46pm

Buy a research paper from professional writers. So if you don’t know how to write your paper, just follow this link and get professional writing service.

SELMASchwartz
July 4th 2013
1:23pm

Purchase written essays from skillful paper writers. So if you lack of skills, just click here and get online essay writing help.

StaceyPoole19
July 4th 2013
1:50pm

Buy essay writing from skillful writers. So if you lack of skills, you only need to look here and get custom writing UK essays.

Hope34Mejia
July 4th 2013
2:02pm

Lately, pupils are overloaded to compose writing assignments, they may visit this website, and get a term paper. Turning to this superb custom paper writing firm sophomores will get essay editing service.

buy critical essays
July 4th 2013
2:32pm

One time my professor advised like: “Don’t cheat”! But I do not have time and buy essay (goldessays.com).

essay writing services
July 6th 2013
8:22pm

Visit Essays Service firm to reveal more about how to buy papers online and get the best of our marvelous company when it comes to best essays writing.

DurhamNatalie35
July 6th 2013
8:50pm

Don’t place confidence in every single essay service that advises to buy essay papers. Buy essay online from bureau which cooperates with talented wordsmiths.

EdnaFOX30
July 6th 2013
9:55pm

Visit ESSAYSSERVICE firm as the information available could help you when you agree to buy custom essays and to achieve the highest goals when it comes to professional term paper writing services.

MarianneGoodman33
July 6th 2013
10:40pm

Check this link as the data available will give you a helping hand when you agree to buy essays online and to get the highest goals when it comes to perfect academic writing service.

LYNNHOPE25
July 6th 2013
11:38pm

Look up here in case you have a great desire to order professional essay online and take joy in our professional custom writing UK.

GARRISONMEAGAN
July 7th 2013
12:14am

Visit Internet site as the data available will help you when you decide order writing research papers and to receive the best objectives when it comes to excellent persuasive essay writing.

HaysAlicia34
July 7th 2013
12:24am

Follow the link in order to receive a great possibility to purchase research papers online and make a difference in your academic life with the help of our professional custom essays writing.

Porter27Jan
July 7th 2013
5:12pm

Go to Web page in case you have a great desire to purachase term paper online and take joy in our professional research paper services.

IrwinMyra23
July 17th 2013
6:35pm

Don’t you know that it is high time to receive the loans, which can realize your dreams.

mortgage loans
July 17th 2013
6:58pm

This is well known that money can make us independent. But how to act if one has no money? The only one way is to try to get the credit loans or term loan.

FigueroaLou26
July 17th 2013
7:21pm

The loans seem to be very useful for people, which would like to organize their own career. By the way, it is comfortable to get a car loan.

ARMSTRONGFrancine21
July 17th 2013
7:54pm

I guess that to receive the loan from creditors you should present a firm motivation. Nevertheless, one time I’ve got a collateral loan, just because I wanted to buy a building.

WilmaCampos35
July 17th 2013
8:10pm

I took 1 st mortgage loans when I was 25 and this helped me a lot. But, I require the college loan once more time.

AnthonyELVIRA18
July 17th 2013
8:42pm

It’s known that money can make people independent. But how to act when someone doesn’t have money? The only one way is to try to get the business loans or just small business loan.

JuarezJUDY28
August 17th 2013
5:00am

Follow site for more information concerning how to purchase excellent essay writing and we guarantee that you you will receive the highest upshots when you try out our professional essay writing service.

OdomLeta31
August 17th 2013
5:18am

But if pupils have no time to develop papers by themselves, they only have to browse their web site and get assistance in research essay writing from top notch custom paper writing service.

essay example
August 17th 2013
5:51am

Some men guess that seems to be unsafe to buy an essay “essaysempire.com”. Nonetheless, I think that custom writing companies present premium standards only, because their good name relies on it.

Gregory21Marjorie
August 17th 2013
6:20am

Pay attention to this Essays Empire agency for detailed information on how to get essay order online and we make sure that you will achieve the most superb upshots when you check on our perfect term paper writing.

college papers
August 17th 2013
6:48am

Essays Empire organization for available information concerning how to order best papers to buy and we assure you that you will get the highest results when you try out our reliable essay writing service.

