Premiere: Craig Wedren & Benjamin Newgard – “O My Child” Video (From ‘The Invitation’) | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, May 21st, 2024  

Premiere: Craig Wedren & Benjamin Newgard – “O My Child” Video (From ‘The Invitation’)

Shudder to Think singer debuts song for new thriller; Soundtrack and film available April 8

Apr 04, 2016 Bookmark and Share

This Friday, April 8th, The Invitation The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will release on CD and digitally from Lakeshore Records. The soundtrack features the full film score by composer Theodore Shapiro (Trumbo, Spy, Old School) as well as two new songs by Craig Wedren and Benjamin Newgard—the first of which, “O My Child,” we’re proud to premiere a music video for below.

Craig Wedren, of course, broke onto the music scene as singer and guitarist for the seminal post-hardcore band Shudder to Think. He began composing for film and television when he recorded the theme for MTV’s classic sketch show The State, and went on to write music for films such as Roger Dodger, Role Models, Wanderlust and Wet Hot American Summer (including the immortal faux-‘80s rock anthem “Higher and Higher,” with The Invitation composer Theodore Shapiro.)

“O My Child” is an intriguing departure from Wedren’s work in the films named above—with spectral vocals that feel quite appropriate for the psychological thriller the song was composed for. Listen to the new song via its equally ghostly music video below:

I knew I wanted to make something that was gritty, ‘authentic’ and raw sounding, but that also had an ethereal aspect to it, so that the music would curl around the scene like smoke,” says Wedren. “I wanted the songs to feel almost-unfinished, like murmurings of haunted porch-jamborees. It needed to work at multiple levels of magnification, too, so that a song could hang seductively in the background supporting a scene, or work spooky magic on headphones outside the film. To retain a sense of spontaneity and not-quite-there-ness, my direction for both of us was ‘first thought best thought’, and ‘no more than 3 takes’; that method was applied at every level, from composition, to melody, to lyrics. Out popped ‘O My Child’ first thing, and we were on our way.”

Drafthouse Films will release The Invitation in theaters and on VOD on April 8th. This psychological thriller—set over the course of one night at a Hollywood Hills dinner party—stars Logan Marshall-Green (Prometheus), Tammy Blanchard, and Michael Huisman (Game of Thrones, Treme), and is directed by Karyn Kusama of Girlfight and Jennifer’s Body fame. You can check out the film’s trailer (and a full tracklist for its soundtrack) below.

The Invitation The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track Listing:
01. Baby You’re Gone - Craig Wedren & Benjamin Newgard
02. Into The Canyon - Theodore Shapiro
03. Eden, No - Theodore Shapiro
04. Attention to Detail - Theodore Shapiro
05. The Pills - Theodore Shapiro
06. Claire Departs - Theodore Shapiro
07. The Dinner Hour - Theodore Shapiro
08. I’m Actually Early - Theodore Shapiro
09. Ty’s Room - Theodore Shapiro
10. A Better World - Theodore Shapiro
11. Rupture - Theodore Shapiro
12. There’s a Plan for Us - Theodore Shapiro
13. Quiet In A Minute - Theodore Shapiro
14. Believe - Theodore Shapiro
15. I Hope We - Theodore Shapiro
16. O My Child - Craig Wedren & Benjamin Newgard





Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.