Coldplay Share Two New Songs: “Orphans” and “Arabesque” | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 24th, 2024  

Coldplay Share Two New Songs: “Orphans” and “Arabesque”

Everyday Life Due Out November 22 via Parlophone/Atlantic

Oct 24, 2019 Coldplay Bookmark and Share

Coldplay are releasing a new album, Everyday Life, on November 22 via Parlophone/Atlantic and now they have shared its first two singles: “Orphans” and “Arabesque.” The album was announced via postcards sent to fans and has been touted as an experimental double album, with one side titled “Sunrise” and the other “Sunset.” “Orphans” is a bit Coldplay-by-numbers, but “Arabesque” is much more interesting. It’s nearly six minutes long and has an Afrobeat vibe, which makes sense considering Fela Kuti and is band contribute horns to it (it also features Stromae). If the rest of the album sounds more like “Arabesque” than “Orphans” then it could turn out to be experimental by Coldplay standards. We’ll have to wait and see. In the meantime listen to both singles below. Also below are the album’s tracklist and cover art, and expect an “Orphans” video tomorrow morning.

The Dream Team produced both songs. Everyday Life is 53 minutes long and will be released on CD, vinyl, cassette, and digital formats by Parlophone/Atlantic. There will also be two U.S.-only vinyl versions released by Third Man, one on standard black and a limited edition gold version. “Orphans” and “Arabesque” are also available now on a seven-inch single via Third Man. Coldplay will be performing on Saturday Night Live for the sixth time on November 2. The album’s cover art is “based around a 1919 photo of guitarist Jonny Buckland’s great-grandfather’s band.”

Coldplay released their last album, their seventh, A Head Full of Dreams, back in December 2015 via Parlophone/Atlantic and released a follow-up EP, Kaleidoscope EP, in July 2017, also via Parlophone/Atlantic.

Everyday Life Tracklist:

Disc 1: Sunrise

01 “Sunrise”
02 “Church”
03 “Trouble in Town”
04 “BrokEn”
05 “Daddy”
06 “WOTW / POTP”
07 “Arabesque”
08 “When I Need a Friend”

Disc 2: Sunset

01 “Guns”
02 “Orphans”
03 “Èkó”
04 “Cry Cry Cry”
05 “Old Friends”
06 “بني آدم” (Which means “Bani Adam” and is Arabic for “Children of Adam”)
07 “Champion of the World”
08 “Everyday Life”

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.