Rodgers32Gabriela
August 17th 2013
7:11am

Press over here for more information about how to purchase best custom essays cheap and we make sure that you will get the best results if you check our perfect research paper service.

essay papers
August 17th 2013
7:21am

Open this link “essaysempire.com” for more guidance and order good essays for college and boost your student’s life just by receiving our professional college essay writing.

MARIA18Abbott
August 17th 2013
7:57am

Look up here for further information and order best custom papers and cheer up your academic life just by getting our cheap essay writing.

FlorenceHenry21
August 27th 2013
6:53pm

Have you had enough of your paper assignments? Then click over here and get uk writing service just now!

GuadalupeClements22
August 27th 2013
7:25pm

It can indisputably be a big advantage if you find uk writing service and buy papers there.

JordanBeatriz23
August 27th 2013
7:47pm

Click here if you are in need to buy essays uk.

Lina26Weaver
August 27th 2013
8:00pm

You should choose this writing service whenever you need to purchase custom research papers uk. Check here and take your time out.

RoxanneSPARKS
August 27th 2013
8:31pm

Click here if you are looking for a trustworthy writing organization. Purchase custom UK essay writing from qualified writers.

PENATammy26
August 28th 2013
1:28am

Someone who is searching for solid quality will surely find it if buy custom college essays. Even experts recommend to do in that way.

FLETCHERYolanda
August 28th 2013
1:46am

Very oft, you are trying to be perfect. Nevertheless, it can be difficult to realize if you do not have someone like custom write company to assist you with term papers writing. Thence, do not spread your time and begin looking for reliable experts online!

ValdezJessica
August 28th 2013
2:24am

Fortunately, I found a resolution for my academic writing problems! I used writing college essay service to get my essays at. Hence, I’m fulfilled because of my results!

YorkLetitia
August 28th 2013
3:26am

You should not be very shy to purchase write paper services. Remember, your career depend on your actions!

CHARLENELe28
August 28th 2013
3:54am

There are guys who are ready to relieve your academic assignments writing difficulties. I have used their services and orders were clear from plagiarism. Once there was suspension of the research for 1 day and I made an accusation to their support. They gave me discount of 50% for next research and there were no problems afterwards. So, make an effort yourself, buy Quarterly essay  and be fulfilled with A+ grades.

Tabitha28Riddle
August 28th 2013
4:06am

I can order pre written essay and buy essay writer, at the writing service.

ColonEula33
August 28th 2013
4:38am

I do really know that some people feel themselves distrustful about utilizing essay writing service company. Nonetheless, guys cannot see any other way. They have to buy term papers written by specialists.

MaxwellSharon18
August 31st 2013
7:52pm

Our organization employs only those writers who are specialists in creating Economics Essay.

Maxwell31Queen
August 31st 2013
8:12pm

Purchase Analysis Essay, save your time and take care of your own business while well-versed writers will cope with your writing task.

Davidson34Janell
August 31st 2013
8:47pm

Have been given a task to write Definition Essay> but you have no clue how to do this? Contact the most trustworthy firm online.

KristinNewton
August 31st 2013
9:10pm

Our firm has been in the writing industry for a long time, so if you are hunting where to purchaser superior quality Definition Essay>, simply contact us.

RosalindFrost
August 31st 2013
9:41pm

Buy Business Essay, don’t waste your time and do other important things while qualified writers take care of your essay writing task.

DeanaHerman28
August 31st 2013
10:03pm

Our agency has a lot of experience in writing industry, so if you are hunting where to receive excellent quality Abortion Essay, merely come to us.

Definition Essay
August 31st 2013
10:16pm

Our firm has a lot of experience in writing industry, so if you are seeking where to obtain good quality Analysis Essay, just contact us.

AngeliquePATE
August 31st 2013
10:47pm

You have no time and have no idea how to finish your Comparison Essay, get it from the most trustable firm and you will never be sorry.

