Premiere: Camper Van Beethoven “Long Way To Go (Sharknado)” from Sharknado 3 | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, May 24th, 2024  

Premiere: Camper Van Beethoven “Long Way To Go (Sharknado)” from Sharknado 3

Sharknado 3 premieres on SyFy on July 22nd; Soundtrack available July 18th

Jul 13, 2015 Camper Van Beethoven Bookmark and Share

The third entry in SyFy’s Sharknado phenomenon will take television screens by storm on July 22nd. Sharknado 3: Oh Hell No! follows series stars Fin (Ian Ziering), April (Tara Reid), and Nova (Cassie Scerbo) as they face off against their third sharknado, which wreaks havok down the east coast from Washington, D.C. to Orlando. They’re joined by new co-stars David Hasselhof, Bo Derek, Ryan Newman, and Jack Griffo, along with dozens of celebrities in over-the-top cameos.

The latest movie in the wildly successful b-movie franchise features a brand new song from the influential alt-rock stalwarts Camper Van Beethoven. “Long Way To Go (Sharknado)”, which we’re proud to premiere here, will appear on the movie’s appropriately insane soundtrack album. The band’s David Lowery (of both Camper and Cracker fame) told us about their inspiration for the track:

“Camper Van Beethoven have long been fans of the, shall we say, less-than-serious movies?” Lowery says. “One of our early albums, Vampire Can Mating Oven, was a fake collection of “oddities” which included tracks from non-existent b-movies with titles like “Vampire Surfers.” Naturally we were immediate fans of the Sharknado series, and regard director/garage-rocker Anthony Ferrante as a kindred spirit. We reached back into our past, to the absurdity and silliness of our earliest albums to come up with this track. After all, what could be more liberating than a punk rock track about escaping from a Sharknado? You know you want to sing along.”

Lakeshore Records will release the Sharknado 3: Oh Hell No! - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on July 18th, with a CD edition following on August 14th. The album contains 13 tracks of Sharknado-themed madness, including new tracks by Dead Kennedy’s East Bay Ray, Dave Days, and Eddie Cole, a ‘80s synth-inspired cover of Pixies “Wave of Mutilation”, and two tracks from Sharknado director Anthony C. Ferrante’s band, Quint. The full tracklist can be viewed below.

Sharknado 3 premieres on SyFy on Wednesday, July 22nd, at 9PM Eastern.

Sharknado 3: Oh Hell No! - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track Listing

01) (The Ballad Of) Sharknado - Quint
02) Wave Of Mutilation - Daniel Davies and Sebastian Robertson **
03) Long Way to Go (Sharknado) - Camper Van Beethoven *
04) Shark Rain - Eddie Cole **
05) Shark Fight - Dave Days *
06) Shark Beach - East Bay Ray *
07) Armageddon Surfer Girl, Rock On - Martin Luther Lennon
08) Infinite Ocean - Camper Van Beethoven *
09) Jaws Theme (Justin Lassen Remix) - Justin Lassen **
10) Shark Attack - Barnaby Austin **
11) Shark Truck - East Bay Ray *
12) That’s When I Reach For My Revolver - Geno Lenardo and Nina Bergman *
13) Crash – Quint *

* Exclusive New Original Song
** Exclusive New Version





Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.