Taylor Swift Announces Surprise Album Produced/Cowritten with Aaron Dessner Out at Midnight | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, July 22nd, 2024  

Taylor Swift Announces Surprise Album Produced/Cowritten with Aaron Dessner Out at Midnight

folklore Also Features Bon Iver, William Bowery, Jack Antonoff, and more

Jul 23, 2020 Aaron Dessner Bookmark and Share

To all those releasing an album tomorrow…sorry, because this morning, Taylor Swift announced her new album folklore will drop at midnight tonight. Swift took to Instagram to share snippets of the cover art over the span of a few hours before announcing the album and its entirety. Perhaps the most surprising part of folklore’s lore is that 11 of the 16 tracks were co written and produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner.

“I was excited and honored when Taylor approached me in late April about maybe writing some songs remotely together,” Dessner said in a Twitter statement. “I had been isolating with my family but writing a ton of music in the first months of quarantine which I shared. I thought it would take a while for song ideas to come and I had no expectations as far as what we could accomplish remotely. But a few hours after sharing music, my phone lit up with a voice memo from Taylor of a fully written version of a song—the momentum never really stopped. Over the next few months, we remotely finished 11 songs (She also recorded several others with the amazing Jack Antonoff) of her magical new album folklore. I’ve rarely been so inspired by someone and it’s still hard to believe this even happened—these songs came together in such a challenging time.”

Dessner isn’t the only artist to get involved with the album. His twin brother and National bandmate Bryce is playing strings, as well as their bandmates, drummer Bryan Devendorf, horn players Ben Lanz and Kyle Resnick and Josh Kaufman, their longtime sideman, also of Bonny Light Horseman and Muzz fame. Swift also names Bon Iver as a co-writer and collaborator for track “exile,” as well as William Bowery and Jack Antonoff.

At midnight Swift will release her self-directed video for “cardigan’ in tandem with the album.

Here is her full Instagram/Twitter statement:

“Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen. And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise Tonight at midnight I’ll be releasing my entire brand new album of songs I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into. I wrote and recorded this music in isolation but got to collaborate with some musical heroes of mine; @aarondessner (who has co-written or produced 11 of the 16 songs), @boniver (who co-wrote and was kind enough to sing on one with me), William Bowery (who co-wrote two with me) and @jackantonoff (who is basically musical family at this point). Engineered by Laura Sisk and Jon Low, mixed by Serban Ghenea & Jon Low. The album photos were shot by the amazing @bethgarrabrant. Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with. Love you guys so much ♥️

Taylor Swift’s last album was 2019’s Lover.

Folklore Tracklist:

01 “the 1”

02 “cardigan”

03 “the last great american dynasty”

04 “exile” (Feat. Bon Iver)

05 “my tears ricochet”

06 “mirrorball”

07 “seven”

08 “august”

09 “this is me trying”

10 “illicit affairs”

11 “invisible string”

12 “mad woman”

13 “epiphany”

14 “betty”

15 “peace”

16 “hoax”


17 “the lakes”

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.