Unknown Mortal Orchestra Share New Song - "First World Problem" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Tuesday, May 26th, 2020  

Unknown Mortal Orchestra Share New Song - “First World Problem”

Multi-Love Out Now via Jagjaguwar

May 25, 2016
Bookmark and Share


Unknown Mortal Orchestra have shared a brand new song, "First World Problem," the New Zealand band's first new song since their excellent 2015 album Multi-Love (out now via Jagjaguwar). The funky cut was recorded in March. "I think 'First World Problem' is about modern love in a crumbling empire," said frontman Ruban Nielson in a press release. "The feeling that you're trying to build your life and get what you need while a decadent world falls apart around you." Listen below.

The band has also covered Grateful Dead's "Shakedown Street" on the recent Day of the Dead compilation and on June 7 they will be performing their cover on Conan (you can listen to the studio version of the cover below). Also below are the band's tour dates and the song's accompanying artwork by Henrietta Harris. 

Read our 2015 interview with Unknown Mortal Orchestra about Multi-Love and read our review of the album.

 

Unknown Mortal Orchestra Tour Dates:

Wed. May 25 - Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth w/ Whitney
Fri. May 27 - George, WA @ Sasquatch Festival
Sun. May 29 - Boston, MA @ Boston Calling
Sat. June 18 - Aarhus, Denmark @ Northside Festival
Sun. June 19 - Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands @ Best Kept Secret
Mon. June 20 - Paris, France @ Trabendo w/ Alex Cameron
Tues. June 21 - Cambridge, United Kingdom @ Junction w/ Alex Cameron
Wed. June 22 - Liverpool, United Kingdom @ East Village Arts Club w/ Alex Cameron
June 22-26 - Somerset, United Kingdom @ Glastonbury Festival
Sat. June 25 - Madrid, Spain @ Madrid Music City at Matadero Madrid
Sun. June 26 - Padua, Italy @ Parco Della Musica
Tues. June 28 - Istanbul, Turkey @ KüçükÇiftlik Park (supporting CHIC)
Wed. June 29 - Zurich, Switzerland @ Mascotte
July 1 - Vilanova l La Geltru, Spain @ Vida Festival
Sat. July 2 - Marmande, France @ Garorock Festival
July 3 - Werchter, Belgium @ Rock Werchter
Fri. July 15 - Quebec City, QC @ Festival D'Été De Québec
Sun. July 17 - Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Mon. July 18 - Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird Nightclub
Tue. July 19 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Wed. July 20 - Pontiac, MI @ Crofoot Ballroom
Fri. July 22 - Oro-Medonte, Canada @ WayHome Music & Arts Festival
Sat. July 23 - Ottawa, ON @ Ritual Nightclub
Sun. July 24 - Burlington, VT @ Signal Kitchen
Mon. July 25 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
Thu. July 28 - Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom
Sat. July 30th - New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage
Fri. Aug. 12 - Sat. Aug. 13 - Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Wed. Aug. 17 - Paredes De Coura, Portugal @ Paredes de Coura
August 18-21 - Wales, United Kingdom @ Green Man Festival
August 19-21 - Hamburg, Germany @ Dockville
Sun. Aug. 28 - Portland, OR @ MusicFest NW (Project Pabst)
Tue. Aug. 30 - Petaluma, CA @ Lagunitas Brewing Company
Thu. Sept. 1 - Santa Monica, CA @ Santa Monica Pier
Fri. Sept. 2 - Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre - UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala
 Sat. Sept 3 - Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre - UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.