Mac DeMarco Announces New Album and Shares Self-Directed Video for New Song “Nobody” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Sunday, December 15th, 2019  

Mac DeMarco Announces New Album and Shares Self-Directed Video for New Song “Nobody”

Here Comes the Cowboy Due Out May 10th on Mac’s Record Label

Mar 05, 2019 Photography by Christine Lai
Bookmark and Share


Mac DeMarco has announced a new album, Here Comes the Cowboy, and shared a video for its first single, "Nobody." Here Comes the Cowboy is due out May 10th on Mac's Record Label (that's actually the name of his new label). DeMarco directed the "Nobody" video himself, in which he sings the song as a lizard man. Check it out below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art. Also below are his upcoming tour dates.

DeMarco wrote, tracked, and mixed Here Comes the Cowboy at his Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles "during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January, 2019." DeMarco played almost every instrument on the album, except from some keyboards here and there by touring member Alec Meen. Joe Santarpia shares engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.
 
The album cover features "a rusty old grinning pin" that "was purchased from a man in the mountains somewhere in the Nantahala National Forest between Chattanooga, TN and Asheville, NC."

DeMarco had this to say about the album in a press release: "This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren't the people I'm referring to."

DeMarco's last album, This Old Dog, came out in 2017. Read our review of This Old Dog.

Here Comes the Cowboy Tracklist:

1. Here Comes the Cowboy
2. Nobody
3. Finally Alone
4. Little Dogs March
5. Preoccupied
6. Choo Choo
7. K
8. Heart to Heart
9. Hey Cowgirl
10. On the Square
11. All of Our Yesterdays
12. Skyless Moon
13. Baby Bye Bye

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:

Wed. April 10 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat. April 13 - Indio, CA @ Coachella
Sat. April 20 - Indio, CA @ Coachella
Tue. May 7 - Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery - Outdoor Amphitheater Stage
Fri. May 10 - Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Sat. May 11 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Sun. May 12 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Mon. May 13 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Wed. May 15 - Blue Lake, CA @ Blue Lake Casino
Thu. May 16 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Sat. May 18 - San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
Mon. May 20 - Big Sur, CA @ The Henry Miller Library
Tue. May 21 - Big Sur, CA @ Fernwood Resort
Wed. May 22 - San Luis Obispo, CA @ Expo Center at Madonna Inn
Thu. May 30 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. April 27 - Virginia Beach, VA @ Something in the Water
Sat. June 1 - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Sun. June 2 - London, UK @ All Points East Festival
Tue. June 11 - Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center w/ Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals
Wed. June 12 - Dallas, TX @ Toyota Music Factory w/ Anderson. Paak & The Free Nationals
Fri. June 14 - Austin, TX @ Long Center Lawn Amphitheater
Sun. June 16 - Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Wed. June 26 - Glasgow, UK @ Kelvingrove Bandstand
Thu. June 27 - Halifax, UK @ Halifax Piece Hall
Sat. June 29 - Margate, UK @ Dreamland
Sun. June 30 -  Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Tue. July 2 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. July 3 - Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene
Thu. July 4 - Stockholm, SE @ Munchen Brewery
Sat. July 6 - Herouville-Saint-Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard
Mon. July 8 - Milan, IT@ Magnolia
Fri. July 12 - Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival
Sun. July 14 - Dublin, IE @ Iveagh Gardens
Tue. Aug. 6 - Brooklyn, NY @ Prospect Park Bandshell
Fri. Sept. 13 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre
Fri. Sept. 20 - Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Sat. Sept. 21 - Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall (Outdoors)
Sun. Sept. 22 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre Boston
Tue. Sept. 24 - Toronto, ON @ RBC Echo
Thu. Sept. 26 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 - Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre
Sat. Sept. 28 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Sun. Sept. 29 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Tue. Oct. 1 - Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Wed. Oct. 2 - St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Thu. Oct. 3 - East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt
Fri. Oct. 4 - Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Sun. Oct. 6 - Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Wed. Nov. 6 - Sat. Nov. 9 - Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sat. Nov. 9 - Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sun. Nov. 10 - Hamburg, DE @ Grosse Freiheit 36
Mon. Nov. 11 - Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.