The xx Announce New Album, Share Hall & Oates Sampling “On Hold”

I See You Due Out January 13 via Young Turks

Nov 10, 2016
Bookmark and Share

The xx have announced a new album, I See You, and shared its first single, "On Hold." The album is due out January 13 via Young Turks. In what could be viewed as a surprisingly move, "On Hold" prominently samples Hall & Oates' 1981 classic "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)," although Daryl Hall's vocals are somewhat distorted. Listen to "On Hold" below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, and the video for Hall & Oates' song.

The London trio (Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim, and Jamie Smith) recorded their third album between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa TX, Reykjavik, Los Angeles, and London. Smith and Rodaidh McDonald produced I See You, which is the follow-up to 2012's Coexist and 2009's xx. A press release says the album "is characterized by a more outward-looking, open, and expansive approach" and it is "The xx at their boldest yet, performing with more clarity and ambition than ever before."

The vinyl version of the album will be released in three different versions, described in the press release as such:

- Standard Vinyl: 10 tracks, in a debossed mirri board sleeve with a download enclosed for the US and CD copy of the album in EU/UK.

- Indie Vinyl: 10 tracks on limited-edition clear vinyl, in a debossed mirri board sleeve with a download enclosed for the US and CD copy of the album in EU/UK. Available only via independent record stores.

- Deluxe Box Set: Silver mirri board debossed box containing the album on 180g heavyweight vinyl, with an extra 12-inch including 3 bonus tracks, album CD, enhanced CD featuring a live video of bonus track 'Brave For You (Marfa Demo)' and 3 exclusive prints by Alasdair McLellan.

I See You Tracklist:

1. Dangerous
2. Say Something Loving
3. Lips
4. A Violent Noise
5. Performance
6. Replica
7. Brave For You
8.  On Hold
9. I Dare You
10. Test Me


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.