Literature Essay
August 31st 2013
11:49pm

If you are desperate, you always have a chance to order good quality Literature Essay and all your problems will vanish.

AndrewsKaren
September 1st 2013
12:08am

As a rule, big amount of pupils don’t know how to create Education Essay, but they can receive professional assistance from top-notch custom paper writing service.

JamiYork35
September 1st 2013
12:41am

If you are desperate, you always have a chance to order excellent quality Narrative Essay and all your difficulties will pass away.

Julianne23Whitehead
September 1st 2013
1:08am

Usually a lot of learners have no clue how to produce Management Essay, but they may obtain great aid from superb custom paper writing service.

Isabel18SEXTON
September 1st 2013
1:39am

If you lack writing skills, you always have a possibility to buy high quality Justice Essay> and all your difficulties will pass away.

ThomasLolita27
September 1st 2013
2:15am

Purchasing essay papers on the Net is very common process, as many learners are very busy to produce Management Essay; so they get in contact with outstanding service that renders best academic writing help.

CaseyLucas31
September 1st 2013
2:28am

If you don’t know how to write your paper, you always have a chance to buy fine quality Management Essay and all your difficulties will disappear.

AdkinsELLA
September 1st 2013
2:55am

Purchasing essay papers online is very popular movement, as big amount of pupils have no time to produce Narrative Essay; thus they apply to top quality service that provides them with good academic writing assistance.

BlackwellHester32
September 1st 2013
3:03am

Professional resume writers review will give you a hint where to buy resume paper when you are busy to write a resume, all you have to do is to visit Resumes expert company, view resume writing samples and our expert resume writers will successfully provide you professional resume writing service. Buying resume with us is pretty easy, buy resume now and stay satisfied about your career.

FranWynn
September 1st 2013
3:04am

If you are seeking for where to buy resume paper or you wish to view resume templates, contact Exclusive resume company and you will also find professional resume writing. Moreover you can buy resumes from certified resume writers.

visit this website
September 1st 2013
3:17am

If you are busy and have no clue how to gain some spare time so as to create first-rate CV, keep in contact organizations that offer help with resume writing.

Wooten24Joanna
September 1st 2013
3:26am

Would you like to get professional resume service, which suit the range of study you wish?. You can count on our resume writers, as you trust yourself. Thanks because it is the useful information

KirbyAnne26
September 1st 2013
3:29am

Want to find resume writing tips? Have no idea where to buy resume paper? View Resumes Expert company where you can find resume writing samples. Our certified resume writers will persuade you that buying resume can bring job seekers real success!

SanfordIvy31
September 1st 2013
3:39am

If you try to find place where you can get resume writers here is very first-rate place for you about this post, which cater examples and gives an pass to learn how make great CV resumes . But this site is more attractive, and more constructive.

Irwin25Elizabeth
September 1st 2013
3:47am

If you are in a hurry and have no clue how to find the free time so as to create first-rate resume, contact companies that offer accurately done samples of resume writing.

EulaGuerrero34
September 1st 2013
3:50am

Go to Exclusive-resume company if you are in need of professional resume writers review. Having delt with this reputable writing agency, you will not have to look for where to buy resume paper and where to glance over sample of cover letter. Don’t hesitate, buy resume of superior quality from expert resume writers.

MorseMARLA
September 3rd 2013
5:43pm

You are hunting for samples of resume writing or how to write a resume? Or you would like to obtain professional resume writing? Contact Perfect Resume company and you will find out all detailed information and also a reliable writing centre from which you can buy CV produced by certified resume writers.

RosalynCompton25
September 3rd 2013
5:45pm

Provided that you don’t have a clue which company to choose for buying resume and long for resume writing tips, contact Resumesleader company. You can look over CV sample and buy CV from highly qualified resume writers.

GlendaSmall28
September 3rd 2013
5:57pm

You don’t need to mull over how to write a resume any longer. Highly qualified resume writers are at a hand’s reach. Follow this link so you can glance over CV templates or buy resume. Be sure that you will receive first-class and professional CV writing services.