Blood Orange Shares New Video for “Saint” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Saturday, December 7th, 2019  

Blood Orange Shares New Video for “Saint”

Negro Swan Out Now via Domino

Aug 27, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Blood Orange (aka Dev Hynes) released a new album, Negro Swan, last Friday via Domino. Now he has shared a self-directed video for "Saint." It features Hynes performing song at an intimate gathering. Watch it below, followed by his upcoming tour dates.

Also read our review of Negro Swan, which we posted today.

Previously Hynes shared videos for two new songs from Negro Swan, "Charcoal Baby" and "Jewelry" (which were our joint #1 Song of the Week). Then he stopped by Jimmy Kimmel Live! to perform a brand new song from the album "Chewing Gum," clad in a T-shirt that read "Negro." He was aided by A$AP Rocky, who also sings on the album version and emerged halfway through the performance wearing a T-shirt that read "Swan." Memphis rapper Project Pat also featured on the performance.

The album is follow-up to 2016's acclaimed Freetown Sound. Back in February he shared two new songs, "Christopher & 6th" and "June 12th," that he said would not be on the next album.

Hynes had this to say about the album in a previous press release: "My newest album is an exploration into my own and many types of black depression, an honest look at the corners of black existence, and the ongoing anxieties of queer/people of color. A reach back into childhood and modern traumas, and the things we do to get through it all. The underlying thread through each piece on the album is the idea of HOPE, and the lights we can try to turn on within ourselves with a hopefully positive outcome of helping others out of their darkness."

Blood Orange Tour Dates:

Fri Sept 14 - Vancouver, BC - The Orpheum, Westward Music Festival
Sat Sept 15 - Seattle, WA - Moore Theatre
Sun Sept 16 - Portland, OR - Roseland
Thurs Sept 20 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theatre
Fri Sept 21 Los Angeles, CA - Greek Theatre
Sat Sept 22 - Las Vegas, NV - Downtown Las Vegas, Life is Beautiful Festival
Wed Sept 26 - New York, NY - Central Park Summerstage
Thurs Sept 27 - Philadelphia, PA - The Fillmore
Fri Sept 28 - Washington, DC - Lincoln Theatre
Mon Oct 1 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall
Tue Oct 2 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall
Sat Oct 6 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Sat Oct 13 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Mon Oct 29 - London, UK - O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire
Tue Oct 30 - Amsterdam, NL - Melkweg
Fri Nov 2 - Paris, FR - Grande Halle de la Villette - Pitchfork Music Festival
Sat Nov 3 - Sun Nov 4 - Turin, IT - Lingotto Fiere, Club To Club Festival
Wed Nov 7 - Sat Nov 10 -  Reykjavík, Iceland - Iceland Airwaves Festival
Tues Nov 6th - Berlin, DE - Columbia Theatre
Thurs Nov 8th - Copenhagen, DK - The Grey Hall

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.