Listen to Previously Unreleased Prince Song “Electric Intercourse” from “Purple Rain” Reissue | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 17th, 2024  

Listen to Previously Unreleased Prince Song “Electric Intercourse” from “Purple Rain” Reissue

Purple Rain Reissue Due June 23 via NPG and Warner Bros.

Apr 28, 2017 Prince Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Prince passed away at his home just over a year ago. It was previously announced that a reissue of his classic 1984 album Purple Rain was on the way and now the full details of that reissue have been announced and a previously unreleased song, “Electric Intercourse,” has been shared to streaming sites. The reissue will be released in two formats. There’s a Deluxe Edition that features 11 songs “from the vault and previously unreleased.” Six of those 11 tracks have “never been released or distributed in the collector or bootleg community,” and that includes “Electric Intercourse.” Then there’s an Expanded Edition that also includes a third disc of “single edits & B-sides,” plus a concert DVD of Prince and the Revolution performing live at the Carrier Dome, in Syracuse, NY, on March 30, 1985. The remaster of the original Purple Rain album was put into motion by Prince in 2015. Below is “Electric Intercourse,” followed by the reissue’s tracklists.

A press release lays out some of the six unreleased tracks as such: “‘Possessed’ - the ‘83 Prince solo version, never heard before; ‘Electric Intercourse’ - the studio version not known to exist before it was discovered at Paisley Park; ‘Father’s Song’ - a full, five plus minute version that prior to this fans could only find a minute and half snippet of in the movie; ‘We Can Fuck’ - a track that has never circulated as the full, 10 minute version with these lyrics; and ‘Katrina’s Paper Dolls’ - a finished master of the song, which has previously only circulated as a demo. Additionally, all of the material is taken from the source and mastered by Bernie Grundman, the mastering engineer who worked on the original album.”

Purple Rain Reissue Tracklist:

Purple Rain Deluxe:

Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)

1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Take Me With U
3. The Beautiful Ones
4. Computer Blue
5. Darling Nikki
6. When Doves Cry
7. I Would Die 4 U
8. Baby I’m A Star
9. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased

1. The Dance Electric
2. Love And Sex
3. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
4. Electric Intercourse (studio)
5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
6. Possessed (1983 version)
7. Wonderful Ass
8. Velvet Kitty Cat
9. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father’s Song

Purple Rain Deluxe - Expanded Edition:

Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides

1. When Doves Cry (edit)
2. 17 Days
3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
4. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
5. Erotic City
6. Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
7. Purple Rain (edit)
8. God
9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985

1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Delirious
3. 1999
4. Little Red Corvette
5. Take Me With U
6. Do Me, Baby
7. Irresistible Bitch
8. Possessed
9. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I’m A Star
19. Purple Rain

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.