Daniel Boeckner of Wolf Parade Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares New Song “Lose” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, May 21st, 2024  

Daniel Boeckner of Wolf Parade Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares New Song “Lose”

Boeckner! Due Out March 15 via Sub Pop

Jan 17, 2024 Photography by Alison Green Bookmark and Share

Daniel Boeckner of Wolf Parade has announced his debut solo album, Boeckner!, simply released under his last name, and shared its first single, “Lose,” via a music video. Boeckner! is due out March 15 via Sub Pop. Listen to “Lose” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and cover artwork.

Randall Dunn produced, engineered, and mixed the album, which was recorded at Circular Ruin in New York City and mastered by Heba Kadry in Brooklyn. The album also features Matt Chamberlain on drums, Medicine’s Brad Laner, and Jeremy Gaudet of labelmates Kiwi Jr., who co-wrote the song “Dead Tourists.”

“As a teenager, I imported cassettes of Medicine’s flawless shoegaze noise records, and I absolutely loved Brad Laner’s sandblasting, Chernobyl guitar,” says Boeckner in a press release.

Of working with Dunn, he says: “I’d been a fan of his forever, especially the Sunn0))) records he produced. Working with Randall really unlocked some suppressed musical urges, things that I enjoy in my private life but don’t normally weave into what I’m releasing—like occult synth, pseudo-metal, krautrock, and heavy psych influences.”

Outside of Wolf Parade, Boeckner has been involved in several other projects, including Operators, Divine Fits, Atlas Strategic, and Handsome Furs.

“This record is like an autobiography—Atlas Strategic music concrete synth explosions, lush synth stuff from Operators, the noise guitar from Handsome Furs, drawing influence from everything from Stockhausen to Tom Waits all at the same time,” Boeckner says.

“I think in a lot of ways in my mind I’m still playing in a punk band in Vancouver,” Boeckner adds. “Starting back when I was a teenager, my life in music has been trying to develop my own musical language, and this record is the beginning of presenting that.”

Wolf Parade’s last album, Thin Mind, came out in 2020 via Sub Pop.

Read our 2017 interview with Wolf Parade.

Boeckner! Tracklist:

1. Lose
2. Ghost in the Mirror
3. Wrong
4. Don’t Worry Baby
5. Dead Tourists
6. Return to Life
7. Euphoria
8. Holy Is the Night

Subscribe to Under the Radar’s print magazine.

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.