Sigur Rós’ “Jónsi” Announces Debut Solo Effort for 2010

Easy Come Easy Go: New Album Marks Sonic Departure from Jónsi's Older Material

Dec 08, 2009 Bookmark and Share

Jón "Jónsi" Thor Birgisson has spent over a decade with Icelandic ambient dream-pop act Sigur Rós. Come 2010, however, Birgisson will be stepping into the spotlight as he releases his debut solo album entitled Go on XL Recordings, replete with remarkable contributors such as Nico Muhly and Samuli Kosminen. Muhly, a protégé of minimalist composer Philip Glass, acted as arranger for Go with Kosminen handling percussion.

Unlike the instrumental album Riceboy Sleeps that Jónsi released earlier this year, Go is full with vocal lines and with primarily English lyrics to boot (unlike the made up language he sings in with Sigur Rós), resulting in what a recent press release claims is an "expansive musical palette" against breathtaking arrangements. 

A full world tour is planned to follow the album's release in 2010.


1. Go Do

2. Animal Arithmetic

3. Tornado

4. Boy Lilikoi

5. Sinking Friendships

6. Kolnidur

7. Grow Till Tall

8. Around Us

9. Hengilas



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.