Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, April 17th, 2024  

Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy

Studio: CAV Distribution

May 04, 2010 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


If you’re a fan of the original A Nightmare on Elm Street saga, then you’ll want to steer clear of the new cash grab remake and instead focus your sights on this excellent new documentary. Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy is an exhaustive four-hour documentary (with another four hours of extras!) focusing on the eight Nightmare movies that starred Robert Englund as Freddy Krueger. The project consists of mostly interviews with the cast and crew of the eight films. Directors Daniel Farrands and Andrew Kasch previously worked on the similar Friday the 13th retrospective documentary His Name Was Jason. Unlike that film, which was severely gutted by studio interference, this documentary is independently financed and allows the interview subjects to be more candid in their recollections.

While the doc is mostly for fans only, the best material is about the creation of this iconic series on a budget. Independent studio New Line Cinema’s rise is mostly because of Elm Street, and the stories from director/creator Wes Craven, New Line head Robert Shaye, and star Robert Englund about financial struggles and tight deadlines are frequently the most enlightening. Great input is also given from all of the directors of the series, particularly Renny Harlin (A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master, Die Hard 2: Die Harder), who was practically homeless before he had a crack at Elm Street. Overall, the documentary is the best behind-the scenes take on the series yet, but it isn’t quite definitive, as actors Patricia Arquette and Craig Wasson (A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: The Dream Warriors) and Yaphet Kotto (Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare, Alien) are curiously absent from a giant assembly of actors. Still, if you’re a fan of the original films, this labor of love is a must-see. (www.elmstreetlegacy.com)

Author rating: 9/10

Rate this DVD
Average reader rating: 5/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Bytes Land
April 6th 2011
11:15am

Avid fan of the original franchise here (at just 20 years old), I really love all those 80’s-early 90’s horror flicks, had more psychological horror and less manipulated special effects, no CGI, and they’re amazing!!! And then I saw the remake and…it sucked, that Freddy wasn’t scary, he was disgusting, and I never saw the point of the plot, how can they not remember they knew each other since 5??? Very weak in my opinion, wouldn’t count on a sequel…

term paper help
May 26th 2011
2:44pm

In this chapter, you’ll find
specific recommendations from admissions experts along with many exam-
ples of what

Daniel76
June 22nd 2011
4:28am

I saw the original, will see this remake as well.

Daniel76
June 22nd 2011
4:31am

FAVORITE FREDDY KRUEGER MOMENTS ON ELM STREET

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgt7Z5l9rQQ

drupal hosting
August 30th 2011
11:20am

the interview subjects to be more candid in their recollections.severely gutted by studio interference, this documentary is independently financed and allows

electronic cigarette
September 1st 2011
5:44pm

The project consists of mostly interviews with the cast and crew of the eight films. Directors Daniel Farrands and Andrew Kasch focusing on the eight Nightmare movies that starred Robert Englund as Freddy Krueger.

Jenny
September 23rd 2011
9:10am

The original trilogy really gave me plenty a sleepless nights when I watched them in my younger days. The recent remake did not do justice to this revered horror franchise. This documentary should be an interesting look inside one of the most famous scary franchises out there.

loan
November 16th 2011
6:18am

Have no a lot of money to buy a car? Worry no more, just because that’s real to receive the loan to resolve all the problems. Therefore take a bank loan to buy everything you need.

green smoke
January 19th 2012
4:13pm

In exploring the Elm Street saga, the film presents photographs, storyboards, conceptual art, publicity materials, archival documents..

Jimmy
February 19th 2012
5:15pm

Also, the dream doc is acluatly Charles Fleischer who did the voice of Roger Rabbit and most recently played the creepy ass dude whose house Jake G. visits towards the end of Zodiac.Great list!

MorrowLesa25
March 26th 2012
9:11pm

Various people in every country take the loans from different creditors, just because this is simple.

ThereseAlford
December 26th 2012
8:10pm

Check up here in order to get a wonderful chance to purchase excellent college research paper and make a difference in your student’s life thanks to our perfect research writing.

SwansonTiffany18
December 26th 2012
8:19pm

That’s well known that great academic results suppose to be very complicated to reach. If you buy essays online created by professionals, you will surely reach the top.

ENGLAND21Rachelle
December 29th 2012
3:58am

Want buy papers service? Hence, search for professional custom academic papers writing firm!

MADELINELambert31
December 29th 2012
5:10am

Present time college students don’t write coursework by their own. They order A level coursework and save their time.

ALEJANDRAHensley28
January 1st 2013
7:33am

That is known that academic grades seem to be difficult to get. If you buy custom essays created by experts, you will definitely get the top.

JONISchultz
January 1st 2013
9:38am

Usually big amount of pupils have no clue how to produce Education Essay, but they may receive professional assistance from top-level essay writing service.

Miles30WINNIE
January 10th 2013
10:29am

I do know that I cannot exist not using the custom writing uk service! I buy term papers anytime I am busy! I am not laze! I just want to submit quality academic papers!

business loans
February 11th 2013
2:24am

Every body knows that humen’s life seems to be not very cheap, however some people need cash for various stuff and not every man earns enough cash. Thus to get good personal loans goodfinance-blog.com and just student loan should be a proper way out.

HensonTonya19
February 19th 2013
2:36pm

You are busy and don’t have the slightest idea how to complete your Economics Essay, order it from the most trustable firm and you will never regret.

our site
August 25th 2021
11:24am

This movie was TERRIFYING! I had nightmares for like a week after watching it lol felt like bugs were crawling all over me. Ew!