Ride Announce New EP, Share New Song “Catch You Dreaming” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, May 26th, 2024  

Ride Announce New EP, Share New Song “Catch You Dreaming”

Tomorrow's Shore Due Out February 16 via Wichita

Jan 09, 2018 Ride Bookmark and Share

Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

British shoegazing icons Ride reformed in 2014 to do some touring and finally released their first new album in 21 years, Weather Diaries, last June via Wichita. Now they have announced a new EP, Tomorrow’s Shore, and shared one of its songs, “Catch You Dreaming.” Tomorrow’s Shore features songs recorded with Erol Alkan during the Weather Diaries sessions and is due out February 16 via Wichita. Back in November Ride shared a brand new song, “Pulsar,” which is also featured on the EP. Listen to “Catch You Dreaming” below, followed by the EP’s tracklist and cover art.

Ride lead guitarist/co-vocalist Andy Bell had this to say about the song in a press release: “‘Catch You Dreaming’ is written from the perspective of being one of the last two people alive, watching as the Universe is ending. The protagonist looks back over the time when humanity existed, realizing that we as humans brought about our own inevitable demise. Then the couple look back over their own lives of shared memories and as they are sharing this moment, everything vaporizes. It’s a love song about fate, nostalgia, and having no regrets.”

Read our 2017 interview with Ride about Weather Diaries.

Previously Ride shared Weather Diaries’ first two singles, the straight up rocker “Charm Assault” and the dreamier “Home Is a Feeling.” They also shared a video for “Charm Assault” that was co-directed by Brian Jonestown Massacre frontman Anton Newcombe, along with Jean de Oliveira, and another song from the album, “All I Want,” as well as a 10-minute remix of “All I Want” by GLOK, which is actually Ride’s own Andy Bell, plus the album’s near-six-minute long opening track, “Lannoy Point,” and a video for “All I Want.” They also shared a video for “Cali” and a remix of “Cali” by Luke Abbott.

Erol Alkan (Klaxons, Mystery Jets, Beyond the Wizards Sleeve) produced Weather Diaries, which was mixed by Alan Moulder (who also mixed Ride’s classic debut album, Nowhere, and produced their Going Blank Again).

Until Weather Diaries Ride hadn’t released a new studio album since 1996’s Tarantula, which was put out after the band split up and was poorly received. The quartet’s original run lasted from 1988 to 1996 and included four studio albums (Nowhere, Going Blank Again, Carnival of Light, and Tarantula). In 2015 they also released Nowhere25, a 25th anniversary reissue of their 1990-released debut album Nowhere. A few years ago we interviewed Ride’s Mark Gardener and Andy Bell about Nowhere and you can read that article here. And then in 2015 in another interview we did with Gardener he went through Nowhere track-by-track and you can read that here.

Tomorrow’s Shore Tracklist:
1. Pulsar
2. Keep It Surreal
3. Cold Water People
4. Catch You Dreaming

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.